We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpowering smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #106 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel twice previously and I was very pleased with it. This time I booked hotel in October through an agent and I requested a room overlooking Princes Street. Agent was told that hotel couldn't guarantee anything.We got a room facing back of hotel.The smell of soap products from shop under hotel was disgusting. It was everywhere including the bar. Very off putting and I definitely would Not stay again. Room was fine and staff were good but that awful smell was too overpowering.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terryCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,554 - 1,560 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

This was my second stay at the Old Waverley and it was as good this time as last time. The room was a twin on the 2nd floor as was very comfortable. Breakfast was great and well worth the money. As the weather was so bad on our second night we stayed in and had a bar meal - which was excellent. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissyd1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

stayed here last weekend and shared a triple room, comfortable for being an olde building. The meal we had in the restauant was fantastic and we looked over onto the Chistmas markets and the lights- so very festive. Breakfasts were sufficient and filling. Only negative comments would be no lift from the bottom of the front door to the reception so have to lift cases up stairs-not so great for my elderly mother.However lift from reception up to the bedrooms.Also a bath mat to come out from the bath/shower would be good. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhona_mccallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

A lovely hotel and the staff were very helpful and tried hard to please, had to wait sometime at check in as there was a problem with my booking, got sorted out in the end.
The room was a bit stuffy and cramped was unable to open the window to get some fresh air in.
The breakfast was good with a nice variety to choose from, although staff had trouble keeping it topped up due to it being very busy, just meant a couple of trips too and fro, not such a big deal really.
Excellent location for the Xmas Market and Princess Street, only a 15 min walk to the old town (near the Castle).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We arrived early and receptionist locked luggage away while we went sightseeing and returned to the hotel later. It is very well situated on Princes Street near to the Scott Memorial. Very close to the railway station. There were several steps from the street entrance before you reach the reception point which could be a problem to people with mobility issues. Our room was at the back of the hotel, very comfortable and quiet. The bar meals looked appetising although we did not try them. The breakfast was tasty and the food replenished quickly. The only disappointment i found was there was no porridge but the haggis was delicious. There is a lot of road works ongoing in Princes Street but this did not cause much of a noise problem.

Room Tip: In view of ongoing road works a room at the back of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Hi stayed here on business in early December, the location is great if you go by train as it's right next to waverley station. Didn't use the hotel much, arrived dropped bag off went to meeting and returned at bedtime.

Room was clean comfortable and bigger than expected ( cheapest available) but could do with double glazing as there was a little bit of street noise.

Staff on reception were helpful and polite

Will stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed at the Old Waverley for a two day break, arrived by train too early to book in but were able to leave our luggage and go sightseeing. Room was spacious, modern and very clean. Buffet breakfast good, excellent coffee. Again on checkout day, staff asked if we needed to leave luggage. Central location, excellent for theatre visit as well as usual visitor attractions.

Room Tip: 6th Floor (top) have good views over Princes St Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annglen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#74 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,078 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing