We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got broken into. Inside job. Don't stay there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #124 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Got broken into. Inside job. Don't stay there.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Went to stay for business. The hotel was a bit run down. First night was OK, was a basement room which was flood lit outside. Went out for dinner the next night to come back and find that my room had been broken into. My laptop and kindle were stolen and my case was raided. The person somehow managed to open the window from the outside and climb in within a 2 hour time period. I think this was an inside job as I had closed the blinds and the curtains before I left so no passerby could see into my room.

The hotel staff were not helpful at all. They had called the police but they could not offer me another room as they were fully booked (although I was not allowed to stay in the room as it was a crime scene). I was not allowed to speak to the hotel owner regarding claiming off the hotels insurance. They had tampered with the crime scene although they were told not to. They had said to me that they had informed their insurance. They hadn't. They were not forthcoming in providing a refund. AVOID THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    222
    154
    90
    96
See reviews for
60
368
63
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oberrodenbach, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a nice hotel with the charme of a "old lady". It's an old nice building with old nice rooms. The furnitures are all in good conditions but very old, normaly I say they need a refurbishment but here it's not really necessary yet. Everything has a bit of an luxury touch but it's only a touch. The location is also OK but you have to walk round about 25 min to the center of the city but other nice sightseeing locations are in the closer surrounding. Furthermore there are nice pubs in the surrounding where you can meet nice scotish people and have a beer with them. The breakfast was very good, the choice was OK but the quality was very good. The Bar is also quite nice and clean and as you can mention, you will have a good choice on scotish Whiskys. I get it from HRS hot deal for 50€ per night and this was perfect for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JcJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have to stay at this hotel every few months or so for work as that is where they book us into and it is literally couple of minutes from the office so from that point of view good for location.

The rooms at this hotel are very hit and miss the newer more modern rooms are okay but if you get one of the older dark rooms then you could be in for a bad time.
Some of the showers are so low you have to stoop right down to get under them and the beds can be quite uncomfortable having stayed in a good few of the rooms none are that great. If anyone gets put in the room right by the front door ask to move straight away because this is SO loud with people coming in and out the front door.
My other pet hate with this hotel is WHY o WHY do they have to put the towels all on the bed and not in the bathroom, what is it with that? You end up getting in the shower and then realise there are no towels in the bathroom agghh!
With regards to the food at this hotel this is also hit and miss - I have only ever had breakfast there as there are so many other places for dinner but they keep changing the offering being continental breakfast only then offering a cooked breakfast and now back to a continental only. This week the breakfast quality was dreadful the fruit salad looked like it had been out on display for a about a week it looked disgusting I avoided that. I also asked for porridge and got told there were weetabix on the table!
I judge a hotel on good breakfast and this hotel really does not provide one.
There are certainly worse hotels around but really a bit more attention to detail in some aspects of cleaning, catering and general care would not go a miss!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel whilst not such a nice view it is quieter away from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I booked this hotel for one night after a lovely tour of Scotland thinking a boutique hotel would be a nice end to the week. Easy to check in, nice girl on Reception, single room
looked the same as on Internet and not too small for a single but it ended there. First was my kettle, disgustingly dirty and smelled, water turned brown with things constantly floating from slimy element, impossible to drink from. Reception tried to find another but could not so offered me hot water. On climbing into bed, feeling very tired travelling, I found the worst bed I've ever slept in. The springs were coming through every part of the mattress, it was dreadful. I looked under the sheet to find a very cheap old bed, not what I'd expect in a 'Boutique Hotel' I've slept in better in travel lodges. As it was late at night and I knew the hotel was full I didn't know what to do but make the best of it. I slept on top of the duvet, using it to pad out the springs and covered myself with a bath towel and my dressing gown and slept the best I could.

I used the restaurant which was ok, food was average, wine was good and the staff very friendly.

There is no way I would use this hotel again or recommend it. Perhaps the double rooms have better beds and kettles but if you are travelling solo give it a miss.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureVulture257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

So looking forward to be back in lovely Edinburgh for our daughter's graduation. However, are room was down in the basement of this dreadful hotel. As I say, more like a bedsit (a rough one from the 1970's). Sockets hanging off wall, frosted basement window, very basic shower room - basically a very depressing place to be in, so was grateful to go outside into the City. Can highly recommend not to stay in this place.

Room Tip: Please avoid the basement and perhaps this hotel altogether - not what it seems!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allotmentgirl838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

The room was very spacious and looked lovely but just needed redoing a bit, needed painting to freshen it up, the walls looked a bit grotty. The shower was way too low and we are only short! And the pressure was rubbish. It was such a loud night. I got woken up very often because of traffic and alarms. The staff were very nice and helpful. And the location was great. But too expensive for what it is. And the car park... It would help if the snazzy merc parked in it and not blocked it. I've come away with a big scratch on my BMW. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BexyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over the Festival.(6 of us) Very central. Car park. Perhaps this is not 4 star in the usual starring but we knew what we were coming to. Excellent room for 4 which was huge and super bathroom. We had room at top of one of the 5 houses which was OK, spacious,comfortable and clean. Shower head far too low for tall husband as it was on an eave but managed fine. Staff very helpful and friendly, doing their best. No lift because they are listed buildings but perhaps this should be mentioned in the blurb even though we knew this. Complaints re noise are because the parallel road is closed so ALL trafic has to use Albany St owing to the trams. One must expect to pay a premium for such a central place - could walk everywhere. Breakfast very adequate.

Room Tip: Suggest if stairs are difficult ask for lower floor. Some of the houses are newly done up and perhap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessa1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#96 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#114 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#131 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Property: Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing