We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #107 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stopped at the this hotel at easter time, the location is very good just across the road was the airlink bus and the new tram stops (£4 on the bus to the airport and £7 on the tram both run every 10 mins) By taxi about £19 + tip. The food was good and the room good with great views from the windows of the castle and park. A good value for money hotel would stop there again.

Room Tip: front bedroom for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,089 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I booked this hotel before reading all the terrible reviews on here so I was kind of worried about what to expect.

But this hotel is totally fine. It's a low budget-middle range hotel with average facilities, nothing flash, nothing missing, the bar and restaurant has an awesome view, the breakfast is fine and the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Location was minutes away from the Edinburgh train station, room was very spacious and clean with a large bathroom, which was rare in hotels in the UK for the price we paid. The staff were friendly, breakfast was delicious and is centrally located to everything that we wanted to do in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nepali_Kancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I liked this hotel for its central position in Edinburgh, and the fact that I could lay in bed and look at a view of the castle. It's in a good location for the castle,Waverley station, shopping and galleries etc,the room was spotless and large with a good sized bathroom, the bed was large and comfortable and we also had a decent flat screen tv.
The room did not have double glazing but was fitted with old fashioned sash windows the reason for this is that the building is probably listed.
I would recommend this hotel as it is great value and not a chain run box ....and breakfast is good as well.
I did have some small niggles...£25 deposit on arrival and I struggled with the wifi but other people seemed to be fine, I do think in this day and age wifi should be free as it would attract more customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor or above, facing Princess street or Jenners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loloicaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I visited with my daughter for her birthday the room was not the biggest I been in but it was spotlessly clean with a newly refurbed large bathroom and comfy beds and it was nice and warm ( not overly so ) and cosy .situated just across from waverly station it is in a perfect location for everything. would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janicedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The General Manager can also say this is a false or malicious review. It is not however and the FULL booking details, confirmation and complaint letters to the hotel can be produced, which I am more than happy to provide to anyone who is unsure. As can the written statement from the hotel given at the time.
Please note there is an "internal policy" that you must pay a deposit for room keys - the hotel staff state they do not have to tell anyone about this and if you cant pay it right away they refuse you a room.
I would never book this or any other hotel in the group again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank Clifford L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Refused a disabled ex serviceman his room today because he didn't have his wallet with him (although he would have had it later) to pay an additional £25 deposit that they make no mention of in their terms and conditions.

Please note that this room was a prepaid room so nothing else was to be paid. Staff rude to the extreme not to mention condescending. Having stayed in over 300 hotels, I have never came across this before.

Room Tip: Book with a hotel that knows the meaning of the words customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sunsetrep79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#62 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing