We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.. average Hotel... unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #107 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We got a good deal and thus decided to stay in this very centrally located Hotel (Right on the princess street overlooking the Castle. Luckily we got a room with a good view of the castle. The room was very comfortable with a nice bed and a big screen TV. Its just that the staff didn't seem very friendly. The man at the porters dropped my wife's laptop bag and didn't bother apologising. the staff at the reception were not too friendly as well. Since we didn't need much service anyway... and only needed a place to crash after the entire day out, it was nice. The breakfast was average. An important thing to note that their reception and lifts are on the first floor. So you need to drag/lift your luggage up a flight of about 10-15 stairs. That was just a big challenging for us as we had a heavy suitcase. If you manage to get a bargain on this, its totally worth it just for its convenient location.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Holiday_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,766 - 1,772 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2010

I have just come home from a 3 night break at The Old Waverley. You couldn't ask for a better location, directly across the road from Waverley station and the bus stop from the airport. We had a lovely room overlooking Princes Street on the 4th floor, with amazing views to the castle in one direction and Arthur's seat in the other. The room was clean, with a new flat screen TV and the large bathroom. We were greeted each morning by polite and friendly staff in the breakfast room and there was a good selection to choose from.

Unfortunately, the weather was not the great, but it was pleasing to know that we had a nice comfortable room and warm bath to come back to each night.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyVactions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

we went to Edinburgh to two nights to do some sightseeing. Waverley is a perfect hotel in a perfect location for short breaks. it is located just at the heart of Edinburgh, very close to all main points of interest. Tourist information is just beside the hotel, same as bus stop to the airport. Room at first might look a bit dated, but infainess this hotel was build and working since 1883, by the way bathrooms are very much new, same as huge plazma TV on the wall. Absolutelly amazing views from the window, on the castle and old town. They serve very good food as well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luiblui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed at the Old Waverley for one night in a junior double room. We checked in an hour earlier and luckily our room was ready. We were aware that the room would be small (it was a junior room) but it wasn't that bad. The sheets were clean and the bathroom was big and modern. The bed was not very big but ok for a night or two. Breakfast is good but there aren't many food options. However breakfast is served in a very nice room that overlooks Princes street's gardens. The location is excellent, ideal for a short city break, literally in the heart of the city. We paid 55 pounds for one night incl. breakfast, and I think it was a good value for money, I don't think I would pay more for this room. I would recommend this hotel but I would advise you not to expect much, the hotel is not posh, contrary to the pictures you see on the website.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sotiria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

what a lovely hotel, read the reviews about an "over-powering smell of soap throughout the hotel" , was in fact a shop at the entrance called lush and it smelt lovely ,no prob whatsoever. The staff were very polite and friendly, the room was very comfortable.Central location very handy for the railway stations and buses. Breakfast was very nice plenty of it . Would definitely stop there again .

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Enjoyed our stay very much. Freindly staff & a very nice room, comfortable bed and a very plush ensuite what more could you ask for. Breakfast was great full English/Scottish help your-self well cooked & piping hot! (only draw back with help your-self with me is I tend to eat too much). We liked it so much that we intend to come again in May with my relatives from Australia & can't wait!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmt3587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

When we arrived at the hotel we were pleasantly surprised as we booked it online: it is on the corner of Princes street and close to everything that's nice and whatever you need. The member of staff that welcomed us was a bit 'inbetween'. Not unfriendly, but not the warmest welcome we've had (we travel through the UK and stay over in hotels or B&B's about once every 2 months on average and eat out a lot). Everything looked very nice and posh and for the money we thought we'd found a bargain!! But unfortunately not. Our room had a view on a brick wall, fire escape stairs and other strangely blocked off windows. Although we wanted non-smoking, the room smelled terribly of smoke. Being a smoker myself, you'd think I wouldn't mind, but it was awful and the smell went into our clothes as well. It really was quite sickly when you first entered the room.
The bed had a 'lovely' stain in the white sheets, the room was tiny with not a lot of space to move.. all in all I think the only nice thing was the shower. We stayed for one night and I would have complained if we would've stayed any longer.
The evening we arrived we went out for dinner and came back for a glass of wine (6 pounds each!) and I was asked to pay by credit card. Neither of us have one and they seemed to enjoy making an issue out of that. The breakfast the next day was.. odd. English/Scottish breakfast, just without the beans, most the bacon wasn't cooked, there was no sauce provided and I wouldn't recommend the coffee either. The place is clearly run by Polish/Russian people, I'm a foreigner myself (Dutch), but I do feel that either the Scots could've done a way better job at it or the owners/manager/kitchen staff/all members of staff could've done a better job at their research in how a Scottish/English breakfast should consist of.

If you're only after a roof above your head and a shower and don't care about any form of quality standards, this is the place. But personally I feel that when you pay about £60, you should get more for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldwaverley, General Mansger at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2010

Whilst we at the Old Waverley are naturally disappointed at this review, we are still grateful for this guest taking the time to share his experiences. However, if any guest should ever have a negative experience at the hotel, no matter how rare this is, it is important they share it with us there and then as we will be able to fix things immediately. If this guest was unhappy with his room we would have been more than happy to quickly arrange an alternative. Smoking is not permitted in the Old Waverley Hotel and is in fact illegal, and all are rooms are no smoking, and therefore cannot smell of smoke. With regard to the comment on the nationality of staff, the Revenue Manager, the Head Chef, the Housekeeper and I are all Scottish, and we are supported by staff from all over Europe, as you would find in all the best International Hotels. We welcome the diversity of our staff and have found that because of this, we can offer the very best in Scottish Hospitality as detailed in all the other reviews on this page.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,737 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing