We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #106 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here mid November when attending a concert. Hotel perfectly placed on Princes Street, with superb views of the Old Town and the Edinburgh Castle, and just around the corner from Georges Street, Rose Street, and St Andrew's Square, so perfect for a shopaholic. The hotel is of a gentler age - swags and tails , and in need of some TLC, but quirky and a great base for exploring a fabulous city. Walking distance to all attractions (flat shoes ladies!), and the tour bus is just outside Waverley Station across the road. The bedroom was clean and functional, with character -sloping ceilings with round windows, and a floor which obviously was off square...but it all added to the experience. Breakfast was adequate (I like haggis so I was happy) and there were cook to order options in addition to the usual cereals/fruit/yoghurts. Flight of stairs to the reception area, so it may be a little problematic for those with mobility difficulties, but a very pleasant porter is on hand to give assistance. Got the hotel as part of a deal with flights so good value

Room Tip: Floor 6 for the round windows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smythy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

A superb and comprehensive review for the Old Waverley and I am grateful to this guest for pointing out some of our finer touches, such as the swags and tails in every room. I look forward to welcoming them to Edinburgh again soon..
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,071 of 2,080 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

My daughter and I spent a Sunday night in December at the Waverley. Our twin room was very large and the bathroom very modern. Our room was on the corner of Princes Street and overlooked the Christmas Festival at Princes Street Gardens. The music was very loud but ended a little after 10:00PM. The traffic noise was fairly loud all night, primarily buses. You ring the bell at the start of the 20-something steps and a porter carries your luggage. We were able to have our luggage securely held until check in and the front desk arranged for a taxi to the airport for the next morning. The only strange thing was a £25 charge on the credit card for any room charges. This was a pending charge on the card and was not processed. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel is in a prime location right in the heart of Princes Street, reception, communal areas and restaurant all very nice, our room was not so good, frosted windows and when you opened the window you looked out onto what I can only describe as a black hole!! So no matter what time of day it was you had to have the lights on. Bed was comfortable and shower excellent, just a little bit tired on the whole and in need of redecorating. Breakfast was excellent and got seated with no problem both days - even on a busy weekend. Have stayed here before and will stay again, may request a room with a view next time though.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over Princes Street are fantastic but be prepared to pay over the odds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimStocktonontees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

hello, just returned from the Old Waverley, must say we thought a bit pricey over £320 for 3 nights, however very clean and breakfast great. Must agree that the dirty linen all over the place in the mornings doesn't look good, but in fairness its a very busy hotel, with very polite staff, so when else could they clean all those rooms. Hotel was full to brim, but managed to get a better room for our last night on corner at front, with great view along princes street. Would we return.. yes, but not if i we were put in room 418 again. thanks to all the front desk staff and the manager, all very polite and knowledgeable.

Dawn Phillips Stayed 6th to 9th December 2013

Room Tip: dont have room 418, for what we paid very expensive and small, with a view of a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tone2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel, though it does show some wear and tear. Room very clean and comfortable. Staff very pleasant and helpful. This hotel is very central being situated on Princes Street, short walking distance to railway station. Only down side of stay was breakfast which cold. Would I stay again, yes, but with a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcrc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A corner room overlooking Princes Street really is pretty world beating, as Edinburgh is the most beautiful city - and good fun with the Christmas Market and big wheel in the Gardens and the castle lit up at night!! However this is an old building and the room was chilly (it is winter and there was a pretty extreme storm on our first night) and the en suite frankly frigid. The bed was huge and hard (which I like) and the room well appointed if a bit faded. It is not a great hotel for disabled or even poorly abled with only one lift from the first floor and access up stairs from the street (old fashioned once more). Breakfast was not the best I have had - why do hotels think people eat poor bacon and cheap sausages - but was entirely generous and hearty. Not a great advert for the restaurant though... Edinburgh is very expensive and this was very good value and a great location!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Princes Street are probably noisier but the view is a valuable trade off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Defurdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel is in a very good location straight opposite Princes street gardens and the wonderful Christmas market. The hotel though is somewhat tired and in need of some TLC. The room was adequate but dated and could not be described as modern or boutique which is understandable for a traditional hotel,but the carpets and room could generally do with re-decorating. The sleep was very poor with lots of noise from outside between the hours of 11:30 til around 2 am when revelers from the bars are rowdy and loud with one female screaming very loudly when this has finished and you manage to get back to sleep, having got used to the constant stream of cars and taxi's cutting through the access road at the back of the hotel you then are awoken by the bin lorry and the street cleaning machines. We stayed for 2 nights and this happened on both nights so it was not a one off thing. The rooms would benefit from at least having some form of secondary glazing to try to reduce street noise.
Breakfast
The food was of a very good standard.However the service on the first day 30/12/13 was reminiscent of a "Fawlty Towers" episode. After being asked to wait in the bar for an available table (which is acceptable) we were told that a table was ready and seated in the dining room. We sat down and noticed a room key on the table and a handbag on the floor. We told the waitress who moved us to a table which still had the previous occupants dirty plates on it. When the table had been reset our pantomime began. There was very little cereal available but we thought that we would make do with a small portion and then enjoy our cooked breakfast. However when we returned to the servery for our cooked breakfast there were several ingredients not available. There was a man in front of us that was awaiting bacon . This arrived and he moved away. After I took the last available plate from the warmer, I tried to get my breakfast only to find there were no sausages no mushrooms and no beans available. The mushrooms and sausages arrived but I had to wait a further 10 minutes (I actually checked my watch) and ask 2 staff for the Beans which were evidently being "prepared by the chef" . Other people came to the servery whilst I was waiting and joked that I will need a microwave if it takes much longer. Despite this the food was lovely although I ate alone as my wife had finished her breakfast when I eventually sat down for mine.
I feel that I must point out that the waitress clearing the tables was working very hard . But that there should of been more staff in the dining room.

In contrast to this breakfast on the second day 1/12/13 was lovely the service was good and the food could not of been better.

The Christmas market, the shopping, the bars and restaurants were superb. Edinburgh was a great short break. If you are planning a visit try to book a table for a meal at the dome. The Christmas decorations there are breathtaking and worth a visit f only for a cocktail.

I am not generally a moaner or winger but believe in informing future traveler's / visitors of your experience so they can then make informed choices

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,384 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £77 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing