We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why no free wi-fi?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #103 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Worthington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
204 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Why no free wi-fi?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Old Waverly for two nights and found the location most conventient. I didn't mind that the elevator starts on the 1st floor ( think 2nd ) and goes up from there. It is an old building that they keep in acceptable order. The breakfast buffet was very good. What bugged me is that you have to pay extra for wi-fi service! So we went to Starbucks and got it for free. This hotel should not see charging for wi-fi as a profit center!

Room Tip: Ask for FREE wi-fi service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your recent review of the Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. In regards to the internet charge- if you book directly with the hotel www.oldwaverley.co.uk you get FREE wifi.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our city!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    806
    418
    132
    132
See reviews for
342
868
174
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel near the station the rooms were very clean and comfortable, the staff in the reception very helpful and also in the bar and restaurant, the bar meals were excellent value, couldn't fault it all

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for your kind review; I am happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first visit to Edinburgh and the Old Waverly. I'd have to give it a mostly positive, but somewhat mixed review.

First, the positives-
-Great location just across the bridge from the old city and Royal Mile, but within easy walking distance of the train station, sightseeing buses, a major shopping center and lots of restaurants and pubs.
-Accommodating staff.
-Updated bathrooms (one of the best showers we had while in the UK).

Now, the concerns-
-It took three emails prior to our visit before someone from the hotel responded to our request to confirm our reservation.
-If you travel by car (probably not a good idea in Edinburgh) be prepared to park blocks away at a shopping center and carry your luggage from there. If you come by train or bus, you can arrive right nearby.
-Don't know if our room was typical or not (we got a cheap rate through a travel website), but it was really, really small.
-There's no elevator from the street level entrance to the lobby/registration area. Getting the luggage up those stairs was a bit of a chore for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPofSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had lunch in the lounge bar of this hotel on Wednesday and found it to be a hidden gem. It was lovely and quiet and yet you could look out on to the bustle of Prices St and watch the world go by. The food was excellent and the service first class. It was just a lovely place to sit and eat a leisurely lunch without being hastled to hurry up. will definitely return next time I visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking time in reviewing our Abbotsford Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a rather old hotel but with comfortable rooms and beds. If you do not need air conditioning in the summer, you've got it made here. Great value for your money. Breakfast nice and suficiente. Rooms comfy. Only drag is the first set of stairs with no elevador to the lobby. But the hotel does send someone for your luggage. Location superb!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monaguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Having not actually stayed (I checked out due to lice on the bed), upon arrival in was greeted by the "manager". She requested I swiped a card or handed over £25, having stayed in many places I just refused as I was going straight to bed, she then refused to check me in !! After some discussion I eventually checked into a room. I lifted the blanket it get into the bed and there was lice on the pillow. I called reception and the "manager" appeared again. She looked at the lice told me it was "only a woodlice" and that she would get rid of it !!! when I asked to be moved room I was told it was fully booked. I had to beg for another room but eventually checked out, where I was refused a refund !!! I would love someone to contact me to resolve this issue as when I asked for manager contact number I was told they wouldn't give me a refund either !

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
12 Thank Kyra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

As the title says,this is an old building but very quirky,clean and comfortable,because of its age there are a few creaky floorboards and some of the sash windows are painted so much you can't open them,we had air conditioning in the room so we were able to keep the windows shut which is good because Princes Street is very busy and lively out there,the bathroom was pristine clean and looked new. The room itself was a good size with a king size bed that was very comfortable and well furnished.
Our evening dinner was delicious and cooked to perfection and the service first class. Breakfast was a buffet and you have a great selection of which you could have as much as you could eat so be careful if you are counting the calories.
Overall I think three stars is about right and being a minute away from the station it is central to everything. There are a number of steps leading to the reception area making it very restrictive to wheel chair users and people with physical disabilities. The staff were all friendly and helpful and I would certainly stay at The Old Waverley again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Bernie,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor! We are very glad to see that we have met your expectations and we do hope you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,703 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing