We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpfull staff, yet vastly overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #128 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Ballantrae Albany Hotel is very nicely located, at walking distance from the city center, in a quiet part of town. This boutique hotel has a lot of charm and gives a homey feeling. Friendliness and helpfulness of staff is outstanding.
Generally well worth a stay, but:
Keep in mind that this sort of hotel does not have airconditioning. The room we stayed in was very hot and did not cool off at night.
The "continental breakfast" is far below standards. Only basic foods (cereal, cheese, meats, juice and pastry) are offered from the buffet table and the bread served was at least a day old.
Given the size of the room, the relatively poor breakfast we had, absence of ventilation in the room, this hotel is definitely not worth the GBP 189,- we paid for a single night. Edinburgh is generally an expensive city to spend the night, but at this rate there are good alternatives available (if booked on time).

Room Tip: Worth a stay, but avoid weekends, when prices appear to be significantly higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

great location. within easy walking distance of train stations and princes street

the hotel was originally 3 terraced houses so the layout is a bit confusing. the room numbers don't follow a pattern. that said, the rooms were comfortable, warm and well stocked with iron, ironing board hairdryer in every room.

we ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and had a lovely meal. my special diet was good naturedly accommodated - something I appreciate very much. breakfast is continental and average but what makes this hotel special is the great staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiery0pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have just spent 4 nights at the Albany Hotel from mon 26th may to 30th of May - by myself, I was on a sight seeing cultural type holiday & loved Edinburgh immensely saw the Castle, the Palace, Royal Yacht Brittannia plus numerous Museums & Art galleries to boot. I also discovered a local brew - an ice cold superb pint of 'newhaven best bitter' in the hotel bar! served by a very chatty friendly Lithuanian guy called Gassa & a beautiful waitress & barmaid called "Urte" & all the other lovely girls & a very helpful receptionist Irish guy called Len. the meals were very good too! & I would certainly go back to this cosy Hotel in the near future - great value for money too....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfredManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Having just left this hotel. We stayed one night. I have just read previous reviews which I was quite shocked at. We arrived early knowing that we wouldn't be able to check in but the girl was very friendly saying she would safe keep our luggage. When we came back to check in we got a friendly chap who showed us to our room. The room was lovely really couldn't find any fault with 310 as we only paid 89 pound I think it was superb it was certainly luxurious and we had a welcome bottle of wine. As far as breakfast I cannot comment on as we chose not to go for it. The previous criticism about a carpet yes I do agree that could do with being replaced but as you pay for a room does it really matter about something like that. So all in all superb and we will certainly be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I arranged a surprise weekend away for us flying to and from the midlands to Edinburgh. I booked this hotel for the great location (walking distance to all the main sites) and because we prefer these boutique rather than chain hotels. What a disappointment! I paid extra for an executive room. We were in the basement with a view of a wall and our window was by steps leading to the pavement and busy road. Late into the night people and traffic noise could be heard. The TV was hanging off its bracket on the wall, the room was either freezing cold or baking hot and although the bathroom on the surface looked great, the water pressure and shower were awful. The service was bad, the breakfast was woeful and even though there is a bar downstairs there was no room service! When you phone the room service number in the terrible welcome pack (filled with warnings of extra charges!) we got a miserable, unhelpful "receptionist" who said there was no room service and we had to go to the bar "downstairs". Well bearing in mind we were in the basement "downstairs" sounded a bit odd to say the least! There is no way this is 4*.its lacking in every area. We certainly won't be returning!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have recently visited Edinburgh and stayed at the Albany Hotel in the New Town area of the city. The hotel markets itself as a boutique style and I suppose that it just about answers that description. Shabby chic is a bit more accurate - the whole place could do with a bunch of TLC and indeed the carpets in the public areas are threadbare to the point of being a hazard underfoot. Room 309 is at the rear of the hotel and the large floor to ceiling window looks directly onto a small car park which due to geography is on the same level as this room. As a result there is no privacy at all when occupying this room unless you draw the curtains at all times. There is a small mini - bar type fridge in the room but there was nothing in it. A tea and coffee tray is provided however. The breakfast service is best described as chaotic nor is there sufficient room for guests at peak times. Returning from the city at around 11:30pm we found the hotel bar closing down and when asked the staff would not open it for hotel residents and would only offer to send drinks to our room - not at all satisfactory. Parking is also an issue with limited and very expensive on street parking outside the hotel. The solution was to use the nearby NCP multistorey (5 mins walk) at £15 per 24 hours. This hotels big selling point is location and at an easy 10 minute walk to the North Bridge it is well placed. However I would need to see that the place had been refurbished extensively before I booked again.

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the rear of the building on the third floor unless you like drivers and passers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unc-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Found out upon arrival that we had to pay upfront - beer a good start.
Room was fine but not amazing. Location great. Staff member on desk at entry was rude and abrupt. Bath tub is tiny. Toilet took all day to fill once flushed. Taps hanging off sink. Whole room and bathroom showing signs of lack of maintenance. Slept well - quiet place. Staff were extremely rude at breakfast. They could not handle people at breakfast - seemed strange they never had enough staff to look after us even when it's just a self serve continental. Not pleasant experience. More like a block of services apartments than a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven1984martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#134 of 151 in Edinburgh
540 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#110 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,094 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#63 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#80 of 151 in Edinburgh
340 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £54 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing