We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #128 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my boyfriends birthday, the staff were very friendly on arrival, carried our bags to our room for us and explained how the lights and tv etc worked. The room was huge and decorated beautifully, the bathroom was very spacious and clean. The hotel is close the bus station and train station. A lovely hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginnerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a reasonably-priced hotel in this expensive capital city. The rooms were clean and comfy, the continental breakfast fine and the staff friendly. I did find all the gloomy black paint too dark, especially as it was so grey and wet outside. I'd have preferred a warmer, lighter ambiance!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aixcentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I booked two nights at this hotel six weeks in advance of my trip to Edinburgh, my first visit to the city, I chose the hotel because of its close proximity to the station and the theatre. Four days before my arrival, I was telephoned to advise they had overbooked and they wished to transfer me to their sister hotel.

I explained it would be difficult because I am a woman travelling alone, I had a ticket to the theatre and the transfer would mean me getting a taxi to and from the station and to and from the theatre. I was offered a £10 discount for the 2nd night. I said this would no way pay for four taxi journeys and I was then transferred to the Manager.

The Manager offered £15 and when I said this was unacceptable he said had I tried the other local hotels, or in other words take it or leave it. He then said that I didn't need to get taxi's, the £15 would cover the taxi from the theatre to the hotel because this was at night, the other times I could get a bus, I told him I had no knowledge of the city or the bus routes and he said someone could direct me. The attitude of this guy was unbelievable. I cancelled my booking and wrote a letter of complaint to the owner of the hotel, to date I have not received a reply. I am not surprised.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank 215Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Albany Hotel during a round trip through Scotland.

This is NOT a four star hotel... on arriving at the hotel the gentlemen on reception was far from welcoming and was rude to a guest on the phone whilst we were waiting to check in... an instant let down.

We were then shown to our room. . The hotel is shabby at best, with carpets torn and ripped wallpaper.

Our room was dark and hairs were on the bed. The view from our window was a wall!

There are much nicer hotels in Edinburgh.... next time I will stay in one of those!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Happy990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We've just returned from a fantastic 3 night break in Edinburgh. The Albany Ballantrae is a gem, our room was huge - 308, and had everything you would want. There are some areas that look a little tired but nothing that should put anyone off. We booked room only because there are so many places to eat within a short walk. Only 8 minute walk to Princes Street and Waverley Station. Would definitely stay at the Albany again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxineday7869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel is well located close to Princes Street, and Waverley station. Nice, "old-fashioned" decor. No double beds in the "single rooms", although room was reasonably sized, and had all the necessary facilities. Ample tea/coffee making faciltiies and toileterries. The bathroom is a bit cluttered with barely and space to place the towels.
Breakfast was good, although the size of the plates provided was small, the coffee provided in a pot was not warm enough, so was the "toast".
Overall the staff is friendly, and a complimentary newspaper every day.
Good hotel overall

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CesareCamestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was a treat for my birthday booked for by my husband. From the moment we stepped inside I knew its was going to be a great stay. The staff were efficient and courteous our room on the third floor was lovely with lots of character, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was especially fab with a great drencher shower. Breakfast as advertised was continental however it was far beyond what we expected with fresh salmon each morning. Dinner was available if required although with lots of bars and restaurants nearby we chose to eat out. Everything is central to the city centre. We travelled by train and it took us around 15mins walk from Waverly Station to the hotel. We are already preparing our next visit and this will most certainly include a stay at The Albany.

Room Tip: Our room was 301 and was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
548 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#127 of 151 in Edinburgh
22 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,113 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#63 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,371 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £47 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing