We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We found this hotel through laterooms, but the hotel's own website gave us a better rate. We booked two rooms knowing that they could be small and with an internal view, but at the rate we were paying they were still good value. In the event, only one room was small but as it was recently decorated with a full size, modern en suite bathroom it was still very pleasant. The other room was large and equally well-decorated and both rooms were at the front with a magnificent view onto Princes Street and beyond. This did mean that there was a bit of traffic noise but that is the flip-side of having such a magnificent view. The creaking floors were the only down-side to the rooms. The hotel itself, though old, seems to have been recently decorated throughout. Our bar meals and breakfasts were good, and the staff were pleasant and helpful. In all, I would certainly recommend this hotel: whilst the rate we obtained with comparable with cheap hotel chains, the rooms, views and facilities were far superior.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcleans_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

I am glad to hear that this guest enjoyed their time at the Old Waverley and my thanks to them for taking the time to write such a tremendous review. I am glad to advise that general traffic noise will calm down as the tram works progress and as far as most city centre hotels go- Edinburgh has to be one of the quietest.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,505 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were in Edinburgh for New Years and could not leave Edinburgh at our planned time because of bad weather. We asked if there were rooms available - didn't want to stay in the overpriced hotel we had stayed in for our first few days - and found a reasonable rate for a triple room, including breakfast.

The room was nice, clean and a good size. The view of the Edinburgh Castle was gorgeous and the proximity to the New Years festivities and the many Edinburgh highlights makes this a great location for a visit.

The staff was nice, breakfast was very similar to the breakfast at the overpriced hotel and the rate was good.

I recommend this hotel for a stay in Edinburgh

Room Tip: Our room was 416 and faced the castle and Princess St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likes2bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My partner and I have stayed in the Old Waverley Hotel over Christmas 2011, and we had a wonderful time. The location and luxury are a lot better than what I expected for the price we paid. The room was beautiful, including a bath and a view of the Edinburgh Castle. Breakfast was good, although a bit greasy. The service was fantastic, and all in all we just had the most wonderful time!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjolein M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the Old Waverley for one night as going to the theatre.Well positioned hotel in the centre of Edinburgh handy for easy access to the train station and shops.Staff were very welcoming .Good sized rooms and good value.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

stranded in edinburgh due to bad weather, got a good price for an internal room, just wish i had paid extra for view but could not complain hotel, room, staff etc.. spot on!!!!! for the price excellent

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at The Old Waverley Hotel after being stranded in Edinburgh due to the storms on 03/01/12 as all southbound trains were cancelled.
The hotel is ideally located however once inside you realise how jaded the hotel is.
The book in procedure was swift and cost of a double room incl breakfast was £69
Hindsight is a wonderful thing & if we were faced with a similar situation we would've probably booked into a Premier Inn or similar
The hotel is above Lush and the smell of the soaps in the hotel was nauseating
The room was way too hot , almost stifling
At breakfast we found some of the bread mouldy and the bacon resembled deep fried pigs ears
It served its purpose but as regular visitors to Edinburgh we definetly would NOT stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DellyLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Old Waverly in Edinburgh. Overall it was a comfortable hotel with decent sized rooms and good service. It is in an EXCELLENT location to explore Edinburgh and it was an affordable price. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Overlooking Princes street is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,719 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#77 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,059 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £60 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing