We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, Clean, Good Staff, Good Breakfasts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #101 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central, Clean, Good Staff, Good Breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Nice room, good view, good breakfast, good staff. on the saturday morning there was a mariachi band playing outside at 8:30am but it is the main tourist area in Scotland and it is so central, all round good hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Brendan,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you think fondly of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by a mariachi band, however there was nothing that we could do to prevent it. We hope that this incident did not alter your views of Old Waverley Hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Scotland's capital.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    797
    411
    130
    132
See reviews for
339
859
174
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Good value in Scotland. Easy access to the train station, center of town, easy access to the town tour buses. Great breakfast, nice comfortable room, good service and a great view if you face to castle. Enjoyed the stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 300mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are glad that we could contributed to your enjoyable stay in our beautiful city. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was an excellent hotel in a prime spot on the main Edinburgh thoroughfare of Princes Street. Whilst the room had no natural light, this mattered little considering we were out most of day and hence only used our room for well earned rest. The room itself was adequately spacious, with all facilities working (TV, air conditioning etc) and an extremely comfortable and enormous king size bed. The hotel itself was very well maintained, and in a superb spot so that breakfast in the eating area looked out across Princes Street, with marvellous views of the Castle to the right, and the Scott memorial immediately opposite. And plentiful local buses just over the road. The food was excellent in the Restaurant, and suitably priced. And just as importantly, the service was very good, with always a friendly person at the reception to provide advice and directions when asked, as well as the customary in house services. The only minus point possibly was the fact that you have to climb a flight of stairs to get to the reception and lift area, which wasn't ideal if you didn't know and had trouble walking up stairs. But all in all, I would happily and strongly recommend this hotel to other travellers, and should we frequent the city again I wouldn't bother to hunt around for an alternative place to stay !

Room Tip: Not all rooms have natural light so if that's important for you, ensure you request this. nad i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Nigel,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We really appreciate your favourable comments about our staff, food quality and our property. Please be sure that we will share your review with the rest of our team. It is with great pleasure to hear that we have met your high expectations and that you would recommend our hotel to other travellers.
Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very good location and very friendly staff, a bit noisy street by the hotel.
Nice with some bagpipe music in the morning.
Walking distance to everything I wanted to see.
Not so far to walk to the castle.

Room Tip: Take a room with view against the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobbeLarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Tobbe

Thank you for your great review and for choosing us during your stay in Edinburgh. Like you have pointed out in your comments the location is perfect for anyone who would like to stay in city centre and explore our beautiful city on foot. Because we are located on the main street of Edinburgh, we cannot control the noise, but would like to suggest to you to choose a room at the back of the hotel next time you will be planning to stay with us.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Was not expecting great things from this rather genteelly shabby hotel. In fact it surprised me. Not a great reception at check in. Bookings done through an agent and said agent had not yet paid for the room. To be fair it was all rather last minute. Manager sorted it out quickly. Room was a reasonable size with pleasant views over Princes Street. Clean, good bathroom, average decor. Spent two comfortable nights. Bar staff very friendly. Breakfast good. Would recommend this hotel. Very helpful chap carried bags down the stairs to street level. Hotel is situated on the first floor, no lift to reception. Understandable in a hotel of this period. If you like character you'll like this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room on at least the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Jancy,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. It is disappointing to hear that you think of our hotel as 'shabby', while it is a historic building turned into a hotel in 1853! Unfortunately we cannot take responsibility for an agent, as you haven't booked directly with us, but we are sad to hear that you had an unpleasant experience. We are happy to see though that you had a comfortable stay and would recommend us in the future.

Thank you once again for choosing us as your accommodation in Edinburgh and we hope we will welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Historical 3 star hotel in great location. My room was large with great view of Edinburgh from Princes Street. I was 3rd floor and didn't find the traffic noise a problem. Clean room, comfortable bed and good bathroom with everything you need. Typical of old premises, floor on a slope and creaking could be heard from overhead floor boards. All added to the ambience! Best part was very friendly staff, nice food at the bar and room service and good breakfast. My bag was carried for me to the street and all in all I would definitely recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: I would want a view of a Princes Street. it was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alvarezgail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your recognition of our staff and please be sure that we will share your comments with the rest of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Came up to Edinburgh for a couple of midweek nights on a shopping trip and stayed here for the location on Princes Street. excellent views, and right next door to Jenners store!

Access is through an unprepossessing door from the street, as the ground floor of the building is occupied by shops. There are two flights of steep stairs up to reception on the first floor, and guests must carry up their own luggage, which we found a bit of a struggle. Once there, there is a lift up to other floors.

The room was comfortable. We had booked a room with a view of Princes Street, but we had to lean into a narrow window to see anything much beyond the railway station. There is a good buffet breakfast and a very comfortable lounge bar.

It's not a luxury hotel, but it's inexpensive for a capital city, and I'd recommend it as comfortable and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view. Get into the breakfast room early, as there's a corner table with one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing