We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #123 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
northumberland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

3 of us away for the night, had a family room (no 31) double bed and two singles, huge! with a sitting area and good sized tv. Bathroon was nice and well appointed and everything clean as far as we could see. For £115 including contenental breakfast (which was more then ok) and in such a cental location I thought it excellent value for money and would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    218
    153
    89
    95
See reviews for
59
362
62
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Rooms are spacious, comfortable and quite. A good nights sleep. Friendly staff and an excellent location for Edinburgh and all its attraction, but quite enough for a good sleep. Needs a little attention in some areas of the décor to make it an excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryWiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnersh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We booked two nights at the Albany as we were going to a wedding in Edinburgh in Nov 2012. All the wedding party were staying together including my son who was best man. The booking was made in May 2012 but we arrived to find they had no record of it. We were able to prove online that they had taken the deposit from our credit card at the time of booking. We spoke to the manager by phone - he was not on duty - and he was most unhelpful. At no point did he apologise. The hotel was full so we had to find an alternative hotel locally. This meant we were not with the wedding party, unable to help out with our grandson, and on the eve of the wedding missed the pre-dinner drinks and were late for the meal. The alternative hotel was more expensive than the Albany but it was all we could find.

We ate in the Albany hotel on the eve of the wedding. The restaurant in the basement lacked atmosphere and there was a curtain missing. The food was unexceptional although the Polish waitresses were pleasant.

After returning home, we complained to the manager of the Ballantrae group and asked if they would pay the difference in hotel costs. They ignored our request. We shall not try to go there again.

Should you wish to stay at this hotel, ensure you get a written confirmation of your booking - not automatically sent out.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We were expecting something better for 170£ per night...the first impression as you walk in is average and reminds you of an 80£ hotel..the room had a character like vintage and retro and was spacious...however..all the furniture were ageing and marked, cuboard as well..which creates an non clean impression. The bathroom is old and although some pieces look re-furbished, still most of it is very old ( black mould around the bathtub). Towels and sheet were ok but we stayed three days and the room was never hoovered.
Breakfast just ok. Location is very good, 10 min walk from princess street and together with the new year period that we stayed caused the over pricing which is totally inaproppriate for this level of hotel.
Finally last day we walked in finding our door unlocked from cleaning services..fortunately nothing was missing.
Dissapointing...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homenistantasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Rated this as average because it is described as a four star and it isn't! Having said that is was perfect for what we wanted. The decor over the whole hotel is tired looking and worn out in places. I liked the worn furniture as the style is in keeping with the house. Our room was large with a seating area and big bed. Complimentary toiletries, tea( different kinds) , coffee and shortbread. Staff were friendly and helpful. I was worried about cleanliness after reading some reviews on here but the hotel was clean and the most importantly so ws the bedding.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

I have signed up today in response to all the bad reviews i read before i arrived which might i add i am glad i payed absolutely no attention to. We have just got back from staying here for our wedding anniversary. We were upgraded on arrival to the honeymoon suite which was absolutely beatiful room 310. The rooms were clean and very spacious. The staff are lovely and really helpful. The bed was comfy and huge. The only down side was the noise from the traffic as it was at the front of the hotel which all i could say is take a pair of ear plugs its not worth missing out on such a lovely hotel for. Plenty of parking and at £12 for 24 hrs is brilliant. The hotel really is close to everything and would deffenatly stay here again in a shot. Dont Listen to the bad reviews !!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed at the Albany Hotel as part of a three night city break, the hotel is within close proximity to the train station (10 minute walk). The hotel itself is warm and cosy, however i would have been nice for reception to be immediately after entering the hotel, there is a concierge desk which was never manned and as the reception was out of eyes view pretty much anybody could come into the hotel and the staff would have been unawares. Our room was on the top floor (no lift in the hotel) getting there is a little like finding your way through a rabbit warren. I noted that some of the stair carpet was going threadbare and the ceiling in our bathroom was peeling away. The housekeeping staff are very noisy on a morning so glad i'm an early riser as they would have woken me. The breakfast was traditional and continental was also available. The food was enjoyable with no complaints and the breakfast staff were very friendly. I dont think I would stay at the hotel as it is overpriced and over rated as a 4 star hotel, I will make a return visit to Edinburgh but will be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: We booked through booking.com and requested a specific room which we didn't get! my only advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#95 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Property: Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing