We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, nice atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #127 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed on two separate occassions in the Ballantrae hotel. First time in a large room downstairs which was very clean, quiet and had an amazing bathroom (easily a 4 star experience). Second time stayed in a small dusty room upstairs which was a bit of a dissappointment. However my overall impression of the hotel is good. I found the staff to be very helpfull. Furthermore the hotel has a good location and offers a very decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Service brilliant from booking to departure. The hotel was welcoming and very comfortable. Good breakfast choice and dinner menu nice. Staff are great and helpful. Near the centre of Edinburgh with sightseeing buses close by . Would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in room 207 on the ground floor and had no problem at all with noise. We didn't have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lido6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Weare staying here for 5 nights for our honeymoon the hotel is central to princess street the rooms are clean and spacious , the staff are very friendly we would come back and stay again

the rooms are very warm as we had to turn the heating of we would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having read the previous poor reviews we were very pleasantly surprised by the service and the standards. Yes there are threadbare carpets in an area of the hallway, but we weren't sleeping there! In contrast our room was clean, & well presented. Bed was clean and very comfortable. Yes there is traffic noise- bit it's the city centre for God Sake, and that's exactly why we chose it. We parked in the hotel's parking area for £12 a night. Which is fab for the city centre.
The continental breakfast was really good and served by pleasant and friendly staff. Overall for £60 it was well worth it. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesand24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stay at the ballantrae hotel for a hen weekend in April 2014, the rooms were lovely, very smart, warm and well decorated. The public rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I would certainly recommend it and would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank suebates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I booked the honeymoon suite as a suprise for my girlfriend. £169 for one night which I thought was reasonable before I got there. The room is all black which looked nice in the pictures but it is pretty sore on the eyes when you are in it. The tv in the bathroom doesn't work after speaking to reception which was disappointing. The furniture is cheap and a bit worn. The bed was big and was pretty comfortable. There was no iron and ironing board in the room. All in all just a three star hotel. Woukd rather spend the extra cash next time and go elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Davie_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We were unsure about this hotel as it had some bad reviews but I booked this hotel anyway and the executive suite which was right at the back at the top and as soon as we opened the door it was beautiful they even let us check in early due to our train.
We had two sinks a bath and a separate shower. The bed was comfy but could if done with more pillows but that's just us 3 pillows each so probably used to home.
The hotel is a bit 5 mins walk from Edinburgh and not so far that it's far and so close that you don't hear nightlife.
The magnum pub on the same street was beautiful we had dinner in there and would highly recommend that.
The lady at the front reception in thehotel had all the knowledge and felt confident of where we were going. I would definitely come back - and stay in the executive room.
Thanks again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gemmat1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#133 of 151 in Edinburgh
544 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,353 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#113 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
344 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#131 of 151 in Edinburgh
20 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £55 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing