We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst experience of a hotel to date !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #123 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“worst experience of a hotel to date !”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

So we booked a room and paid for a room (honeymoon suit with champagne) - on arrival found we had been charged more than what was agreed over the phone when the booking was made !!! Also there was no room, no one had actually made the booking. The booking had been amended on their system for the previous weekend why this was done no one will actually tell us. If it was us why would we turn up at the hotel.

We have had the money refunded that was over charged in the first place but this still leaves a very bitter taste as we were left stranded 250 miles from home with nowhere to sleep and I can't believe they have no contingency plan for this so we had to find and pay for our own alternative accommodation which I found extremely unsatisfactory.

Also we have yet to actually speak to someone that can make a decision, getting the words constantly "I will speak to the owner" not good enough, if the owner has got anything about them at all they would have been on the phone to us straight away to get this sorted.

I would like a full explanation as to why this happened and some form of compensation for the stress caused by the hotel group! This was a weekend we had been looking forward to for a very long time hence why we booked the honeymoon suit and the champagne on arrival !!! we booked the hotel for a stress free long weekend city break due to having a very stress full few months and yet all they did was make it 10 times worse.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    230
    157
    92
    97
See reviews for
60
374
66
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

No real complaints because it was a business trip and the hotel served its purpose. Positives: it is central, the rooms were good standard apart from missing iron/ironing board and it was quiet. Negatives: décor is tired and worn and disappointing breakfast (I overheard one foreign couple ask where the cooked breakfast was and I would expect a cooked British breakfast in a 4 star British hotel).

Room Tip: Get one 3rd floor upwards to avoid staring at a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for one night. We chose it because of its location, being near Princes Street. That is the only plus. It's a very drab, dated and tired establishment. Everything is black and shaded and gives it a very sinister feel to it. I think for £127 for a night with a continental breakfast (that we didn't bother to have) it's over priced

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmymac1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Ballantrae Albany Hotel is very nicely located, at walking distance from the city center, in a quiet part of town. This boutique hotel has a lot of charm and gives a homey feeling. Friendliness and helpfulness of staff is outstanding.
Generally well worth a stay, but:
Keep in mind that this sort of hotel does not have airconditioning. The room we stayed in was very hot and did not cool off at night.
The "continental breakfast" is far below standards. Only basic foods (cereal, cheese, meats, juice and pastry) are offered from the buffet table and the bread served was at least a day old.
Given the size of the room, the relatively poor breakfast we had, absence of ventilation in the room, this hotel is definitely not worth the GBP 189,- we paid for a single night. Edinburgh is generally an expensive city to spend the night, but at this rate there are good alternatives available (if booked on time).

Room Tip: Worth a stay, but avoid weekends, when prices appear to be significantly higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

great location. within easy walking distance of train stations and princes street

the hotel was originally 3 terraced houses so the layout is a bit confusing. the room numbers don't follow a pattern. that said, the rooms were comfortable, warm and well stocked with iron, ironing board hairdryer in every room.

we ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and had a lovely meal. my special diet was good naturedly accommodated - something I appreciate very much. breakfast is continental and average but what makes this hotel special is the great staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiery0pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have just spent 4 nights at the Albany Hotel from mon 26th may to 30th of May - by myself, I was on a sight seeing cultural type holiday & loved Edinburgh immensely saw the Castle, the Palace, Royal Yacht Brittannia plus numerous Museums & Art galleries to boot. I also discovered a local brew - an ice cold superb pint of 'newhaven best bitter' in the hotel bar! served by a very chatty friendly Lithuanian guy called Gassa & a beautiful waitress & barmaid called "Urte" & all the other lovely girls & a very helpful receptionist Irish guy called Len. the meals were very good too! & I would certainly go back to this cosy Hotel in the near future - great value for money too....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfredManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Having just left this hotel. We stayed one night. I have just read previous reviews which I was quite shocked at. We arrived early knowing that we wouldn't be able to check in but the girl was very friendly saying she would safe keep our luggage. When we came back to check in we got a friendly chap who showed us to our room. The room was lovely really couldn't find any fault with 310 as we only paid 89 pound I think it was superb it was certainly luxurious and we had a welcome bottle of wine. As far as breakfast I cannot comment on as we chose not to go for it. The previous criticism about a carpet yes I do agree that could do with being replaced but as you pay for a room does it really matter about something like that. So all in all superb and we will certainly be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#129 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#91 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#111 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#113 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Property: Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing