We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, few hitches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #104 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good stay, few hitches”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked rail tickets for my Birthday, on checking i found that i had booked to come home the following day so i needed to book a hotel for the night, i went on to find this hotel and give them a ring, i was quoted £79 for the night, so we booked it, on arrival we found that you had to climb a lot of stairs to get to reception, when we got there we are told are room will not be ready untill 15:00, we left are case and went for a walk, on returning we booked in and went to are room, we booked a standard double which was lovely and clean and comfortable, the only down part was the bathroom it was very compact, my wife is only 5" 4 and she could not lie in the bath, but for one night this was not a problem, we went down to the bar about 18:45 for a quick drink before going out for a meal, and was told by another guest if i wanted a draught beer i would have to wait as they decided to clean the lines of the beers which could have being done earlier in the day. after a good nights sleep we went down for breakfast and was shown to a table and was asked if we wanted tea or coffee, we then went up to the buffett breakfast it was a good choice and was piping hot, the staff at the hotel could have not being any friendlier, we would stay here again but we would asked for a larger bathroom.

Room Tip: Don,t go for a standard double as the bathroom is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDITH056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    829
    427
    138
    132
See reviews for
354
884
176
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Some of the critical comments I have read are a little harsh given the location and overall value of this hotel. It is a little tired and old fashioned, the small double rooms are small but at least I had a bath and you need to negotiate quite a few steps. Set your expectations realistically and enjoy the value and location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zabbar, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

When we arrived at the hotel there are A LOT OF stairs to go up, don't know how this hotel can be wheelchair accessible as the lifts are very narrow as well. We checked in the receptionist was a bit snotty and she didn't explain everything very well to us. We went up to our room and to our dismay if we sneezed in the room we would bump our heads to the wall the room was SO small!! However we did go downstairs and we complained about the size of the room and a free upgrade was given to us which was much more comfortable. So we where quite happy, until breakfast the next morning! Getting breakfast from the hotel is not worth it there are a couple of cheep shops nearby that sell good breakfast's however the hotel's breakfast was of a very poor standard. Also wifi connection is not very strong however it is near impossible to find shops in Edinburgh that have free wifi so 5pounds for 24 hours is not too bad !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maypapilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We booked first and then read some negative trip advisor reviews, so we fully expected to be disappointed, but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find a warm, cosy, spotlessly clean room and friendly staff. The food was good and the hotel showed an awareness of catering for special diets, communicating information about my wife’s need for a gluten free diet to the staff in the restaurant and kitchen, something so many hotels often fail to do. Excellent location, albeit a bit noisy from passing traffic. Great value and we will definitely go back to this hotel whenever we return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanF290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I'll keep this short and sweet.. We paid a little under £300 for 4x 3 course dinners on old years night.. The view from the restaurant was superb onto the 'Princes Street' Party.. I have to say if it wasn't for the New Years celebrations, I wouldn't have been overly happy and accepting with the food we received. It seemed to me like a cheap tasting alternative to what could have potentially been top notch! Following the meal, we needed to relocate to another room so that they could close the 'perfectly located' restaurant, just before the fireworks were due.. All in all, due to the purpose of the night, we all had a great time and enjoyed our time hear.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GavAmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very central and ideal for the station and for cental Edinburgh. First room we were shown to was on the 6th floor overlooking the air-conditioning units etc, the only other option (apparently) was the first floor directly above the traffic lights! The first floor room was larger, very clean but noisy at night - not really a problem as we were expecting it to be busy. The hotel staff were all very pleasant, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was unpleasant, over-cooked and poor quality, we had dinner there one evening which was ok but expensive considering the limited choice and general standard of food. Smokers stand in the hotel entrance and the smell carries right through to the reception. Second night the hotel was noisy with a few groups on stag do/sports outings, it maybe better to stay here mid-week rather than at the weekend. In general, too expensive for the standard/quality of the hotel!

Room Tip: Aim for third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutton_family23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,567 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing