We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #104 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A great location and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My husband acompanied me on a work trip to Edinburgh and so we thought we'd make a night of it!
he entrance is somewhat understated given that the hotel starts ont he 1st floor above the shops, but it is in an excellent location - un beatable!

Our room was small but well equipt, with flat screen tv and newly done bathroom- great power type shower just a shame about the shower curtain, a glass screen would've been alot more efficient and finished it off much better.

We didn't use the bar having read that it was a bit pricey an instead went out and about in Edinburgh.

Given that it is right in the centre of everything we didn;t hear an noise etc and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salnpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldwaverley, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2010
Many thanks for a positive review, we will certainly look into the practicalities of installing glass shower screens
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    829
    427
    138
    132
See reviews for
354
884
176
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We paid 100 for two nights with a breakfast. Room was clean and refurbished, stuff friendly, lokation great.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yevgen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Hotel is located just across the road from Waverley Station, and we had a brilliant view of the Castle and Princes St Gardens. Our room 614 was very spacious, clean and the bathroom has obviously recently been updated.

The reception staff were polite and friendly and very welcoming. The bar was also resonably priced for the centre of Edinburgh. The breakfast was excellent and although buffet style the chef was out talking to the customers and was prepared to make other breakfast items that were not on the buffet. The waiting staff were very responsive and curteous. Overall a very enjoyable stay and very good value for money. We will be back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

(Visiting from the United States) I had a good experience at the hotel and enjoyed my visit to Edinburgh. The staff was friendly and very eager to help us. The room was up to US standards...very spacious and somewhat modern. Only complaint was the cost of food in the restaurant and drinks at the bar. Location is excellent and price is great!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2009

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh. We could not fault it, our room was clean and comfortable, and we were impressed with the nice flat screen television, we had a brilliant view of the market and lights on Princes Street. We had been a little worried as we had read some negative reports, but I would say to anyone that the Waverley is excellent, and the position could not be better. We found the staff very helpful and we were pleased that they were able to store our bags for us on the last day before we took our train home. We will definitely return as Edinburgh has so much to offer in things to do.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindafromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

An affordable hotel close to Waverley railway station and Princess Street Gardens in Edinburgh.

The hotel was very clean and the bedrooms appear to have been recently refurbished and our room had a great view of Princess Street Gardens, the pre-Christmas celebrations and the Wallace Monument. The bar provides a comfortable place to sit and chat with friends over a drink or coffee with bar meals being available (although we didn't have time to eat here).

Breakfast was good. All staff were polite and helpful. There was a real mix of ages and nationalities among the guests.

The hotel entrance from Princess Street involved stairs so I wouldn't advise anyone unable to climb stairs to stay here... once inside the hotel has a single lift to bedrooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaeltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Stayed in the Old Waverley on 3rd Dec 2009. There were a few people checking in at the same time as us and the staff were quick and efficient. The room (206) was spacious and clean. We had a 6ft bed with a sofa and chair, dressing table etc.It was well stocked with tea and coffee. There was a big plasma TV on the wall. The hotel did have the pong from the soap shop/factory underneath so if you don't like pot pourri don't stay here. It is centrally located. The breakfast was excellent and we ate overloking Princes Street, the High Court and the Castle. What a view. The one down I have with this hotel is the bar prices. Even by Edingurgh city centre prices they are extreme. £5,45 for a glass of wine that you pay £5 a bottle for in the supermarket and £4 a pint for possibily the worst pint of Tennents I've ever tasted (and I drink Tennents). On saying that next time I'll still stay here and NOT use the bar.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,570 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing