We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #124 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here twice now and both times were very good, rooms and service are very good, beds comfy and the food is great. Great central location for the city and parking right outside. No problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Squawking44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    234
    164
    93
    99
See reviews for
63
380
69
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

On an overnight stay at this boutique hotel with my partner was certainly an experience and will definitely be returning. The hotel itself is five town houses and very eclectic, smart and well dressed. On arriving the receptionist was very friendly and chatty, which continued during our stay. We had an executive suite which was simply beautiful, the bathroom was huge with a tv by the bath (we didn't work out how to switch it on though!). We used the bar briefly and breakfast is in a room adjacent to this, well set out and a lovely choice. There are a lot of staircases, which is our only slightly negative comment, but adds to the eclectic nature of this lovely hotel. It is situated on a quiet street (we slept very well) but centrally well positioned in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Discuss when booking where you room will be as the hotel is fairly spread out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

So we booked a room and paid for a room (honeymoon suit with champagne) - on arrival found we had been charged more than what was agreed over the phone when the booking was made !!! Also there was no room, no one had actually made the booking. The booking had been amended on their system for the previous weekend why this was done no one will actually tell us. If it was us why would we turn up at the hotel.

We have had the money refunded that was over charged in the first place but this still leaves a very bitter taste as we were left stranded 250 miles from home with nowhere to sleep and I can't believe they have no contingency plan for this so we had to find and pay for our own alternative accommodation which I found extremely unsatisfactory.

Also we have yet to actually speak to someone that can make a decision, getting the words constantly "I will speak to the owner" not good enough, if the owner has got anything about them at all they would have been on the phone to us straight away to get this sorted.

I would like a full explanation as to why this happened and some form of compensation for the stress caused by the hotel group! This was a weekend we had been looking forward to for a very long time hence why we booked the honeymoon suit and the champagne on arrival !!! we booked the hotel for a stress free long weekend city break due to having a very stress full few months and yet all they did was make it 10 times worse.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

No real complaints because it was a business trip and the hotel served its purpose. Positives: it is central, the rooms were good standard apart from missing iron/ironing board and it was quiet. Negatives: décor is tired and worn and disappointing breakfast (I overheard one foreign couple ask where the cooked breakfast was and I would expect a cooked British breakfast in a 4 star British hotel).

Room Tip: Get one 3rd floor upwards to avoid staring at a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for one night. We chose it because of its location, being near Princes Street. That is the only plus. It's a very drab, dated and tired establishment. Everything is black and shaded and gives it a very sinister feel to it. I think for £127 for a night with a continental breakfast (that we didn't bother to have) it's over priced

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmymac1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Ballantrae Albany Hotel is very nicely located, at walking distance from the city center, in a quiet part of town. This boutique hotel has a lot of charm and gives a homey feeling. Friendliness and helpfulness of staff is outstanding.
Generally well worth a stay, but:
Keep in mind that this sort of hotel does not have airconditioning. The room we stayed in was very hot and did not cool off at night.
The "continental breakfast" is far below standards. Only basic foods (cereal, cheese, meats, juice and pastry) are offered from the buffet table and the bread served was at least a day old.
Given the size of the room, the relatively poor breakfast we had, absence of ventilation in the room, this hotel is definitely not worth the GBP 189,- we paid for a single night. Edinburgh is generally an expensive city to spend the night, but at this rate there are good alternatives available (if booked on time).

Room Tip: Worth a stay, but avoid weekends, when prices appear to be significantly higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

great location. within easy walking distance of train stations and princes street

the hotel was originally 3 terraced houses so the layout is a bit confusing. the room numbers don't follow a pattern. that said, the rooms were comfortable, warm and well stocked with iron, ironing board hairdryer in every room.

we ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and had a lovely meal. my special diet was good naturedly accommodated - something I appreciate very much. breakfast is continental and average but what makes this hotel special is the great staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiery0pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 149 in Edinburgh
516 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#110 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#70 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,268 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#79 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Property: Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing