We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #103 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Old Waverley has a fantastic location - in the middle of Princes Street and just 200 metres from the railway station. You can easily visit most of the interesting sites on foot from it. Lovely dining room with views of the castle; we had dinner there 1 night and it was the best meal of the holiday. The bar serves Bellhaven ales but, unfortunately, I found them much too cold.

Room Tip: Best rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your positive review of our property, I am more than glad to see that you found our location suitable for your needs.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    806
    418
    132
    132
See reviews for
342
868
174
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Location fantastic - but nearly everything else lets this hotel down, no free wifi , the additional deposit (and note Leon Knightley below who has never responded to a complaint letter states they do not charge the card. This is a blatant lie - if you do not hava a card you must pay cash and if they do not charge then why are so many guests being told they are.

Never been asked in hotels around the world for any money up front when you are not planning on using any extras or paying as you go. Really dispaointed with the service given what could be a gem is sadly not!

The indigo round the corner is only slightly more expensive has free wifi, air con , higher standards and does not ask for cash depsosits!

Room Tip: Book an alternative that knows the meaning of the word customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterTCL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at this lovely hotel in the last weekend of June 2014 with my family for a leisure weekend in Edinburgh.
The entrance is just across Princes Street, (correct spelling with just one 'S'), from Waverley train station.
The entrance is a doorway between shops and the hotel is situated above the shops overlooking Princes Street, the gardens and castle. It is immediately opposite the Sir Walter Scott monument.
Our room was modern, very clean and comfortable. There was a little noise from outside during the night but that is to be expected in a city.
All of the staff from reception to cleaning to dining room were exceptionally pleasant and helpful.
We had breakfast at the hotel which was buffet style; there was lots of food on offer and you will not leave hungry!
We didn't use the small bar or eat in the hotel in the evening so I am unable to comment on these except to say that the dining room and bar area are both very pleasant and comfortable with nice views.
The hotel operate a facility whereby you can leave your cases and baggage in a secure room on the morning on which you check-out. You can then come back later that day and pick them up. This allows you to make full use of your last day in the city without being laden-down with bags, etc.
I would recommend this lovely hotel and will certainly return.
A big thank you to all of the hard-working staff and best wishes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Jimmy,

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel. I am very please to hear that our hotel has met your high standards, and that you favour our rooms and other facilities. Please be sure that I will share your positive comments with the rest of our team.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
205 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Old Waverly for two nights and found the location most conventient. I didn't mind that the elevator starts on the 1st floor ( think 2nd ) and goes up from there. It is an old building that they keep in acceptable order. The breakfast buffet was very good. What bugged me is that you have to pay extra for wi-fi service! So we went to Starbucks and got it for free. This hotel should not see charging for wi-fi as a profit center!

Room Tip: Ask for FREE wi-fi service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your recent review of the Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. In regards to the internet charge- if you book directly with the hotel www.oldwaverley.co.uk you get FREE wifi.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our city!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel near the station the rooms were very clean and comfortable, the staff in the reception very helpful and also in the bar and restaurant, the bar meals were excellent value, couldn't fault it all

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for your kind review; I am happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first visit to Edinburgh and the Old Waverly. I'd have to give it a mostly positive, but somewhat mixed review.

First, the positives-
-Great location just across the bridge from the old city and Royal Mile, but within easy walking distance of the train station, sightseeing buses, a major shopping center and lots of restaurants and pubs.
-Accommodating staff.
-Updated bathrooms (one of the best showers we had while in the UK).

Now, the concerns-
-It took three emails prior to our visit before someone from the hotel responded to our request to confirm our reservation.
-If you travel by car (probably not a good idea in Edinburgh) be prepared to park blocks away at a shopping center and carry your luggage from there. If you come by train or bus, you can arrive right nearby.
-Don't know if our room was typical or not (we got a cheap rate through a travel website), but it was really, really small.
-There's no elevator from the street level entrance to the lobby/registration area. Getting the luggage up those stairs was a bit of a chore for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPofSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had lunch in the lounge bar of this hotel on Wednesday and found it to be a hidden gem. It was lovely and quiet and yet you could look out on to the bustle of Prices St and watch the world go by. The food was excellent and the service first class. It was just a lovely place to sit and eat a leisurely lunch without being hastled to hurry up. will definitely return next time I visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking time in reviewing our Abbotsford Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,698 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing