We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a member of this club I can thoroughly recommend a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #19 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As a member of this club I can thoroughly recommend a stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights whilst attending a family wedding. We booked a room with a four poster bed; as a member I get a reasonable discount. The room had excellent views over the local private garden and acres of space. Decor wise, the room was traditional and comfortable but not overblown.

The Club has a great deal of character. Breakfast is excellent with table service and ample helpings. The bar is also very reasonably priced.

Be aware that when you stay here you are coming to a private club - this gives it a unique and friendly atmosphere not seen at hotels. In reality, the premium rooms are luxurious and extremely well appointed. However as a member I expect this as part of my annual subscription. As a non member you would be well advised to pick a large room, and make sure you enjoy the dining room for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunc_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    247
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
139
391
39
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Just had a lovely overnight stay at The Royal Scots Club. Booked a standard double room but because there was spare capacity they upgraded us to a kingsize bedroom. Found the hotel well sited for all the attractions, the place was spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Edinburgh

  • Liked — OLD WORLD CHARM
  • Disliked — CANNOT THINK OF ANYTHING
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2007

Just returned from a weekend break in Edinburgh, during which I was absolutely delighted by the Royal Scots Club hotel. Not somewhere I was previously aware of, and probably not somewhere I would have sought out if it hadn't come to my attention on the Visit Scotland website, but one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in over the course of many years of travel. The setting is perfect - 5 minutes' walk from the main shopping area around George street, 10-15 minutes walk from the Royal Mile and 5 minutes' from Stockbridge. The location is peaceful and quiet and the hotel overlooks gardens across the road at the front. The ambience inside is superb - very genteel and traditional. The reception staff are lovely - the perfect combination of friendliness and politeness, and extremely helpful with even the smallest request. Rooms are large and comfortable and some have superb views. Breakfast is excellent with a good range of choices and all nicely cooked and presented. The lounge/bar is both formal and cosy with an open fire and large sofas to relax in. There is a dress code but it is nothing onorous - no shorts, cut-off jeans etc, and men need to wear a jacket in the dining room. All in all, a delightful and very convenient place to stay.

  • Liked — The refined yet welcoming atmosphere
  • Disliked — There isn't a lift.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2007

We got back yesterday from a 3 night break in this Hotel/Club and found its position to restaurants, sight-seeing and - though we didn't intend - shopping - totally convenient.

We'd upgraded our room before we went as we felt we needed a bit more space as at this time of year we would be spending a little more time indoors. We'd got a very good deal from Checkin2 so this was worth it. The 6ft bed was mmmm...so comfy.

The staff are very friendly , breakfasts good, not all greasy, but it's a shame the fire in the lounge wasn't on all the time (it does get put on if you are in there!) as it does put the lid on sociability. Not an issue but rather mean. We met more of the guests in the street when the fire alarms went off at 11pm and we had to evacuate!!

Overall, a nice stay and would not hesitate to go there again.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Krassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2006

This is a fabulous venue for any trip to Ediburgh. Having stayed in many over-priced anonymous hotels in Scotland's capital I was looking for something with character (and not the vast prices that accompany the likes of the Balmoral/Scotsman, etc.) The Royal Scots Club is what it says - a member's club - but don't be distracted by that, all are welcome and it is a deliberately egalitarian environment, not some stuffy old boys hangout. In return for simply respecting the proud history and tradition of the establishment (dress code simply means no shorts) you get a wonderfully atmospheric base in a central part of town, with none of the worry of disturbance from stag-do's or traffic. The rooms are fabulous; high ceilings, solid furniture and quality decor, and you are at liberty to come and go as you please, opting to dine at the club or take a snack in the relaxed bar area. Places such as this are often undiscovered gems, offering a truly unique experience of Britain. I would urge all to avoid the many bland chain hotels in the city and try something of character and quality.

  • Liked — Sense of history and individuality
  • Disliked — nothing - all fabulous
  • Tips/Secrets — use it as a base to explore beyond Princes St
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ender1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

We spent September 15 - 18 here. Even though this is a private club, they do rent rooms to the public. Breakfast is included and there were a number of choices; all were excellent! Breakfast was casual, but if you eat dinner there, plan to dress up. The rooms were clean, had an in room safe, were large, well decorated as were the en suite bath rooms. I moved from a superior double when my husband left to a twin with a friend...the only difference was that it was slightly smaller and did not have a sofa or an iron. However, the cleaning staff brought an iron and ironing board on request. The hotel is centrally located and is about 2 blocks from the Waverly train station; or one can take a taxi from the EDI airport for about 18 pounds...and we had a lot of luggage. Our room rates were lowered without asking when they lowered the rates in general.

We were surprised one evening when we arrived back after midnight to find the door locked. However, they always lock the door at 1000 PM for safety and answered quickly when we rang the bell. I would highly recommend this hotel! M Minteer Knoxville Tn

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — there was nothing lacking
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bridgebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Property: The Royal Scots Club
Address: 30 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing