We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auld Reekie's auld hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #104 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Amersham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Auld Reekie's auld hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Bang in the middle of Princess Street must be the prime location, but this hotel has had it. It is tired, old and dying. The bar, food and decor is dead already. The demolition team on the building next door have got the wrong building. The noise of drills and heavy cranes chewing their way through the building immediately outside our porthole window (room 167) was unnerving at 0500hrs and all day well into the evening. However, it is the festival after all and £188 for us for one night (my wife and me) is maybe cruising close to rip off. But it is the time of comedy at the Fringe so we were quite cheerful about the limits of this awful place. At reception, when checking in and having already paid the full price days before by credit card they haughtily demanded my card details to hold in lieu of taking £25 if I lost my key!!! Or maybe smash a vase or loose the soap or some such fancy. Outrageous and I even question the legality of this action. I asked for the manager who was a charming young woman, as all the staff seemed to be, She explained it was "policy" to commandeer my credit card for fourteen days to swipe off £25 if lost my key. I have to say the money was not taken off there and then but this is utter nonsense and I have never had such action before, anywhere in the world. If Wee Eck wins I'll drop him a line. Sorry Old Waverley, we won't be back. Your done here.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing Princess Street, it might be a bit noisy but not as noisy as a demol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I am sorry to hear that this guest was disturbed by noise from the works in St Andrew Square - we have addressed this complaint with the contractors directly who have confirmed they will be more considerate of their neighbors and will curtail works in unsociable hours
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    816
    423
    136
    132
See reviews for
347
878
175
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The old Waverley in situated on princes street which is walking distance to all the venues at the fringe. The hotel is in need of an update in regard to the decorating. The breakfast was very tasty, especially the haggis, but the only moan was the bread, which was of a poor quality. We had a cream tea, which still used the same awful bread, which was a shame.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel is situated on the second floor and there is only staircase that would get you up to the lobby area.

During check-in process, we were shocked that WIFI is not free of charge - all the B&B or hotels we stayed in scotland had all provided free WiFI, except this one :(

The room was dated, windows could not be opened as there was construction going on the building next door. Shower was bad, water running very slowly. There was no proper closet. We could not wait to leave next morning!

This hotel does locate in an excellent location, 5 mins to Royal Mile, but I would choose another hotel over this.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank QQlovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

spent two nights... had one very good room -- spacious and splendid castle view, a not so good room, small and no view

-- very old styled hotel, quite old facility, no sports facility

-- three star room, as expected

-- very good location -- close to the train station

-- quite pricey during the festival

overall, good for short stay when the location / convenience is a priority

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

First off great location for the Fringe festival but very expensive for what you get. The rooms were small. No place to put our clothes, no drawers, except for a closet with four hangars, not even coat hooks. The most annoying part though, was they charged for Internet service. Really! Come to the 21st century. You can get free internet on the buss.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

a hotel in the heart of Edinburgh city. The rooms are small but they are ok. Its just an overpriced hotel. The wifi is not free and you have to pay for it and this is something that it should be avoided.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chariton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. It is unfortunate to see that you found our hotel overpriced, however we operate on standard rates that are higher in the months in July and August , similarly as the rest of the hotels in the world. We provide free wifi if you book directly with the hotel and it seems like you have booked our accommodation through a travel agent or other booking site. Thank you once again for your review and I do hope you had an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at The Old Waverley Hotel during the Edinburgh Festival. I presume that it must be a listed building as the construction and interior looked quite ancient including single glazed wooden sash windows which let in the Princes Street noise. The room and fittings were 'old world' and didn't reflect the price of £206.10 a night for a twin. The bathroom however was modern with a very powerful shower. Wifi access was free if one booked on line, otherwise I gathered that a charge was made. The breakfast room was very bright and overlooked Princes Street at first floor level giving every opportunity for people watching on this very busy road. Buffet breakfast was excellent as was the attention of the waiting staff who, even at peak breakfast times dealt with any request very quickly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing