We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #106 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel is looking tired. Arrived in the early hours of the morning and were dumped in a twin room (having asked for a double) under the eaves. hot and noisy - no fans , no aircon., no fridge or minibar. Breakfast poor if you're vegetarian. Staff totally disinterested and casual. Little choice except for full English - no fruit - only grapefruit - no veggy options.

Reception staff were nice and helpful but hotel feels as if management is very hands off. Attention to detail is poor and if it wasn't for the great location I'd say you could do a lot better in Edinburgh for the money.

Room Tip: Get there early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a very comfortable room (spotless bathroom) with a fantastic view of the Scott memorial and Princes Street.
The hotel offered everything you would expect from a 3 star establishment. The breakfast was adequate while the staff were friendly and efficient, if a little overstretched in the restaurant in the morning.

Room Tip: Pay extra for rooms with Princes Street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Although the location of this hotel is great, the facilities are quite depressing. Our first room didn't even have a closet. Everything needs refurbishing. There is no business center. Breakfast was good, and showers had nice water pressure. When I booked online, wifi was included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jd2257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

You can't beat the location - right across from Waverly station on Princes Street. Our room even overlooked the Sir Walter Scott monument and Edinburgh castle. We had a big room with a big bathroom for European hotels. Princes Street can be noisy with traffic and a bag piper across the street. Our room let in a lot of light so we used our sleep masks. The staff were helpful but the breakfast was nothing special. Our breakfast was included but we ate the rest of our meals out. Also the wifi wasn't free and was quite expensive - something I find unacceptable since even the public buses in Edinburgh offer free wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is dated but next to everything. We were only in scotland for two days so this hotel was picked for numerous reasons. We arrived in edinburgh in the morning so we took the tram which just started from the airport to princess street only 100 feet from the hotel and only 5 pounds per person. Great so no worry about busses and taxis figured out where to go. Also the hotel is right across from waverly bridge were the hop on and off bus tours start maybe 50 feet. The buses are the best way to travel. now about the hotel we went in june when the weather was cool which was great because the hotel doesn't have a.c. and you can open the windows. During the summer could be a little hot. When you book get the breakfast it was wonderful. You are next to everything princes street with the gardens the arches one in front of the hotel and other a block to the back of the hotel. We didn't eat dinner their but since it's in the middle of the shopping district there are restaurants everywhere. But if you are on quick trip in edinburgh this is the hotel to go to you will not be disappointed. Sorry they do have a checked baggage room so is you do arrive early you can check in and they will hold your bag while you sightsee until your check in time at 3 pm. Also the same when you checkout they will hold you bag while you sightsee and can get it when your ready to go back to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest

I would like to express many thank for your positive feedback about our hotel. Great suggestions on how to get to our hotel from the airport and the train station. Due to the fact that our hotel is a historic building which was transformed in 1856 into a hotel, we are not allowed to have air conditioning in all of the rooms, but we do provide fans for guests who feel that the weather is too warm.
Than you once again for taking time in writing the review and we do hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Location, location, location. This hotel is located just across the street from the rail station, and it is in walking distance of stops for the new trams that go to the airport. It is an easy walk to the tourist sights, but not in the thick of the craziness along the royal mile. About a block north is Rose Street which is pedestrian only and has a supermarket as well as many pubs. There are lots of shops on Princes Street as well. Breakfast in the hotel was good - typical of UK style. Our room was a standard double facing Princes Street, and it was quite spacious with a great view. The bathroom was decent sized as well. We had no issue, but if you are a late sleeper, Princes street can get a bit noisy so if you don't want to get woken by bagpipes you may want a room on the other side. I do agree with other reviews regarding the lack of free WiFi. We ended up paying for 24 hours but then discovered that we could only connect one device at a time which would have been nice to know ahead of time (we kept kicking each other off until we realized this). But overall, it was a nice stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoppy_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time in reviewing our hotel. I would like to express my thanks about your favourable comments about our amazing location, and great views.
I would like to address the issue of the wifi, if you book your stay directly with the hotel www.oldwaverley.co.uk the wifi is FREE and you will not be charged for its use during your stay.
Thank you for finding our hotel worthy recommendation and would like to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Old Waverley has a fantastic location - in the middle of Princes Street and just 200 metres from the railway station. You can easily visit most of the interesting sites on foot from it. Lovely dining room with views of the castle; we had dinner there 1 night and it was the best meal of the holiday. The bar serves Bellhaven ales but, unfortunately, I found them much too cold.

Room Tip: Best rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Michael,

Thank you for your positive review of our property, I am more than glad to see that you found our location suitable for your needs.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,385 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing