We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2 stars hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #121 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A 2 stars hotel”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Our room was in the basement , I am not even sure an hotel that wants to be called so can have such rooms.
We had to cue to sit for breakfast (!!!) and even if breakfast was included in the price, we were told afterwords that coffe/cappuccino etc were not included in the price. So we EVEN HAS TO CUE FOR PAYING for the coffee.
Really poor service management.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gilauda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    237
    167
    93
    99
See reviews for
64
385
70
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice service. Received more than expected. Friendly staff were welcome and warm. Very clean rooms Coming soon again with friends. Good value

Would advice put some more dishes on menu of restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Cerkez K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for just 1 night. Honestly, it is a nightmare to find a parking lot during the week, at the weekend there are a few more, even for free, available. The room I stayed in was very small but clean, old fashion style. WiFi was available and working. Breakfast is just "continental", dont expect proper english breakfast. Close to the hotel are a few nice bars and clubs to get a pint, but the hotel bar is also a good choice. Overall rating I would say "Good".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed on two separate occassions in the Ballantrae hotel. First time in a large room downstairs which was very clean, quiet and had an amazing bathroom (easily a 4 star experience). Second time stayed in a small dusty room upstairs which was a bit of a dissappointment. However my overall impression of the hotel is good. I found the staff to be very helpfull. Furthermore the hotel has a good location and offers a very decent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Service brilliant from booking to departure. The hotel was welcoming and very comfortable. Good breakfast choice and dinner menu nice. Staff are great and helpful. Near the centre of Edinburgh with sightseeing buses close by . Would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in room 207 on the ground floor and had no problem at all with noise. We didn't have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lido6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Weare staying here for 5 nights for our honeymoon the hotel is central to princess street the rooms are clean and spacious , the staff are very friendly we would come back and stay again

the rooms are very warm as we had to turn the heating of we would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having read the previous poor reviews we were very pleasantly surprised by the service and the standards. Yes there are threadbare carpets in an area of the hallway, but we weren't sleeping there! In contrast our room was clean, & well presented. Bed was clean and very comfortable. Yes there is traffic noise- bit it's the city centre for God Sake, and that's exactly why we chose it. We parked in the hotel's parking area for £12 a night. Which is fab for the city centre.
The continental breakfast was really good and served by pleasant and friendly staff. Overall for £60 it was well worth it. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesand24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#131 of 149 in Edinburgh
523 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#111 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,052 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#83 of 149 in Edinburgh
328 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,124 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Property: Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing