We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #123 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great staff and breakfast!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed for long UK Bank Holiday weekend (during the Fringe Festival and Edinburgh Tattoo period). Top floor room a bit much after walking all day, no lifts and extremely hot. With (sash) windows open it was noisy even in early hours as traffic diverting through Albany Street due to tramworks on Princes Street. Small courtyards back and front at lower ground level ok but also a bit cramped, and bar area really didn't fit the 'boutique' claim - more like a pie and pint joint! Ask for a room facing the back if you like quiet! Redeeming factor was the staff, without fail very helpful and professional. Particular thanks to Anna in the bar & at breakfast service. And full Scottish breakfast is what it says on the tin, and plenty of it too.

Room Tip: Room at the back for quiet. Room on low floor unless you are an Olympic athlete! Note: breakfast/d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    232
    160
    93
    98
See reviews for
62
377
67
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Disappointment was our feeling when we were met on arrival with a messy reception area which remained the same during our stay. The staff were friendly but we were not offered help with our cases up to the top floor and there being no lift. The stairway was dingy and dark with soiled carpets very much in need of vacuuming. Our twin-bedded room was dark with old, chipped furniture, window blinds which needed replacing and heavy dark curtains. The sash windows were very difficult to open for much needed air. The beds had no mattress protecter fitted and the mattress was stained and only covered with a thin sheet. I have never experienced that low a standard in any hotels I have stayed in. Bedding and towels which were thin were never replaced in the four days we stayed there. The shower room was certainly not 4 star standard with a dirty shower curtain which should have been replaced long ago. Generally the hotel was thoroughly shabby and well below the standard of a 4 star Scottish Tourist Board rating. Talk about needing a re-vamp! I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel nor ever stay there again. I think the Ballantrae Hotel was taking full advantage of visitors to Edinburgh at this busy time in the city.

Room Tip: Cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 18Sally_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We decided to extend our stay at the Festival and found this hotel through booking.com Great location, really good service and lovely decor. Townhouse hotel with late night bar downstairs with a boutique feeling. We found it to have very high standards and the continental and full fry up was included in the price - YUM! Toiletries plentiful and really nice. Bathroom clean and modern - black and white and the corridors smell wonderful with fresh lillies dotted around. The only negative for me is that i could hear very loud snoring coming from next door. Loved it and have already recommended to my parents. Brilliant deal £89 for two with breakfast (booked on day of stay) Nothing too much trouble for the staff. Well done! We had room 102 which was lower ground level

Room Tip: 102 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnepk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the last night of our honeymoon and after a wonderful week at other accommodation we were bitterly disappointed that this hotel was the one we spent our last night in.
I'll start with the only positive of the stay- the staff were friendly!

This hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment and a good clean!
Carpets in common areas are threadbare, mould growing out of the broken shower screen and surrounding areas in the painfully small bathroom, surfaces in the main room are 'sticky', Venetian blind in main bedroom was broken, the list goes on and on...

We had arrived at this hotel just after lunchtime and were looking for a bite to eat.
Spotted a sign for 'afternoon tea' with a selection of sandwiches / scones / cakes etc so we decided to try it.
Bad mistake.
After ordering, the waitress arrived back at our table literally seconds later with 2 plates (obviously straight from the fridge).
The bread on the sandwiches was both soggy and stale (if that's possible!!), the scones had obviously been there for a while and as for the other stuff, based on the look of it we never even tried it!

All in all a thoroughly disappointing stay and we will definitely not be back to this dated and dirty hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigandKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Terrible experience. We booked the honeymoon "suite" (which was not a suite - as defined by Scottish Tourism) which was dirty, shabby and noisy. The room was very dark with black carpet, dark brown walls, dark furniture and black curtains - more like a knocking shop than a honeymoon suite.
There was mould in the shower, stains on the bedding and carpet, chipped cheap furniture, large water damage patch on ceiling, broken blinds and curtain hanging offf. The room had single glazed, shash windows which meant we got no sleep due to the traffic noise on the busy cobbled street outside. This is not a 4 * quality hotel.
The carpet in the public areas was threadbare, ceilings crumbling, chipped paintwork, cleanliness grubby - generally it is a shabby hotel.
We complained on the first night and as they could not give us another room, the hotel being full, we decided to leave after one night. The receptionist told us all would be OK and we would NOT be charged for the additional 2 nights that we had initially booked - but he lied - we have subsequently been charged £340 on our credit card for the 2 nights we did not stay. The management will not budge on this, quoting their cancellation policy. So beware if you book this for more than 1 night and decided to leave you will be charged in full.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AitchX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights last week on the top floor in a twin bedded room. The hotel was shabby. The paintwork chipped, carpets worn and dirty. There was no lift. The fire extinguisher outside the bedroom had come off the wall. In our bedroom the furniture was chipped, there was no matress protector on the beds and the sheets were thin along with the towels. The shower curtaiin was dirty with mould growing round the bottom. How much does a new shower curtain cost ?? This is definitely not a 4 star hotel and it was very expensive - we were told the reason was the Fringe etc Don't believe it - there are far better and cheaper hotels nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

we were here for 2 nights in july. the staff were very friendly in particular the irish girl.. the food at dinner was terrible and the service was as bad. we had booked for afternoon tea for 2 days, but did not return after the first one, the room was clean with a lovely large bathroom but was very dark, all in all it was an okay hotel but would probably not return as the food was not up to much, but the staff at reception were very helpful,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#127 of 148 in Edinburgh
510 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#111 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,025 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#91 of 148 in Edinburgh
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#129 of 148 in Edinburgh
263 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#61 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Property: Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing