We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Scots Club
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$328
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$144
US$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,022)
Filter reviews
1,022 results
Traveller rating
624
297
64
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
297
64
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen street gardensjacket and tiemembers clubfour posterwedding venuekippersprinces streetroom was largequiet streetcomfortable hotelfull scottish breakfastexcellent breakfastwithin easy walking distancelovely roomcentral edinburghenjoyable stayfew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
887 - 892 of 1,022 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed here for two nights as part of a week long golf trip that my husband and I took with another couple. It is a small hotel, but the food is good and the staff was amazing. The rooms are decent sized, but the two we had were strangely shaped. Our bathroom was tiny, but our friends had a decent sized galley shaped bathroom with more room. All of the amenities are there (i.e. blow dryer, iron, safe, cable) and the breakfast was included, which was nice.

By far, the standout was the staff who was very helpful. they helped us with maps and information on the area, and kept us all on time with the golf courses and meeting for dinner later. They stayed up late and kep the bar open for us and one of them even enjoyed a late night pizza with us. The club is beautiful with antique furniture with deep wood tones.

We would easily stay here again if we head back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrsulaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Situated just a few minutes' walk from bustling Princes Street, the Royal Scots Club enjoys a more peaceful location, overlooking Queen Street Gardens. There is some traffic noise as the windows aren't double-glazed, but not enough to spoil a good night's sleep. The hotel has two entrances, one for club members and the other for non-members, and certain areas within the hotel are designated for members' use only. It certainly retains a strong feeling of being a private club, but guests are made to feel very welcome and jeans ARE permitted at breakfast in the Members' Dining Room, though there is a strict policy regarding dress code for lunch and dinner. I noticed a few 'emergency' jackets hanging outside the dining room ... presumably in case some poor soul has forgotten to bring one!

We stayed in room 6, overlooking the gardens at the front of the hotel. Heavy curtains and brocade bedspreads added to the feeling of being in a country house rather than a town-centre hotel, and a small dressing room/corridor linking the bedroom to the bathroom was quaint and quirky. No wardrobes here ... just two heavily-curtained recesses and an antique chest of drawers! Both beds and pillows were very comfortable, though one of the sheets had a tiny hole, however this didn't bother me as they were spotless. In addition to the usual hospitality tray there was still and sparkling bottled water, which we appreciated. TV, clock radio, telephone (all a little outdated!)hairdryer, trouser-press, iron and ironing board were also provided.

The bathroom was very clean, with Molton Brown toiletries and other sundries such as cotton buds, make-up pads, a sewing kit, shower cap and shoe cloth. Towels were big and reasonably fluffy. My only gripe was that the bath was very slow to drain, and towards the end of a shower you were left standing ankle-deep in water.

Breakfast is served in the dining room from 7.30 - 9.30, and from 8.00 - 10.00 on Sunday. The dining room is impressive, with ornately carved wooden doors and panels, chandeliers and a cabinet full of polished silver trophies and plaques. Sadly, breakfast did not merit being served in such plush surroundings. A tired bowl of fresh fruit salad, another of tinned grapefruit segments and a very small plate of thinly sliced cheese that was curling around the edges didn't do much to whet my appetite. Also on offer were small baskets of rolls, croissants and packets of cereal, with optional oppings such as dried apricots, seeds, etc. Hot options included porridge, kippers, smoked salmon & scrambled egg, and a traditional Scottish breakfast of bacon, egg, mushroom, tomato, sausage and black pudding. I chose the latter, but sadly the black pudding was chewy and tasteless, the sausages overcooked, the bacon exceptionally salty and the egg frazzled underneath. On the plus side, I did enjoy a pot of Earl Grey tea and some warm toast and jam!

We would certainly stay here again, as we loved the location and ambience, but there is definitely room for improvement with regard to breakfast options (and presentation). I'd have appreciated some muffins or pastries, a selection of cold meats and cheeses, and the use of higher quality ingredients in the cooked breakfast. Overall, however, a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananafritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

A decent hotel with very good service. The rooms are on 2nd floor and there is no lift. Though, this was not an issue for me, some travellers might find this very inconvenient.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhijeet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We really liked the Royal Scot, quiet, excellent location, away from the noise of the downtown area but close enough to walk to everything you needed. The history of the building and the decor is very impressive, the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful with everything, it was a perfect haven to come back to after a day of sightseeing and crowds. I would not recommend it for someone with children. Breakfast was good. On the downside, there is no elevator! The staff was excellent about bringing the bags up and down but if you have any medical conditions be sure to ask for a room NOT on the top floor. The room was nice the bathroom was great and there was ample space for two people. The only thing I didnt like was the bed linens could use an updating the bedspread was worn out and the linens were clean but a little threadbear.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWilsons5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My partner and l went to edinburgh on one of the busiest w'ends - Edinburgh mini marathon and may day weekend!!!! We met up with our relatives & arrived at the Hotel greeted by a piper, fantastic entrance, even though it was for the wedding party!
The hotel is very cosy, clean and has its history kept alive in the rooms and lounges. It is an old place with so much character, the beds were comfy the bathroom clean and even had molton brown toilettries!!! After a scarry night doing the ghosts and ghauls tour it was fine to go back and have a relaxing bath.
The breakfast menu was very goood, plenty to choose from, and the staff very polite and professional.
Would def. stay again.
Could do with a lick of paint in the bedrooms:-)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews