We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Smashing Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location Smashing Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh mainly due to the central location and comfort of the Old Waverley. The heavy glass front doors need replacing.You need to have had your porridge to open them especially managing luggage as well. The room was spacious and well equiped,the beds comfortable, the staff efficient and the breakfasts fine. I had my sleep interrupted one night by very noisy revellers on Princes Street and another night by contractors working on the new tram lines using a very noisy generator in the early hours. We did like the views of the castle and the marvellous facade of Jenner's department store.

Room Tip: The rooms with the best views tend to be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    808
    418
    132
    132
See reviews for
342
869
175
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

You can't beat the location. It's right on princes right in the middle of the action.
The rooms are very stately- spacious and there's huge recessed windows a large desk, a small table and chairs and amazing views of Edinburgh castle.
The bathroom is dated and could use a facelift though it's clean enough.
The staff were helpful though we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel itself.
One negative point-I didn't like having to pay for Wi-Fi.
All in all, it's a good place to stay and I would recommend it if you're looking for something in central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarHeycuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
My thanks to this guest for writing such a great review of the Old Waverley and I am sorry to hear that they were not impressed by our bathrooms which have always been the subject of high praise. I appreciate that not everyone enjoys paying for wi-fi but at just £5 for 24 hours this token payment is certainly not excessive.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

This Hotel is very, very central. If the Scott monument (which is in the centre of Princes Street) were ever to topple (god forbid!) it would probably fall close to the lobby of the Waverley. We were driving, and since Princes street is currently being dug up,(September 2012) we needed a Sat Nav to secure nearby off street parking to unload the luggage. The Hotel then gave us the location of secure (reduced priced) parking in an NCP car park.(This was a bit of a hike but do able) If you drive I suggest you plan your stay with no driving at all. (Bite your lip when you get the car out! It is not cheap) The city tour bus is almost opposite the hotel, really recommended you hop on and off and the Castle is a MUST.The city is very walkable. Though hilly!

The approach to the Hotel might dissapoint a little as it is situated through a (relatively) narrow doorway. Negotiate quite a few stairs to reception though and a friendly and proffesional welcome awaits. We selected a smaller, double room on floor 5, it was fine. Internal so no views, so what! VERY QUIET. BIG TV, LOVELY COMFEY BED, EXCELLENT BATHROOM. Air Con Tea and Coffee making facilities in the room. Also trouser press iron and ironing board. GREAT BREAKFAST. Lovely staff. Very good value.
Book direct. We experienced problems regarding B & B prices until we contacted the Hotel direct.They were then VERY HELPFUL!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherofthebride35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Not only a fantastic review but a very comprehensive one also - many thanks to this guest for their time and trouble. I would urge all potential guests to listen to the sage advice on offer and book direct with the hotel to secure the very best price and package - I am glad to hear that we were able to help on this occasion.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

When you arrive at the Old Waverley, it's all very beautiful and Scottish. Great location, lots of plaid, historic building, and good views over the city. But, on the whole, the hotel disappoints.

I was there with my family and we found the hotel pretty expensive for what you get. Our room was on the top floor with lovely views, but had a very leaky window and old beds. It seems that they've gotten feather top (or something similar) mattress covers to improve the situation, but generally the beds were old. Our bathroom was redone, but the rest of the room needed a face-lift. The lobby is very gorgeous, though, with tons of beautiful Scottish plaid, so maybe we had gotten our hopes up when we arrived.

We found the staff just OK as well. We asked for assistance in booking afternoon tea and taxis and neither worked out, so we wound up figuring it out ourselves.

Personally, I'd try to stay a bit closer to the Royal Mile the next time. Although it's a good location, it's still quite far from most of the main sites.

Room Tip: The top floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecojojo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
I am encouraged that this review is on the whole very complimentary about the Old Waverley but I am disappointed to learn that this guest found the bed to be uncomfortable. However, I am pleased to announce that we have just recently completed a full upgrade of all our beds and every one has now been replaced.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed for a long weekend for my wifes 50th and had looked for a quaint central place and found the old waverley. Staff very polite, friendly and helpful especially Dawid the top notch barman in the lounge. Excellent views of Princes street and the Scott monument from our room, a little disappointed with the standard of the Carpet and Decor both tired and frayed. we had booked a taxi for the Friday evening at 7.15pm, sadly it didn't turn up and we had to dash to the taxi rank along the road to get to our booked table on time, then awoken with a call to say the taxi had arrived, at 7.15am Saturday!!
We know it is a 3 star hotel but even given the location we feel they do need to up their game to justify the prices. We would stay there again if there were improvements made.

Room Tip: the higher you get the less traffic noise you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
A great review and I am glad to hear that this traveller found so much to love about the Old Waverley. I am sorry that they were disturbed by the tram works but these will be drawing to a close soon - one point, the door needs to be heavy so that it doesn't bang during windy days as we dont have the space for a sliding door!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Old Waverly has an ideal location in Edinburgh, which is the main reason I chose it. I was staying over a few days with no car so it was nice and fairly central to everything I wanted to see and do.

It is a short walk to the the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle as well as several nearby restaurants. That's the good and the reasons why I took it.

Coming from outside of the UK I am dependant on adapters for my electronics and there was only 1 available outlet in my room without moving all of the furniture (and this was in the bathroom).

I had to pay for wireless access, which in this day and age in simply unforgivable, especially since it was such a terrible signal (I had to choose whether I wanted my phone or tablet online because the signal couldn't handle two devices, and further if a device went to sleep I had to put the key back in).

I was shocked at the expense of getting a few shirts laundered prior to leaving - it turns out that they send them out to a dry cleaner rather than do them on site with their sheets and towels which is all I want. It cost £25 for each the laundry and the crappy wireless (so £50).

The building maintains a historic look but that's no reason to have ancient single pane glass. All that results in is heat loss and a lot of street noise coming in every single night I there when the bars let out, invariably waking me (I didn't go there for night life I was there for other reasons).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Many thanks for the feedback and I am sorry that not everything was to your satisfaction during your stay. Our wifi charges are fairly standard and at only £5 for 24 hours are exceptionally reasonable, and we do not have an in-house laundry so we have to send items out which are always returned on the same day, and again these charges are exceedingly modest.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Short stay whilst visiting the tattoo found the location perfect, it took us longer to find our way out of rail station than the walk to hotel. Stayed in budget room which was as described and couldnt complain about that except the shower rail which was fitted over the bath and it fell down. Then noticed it was in bad state red rusty. A let down not what should be found particularly when considering the room rates which were a premium. In general found staff to be helpfull and polite, but I had booked over internet room only where offer was take print out of invoice for half price breakfast yet reception kept asking for voucher despite having been shown invoice and written confirmation of instructions. Then found it somewhat annoying when having breakfast to be told it not included this even happened after I had settled the extras bill. Would stay there again but would look for a better deal first.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barney h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Great to hear this guest enjoyed themelves at the Old Waverley and many thanks for the kind words, especially regarding our fantastic location. Apologies for any confusion regarding booking of breakfast but we have simplified the process now and would urge all guests to book directly on our own website for the very best deals.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,706 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing