We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment, photos misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #127 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 10 March 2014

While Albany Ballantrae is in an ideal location, everything else is a huge disappointment. It felt more like a youth hostel than a boutique hotel / B&B. The public and private spaces were dirty, carpet was threadbare, huge paint chips in walls and mismatched patchwork, and overall quality of bed, sheets, towels, etc was poor. It now makes perfect sense why they ask you to pay in full before you see your room - that way they have your money! After voicing complaints, we were informed that there wasn't a manager on duty over the weekend and that someone would get back to us about a refund. The verdict was no refund. This hotel definitely is not focused on customer comforts and their payment and refund policies are outdated. If you are going to Edinburgh, stay anywhere but this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank egenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for my boyfriends birthday. I booked this hotel rather than the usual travelodge as a treat with it been advertised as a 4* hotel.... what a joke! The location was great, that was the only thing that was. When we arrived we receved no sort of greeting from reception, just ordered to pay the second nights stay now before we got our keys. Not even a have a nice stay or anything. When we got to our room past all the threadbare carpets initially seemed nice. After a proper look though discovered the "double" bed was actually two singles pushed together with a double sheet over them. There were mirrors and tap parts missing in the bathroom. And the welcome booklet was just full of charges if anything was broken or taken from the room. The shower took a good 15 mins before any sort of warm water came through and if you were taller than 6ft then you would have to bend double to get under the shower.
The continental breakfast was ok. Although stale croissants were not expected, especially for the price paid. Put it this way the second morning we prefered to pay for breakfast elsewhere.
When checking out we recieved the same kind of greeting as when we checked in, a grunt when handing the keys back was about as much as we got.
The fact that this hotel is advertised as 4* is simply a joke. I have stayed in 2* b&bs that were better than this. Its an overpriced hotel that does not deserve a 4* in the slightest. Would I recommend or stay in this hotel? A resounding NO!
My advice, do not stay here, its not worth it in the slightest!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steph81xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights. We were upgraded to an executive double. Room 412. The room was lovely and the bathroom was huge!

The only problem we had was the shower. As soon as I had put my conditioner in my hair, the water pressure disappeared completely. My boyfriend phoned reception and the advice given was to wait 10 minutes because lots of people were probably having showers. Safe to say I did not appreciate this useless advice as I was freezing cold stood in the shower. The water did come back on eventually though. The same thing happened to my boyfriend the next morning too.

Apart from the shower everything was great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank lorrs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend visited Edinburgh for a weekend break. Upon arrival we were very sceptical about the hotel due to some of the bad reviews. However we were very pleased!
The hotel is a very large with several staircases and corridors to walk through to get to your room with added interior decoration. The room was very large, staff friendly and a 5 minute walk from St James' shopping mall which you can walk straight through to get to princes street. Breakfast was enough to fill you up and the staff bring you any hot drinks or toast you require.
Check out was 11am however our train was only at 8pm but the staff allow you to leave any luggage for the whole day with no extra fee.
Our only concern was the hot water tap did not work for the bath however this was not too much of a problem.
Edinburgh is a great city and the hotel has added to the enjoyable experience of the break!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beckybx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I visited this nicely decorated hotel for a business trip. I was in a single room which was downstairs. The room itself was a reasonable size but the bed was absolutely tiny. Even though it is a single room they could quite happily have fitted a double bed in which would've been much more comfortable.
The bathroom was acceptable although the shower head, which was nice and big, was at approximately 5 feet 10 meaning I had to crouch in the shower.
Down points are very creaky floorboards and a very small cheap television.

The location itself is very good being a 10 minute walk from the main station and near the city centre. It is a nice quiet location and despite having a downstairs room I was not woken by traffic or partying.
The staff are friendly. There was some confusion about whether I had actually booked in but once the receptionist found where his colleague had hidden the paperwork all was well!
The continental breakfast is served downstairs in a modern dining room. This is again acceptable but certainly not top end (however I would not have expected this to be top end for the price paid)

For £59 a night with a continental breakfast I would say this represents good value and a reasonable business hotel to stay in for the individual.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Pipehitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I always find with Edinburgh that you either get anonymous international brand hotels that are same, same, same, so I have been trying to find somewhere in this great city, and I have found it. The Ballantrae Albany Hotel is a wee gem of a place. Rooms are funky and modern with nice little touches, its one street down from Queen Street so a great location, and it very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinrwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was a great choice! Ticked all the boxes for me...proximity to the city centre, ambience, service, cleanliness, room size; overall, a great experience! Oh...and everything worked for the 3 nights I spent there:). The ambience did surpass my expectation...and it came at a good price too.

I will certainly recommend to anyone looking to have a peaceful and relaxing time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chioma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#134 of 151 in Edinburgh
540 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#110 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,094 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#62 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#80 of 151 in Edinburgh
340 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £54 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing