We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #121 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We chose the Albany Ballantrae based on reviews from Trip Advisor. We had a great stay in a newly updated room on the lowest level. Very nice, trendy furnishings. Staff was super. A hair dryer was missing from our room and another one was delivered within 2 minutes. Breakfast was very ample in a nice dining area. Wait staff were excellent. Wonderful restaurant half a block down called Magnums--well worth including this when you stay at the Albany.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room -- 103 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddykatt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    237
    167
    93
    99
See reviews for
64
385
70
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, my friend and I chose this hotel as it was central to Princes Street, reasonably priced, breakfast was included and it had free WiFi in all rooms.
Check-in wasn't until 2pm and we arrived around 9am, but the reception staff were happy for us to leave our luggage in the reception area (which is manned all the time) and we headed off. When we arrived back at the hotel later to check-in, our luggage had already been taken to our room, and we were asked to pay up-front which I did but found a bit strange. We were shown to our room which was on the very top floor (Room 407), nice enough but it could get very warm at times and the windows didn't open very much, it had a fridge which we weren't expecting but was a nice surprise. Please note this hotel doesn't have a lift and has lots of stairs so if you aren't good with stairs it may be best to avoid it or ask for a ground floor room.
Continental breakfast was included and if you wanted a cooked breakfast you could order it at a price. I personally found this hotel more like a B&B than a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleAngelRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Centrally located I was expecting great things from this hotel. Unfortunately reality and expectation rarely coexist and so it was with the Albany.  Not that I was expecting an out of this world experience but what I experienced was a shabby, dirty, dated and dungeon-like room on the ground floor.  The tiles in the bathroom were cracked, with the carpet /tile separator dislodged from its mounting at the base of the bathroom floor which would not close. Shabby decor in the form of chipped furniture and peeling wallpaper added to a truly disappointing stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelfastDonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Odessa, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The staff at the Ballantrae Albany was awesome. They frequently repeated the phrase "this is your hotel". It was more than a "mantra", their actions reflected the attitude. The food was delicious and served in a comfortable setting. The small hotel's location was convenient-near nightlife and within walking distance of the city sights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Staying in Edinburgh for the weekend i chose this hotel due to location and reviews, the parking is a bit difficult and the traffic wardens hunt in packs.

The room was really nice a bit noisy being on the main road but your in a city centre so no suprise really, Kevin on the front desk was very helpfull and nothing was a a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rallyman269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Very large (family)room and nice bathroom. Authentic style. Enthusiast and helpfull staff. Not far from the centre. All in all a fine hotel yet not perfect. It was -inexplicable- warm in the room whilst the outside temperature wasn't and opening the windows caused a lot of street noise entering the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wensley
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel was supposed to be a 4 star it would be better as a 2.!!!!!The general appearence was shabby the price was expensive for what you got and when you are told breakfast is served until 10.30 on a sunday and you are told at 10.28 that breakfast is finished and all you get is coffee and toast.NOT GOOD!!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#131 of 149 in Edinburgh
523 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#111 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,052 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#83 of 149 in Edinburgh
328 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,124 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Property: Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing