We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room for a night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #101 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A room for a night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I travelled with my partner up to Edinburgh for one night and we decided to stay at the old Waverley for it's central location to the station and shops. We were unable to check until 3pm so were able to leave our bags at the hotel, an earlier check in would have been more desirable though! Our room was quite a small double with a view of Jenners dept. The room was clean and the bathroom immaculate even if on the small side. A hair dryer was included which isn't mentioned on the site but came in handy. We didn't pay for breakfast but it is there if you want it. The only issue I had (thankfully I was aware of thanks to a previous trip advisor r/v) was a £25 deposit which should hopefully be now given back to me. If you have large bags there is a porter who can carry them up the stairs as the only way up to the hotel lobby is up a number of steps. For one night and for the price £54 for the room it was value for money but if I was to stay longer I'd pay more and stay at one of the bigger hotels :).

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 03cockburnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    797
    411
    130
    132
See reviews for
339
859
174
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have stayed at the Old Waverly before. It is located in a prime position on Princess Street, yes it is an older hotel but our room had obviously been recently decorated and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful. We looked at several city centre hotels but this was by far the. Best value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobo121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Excellent location, right on Princes Street only a few steps from Waverley rail station and the bus station, with views across to the Royal Mile and the Castle. The room was adequate, but rather old fashioned and in need of a refresh. We did't eat in, but expired the City.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MyDailyPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Pros: good hotel, reasonably priced in a convenient location. The staff were friendly and helpful. Nice bar with an excellent view from onto the bustling street and environs. Cons: no elevator at front entrance and guests have to climb stairs to the main reception.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CathPrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I am a frequent traveller to Edinburgh but this is the first time of booking into the Old Waverley, I havnt even checked in yet but have rung today to ensure that the two rooms ive booked are as close as possible to one another - party of 5 women travelling together - only to be informed that my 2 rooms are on separate floors. the explanation is they are busy and I didn't request this at the time of booking................errrrrrrr hello I booked them together and paid for both whatever makes someone think that I don't want them at least on the same floor!!!!!!!!! lets just hope this is not a sign of what the weekend will be like, I have had the rooms booked since November 2013

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

A family stay over Hogmanay/New Year 2014. Travelled up to Edinburgh by train and found the hotel very close and convenient to the street party etc. Our en-suite room for 3 persons was 5 floors up with porthole windows overlooking the Princess street Xmas fair and gardens. It was warm and cosy and relatively quiet for the centre of Edinburgh. Some would criticise the decor but we were looking for cleanliness and comfort without any bling. Breakfast and bar meals were excellent value for money - we had all our meals here as service was fast and friendly. The Edinburgh tour buses started off near-by and we could see the castle from our room. A lovely welcoming stay. Many thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: room overlooking Princess Street any Dec 31/Jan 1st to enjoy the atmosphere from a bird's eye vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fandraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed at the Waverley Hotel for a long weekend in Edinburgh and its location (Princes Street) is superb. It's within walking distance of most museums and attractions. It's not fancy but clean, well maintained and with a friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank womble1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing