We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special- Overpriced!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #107 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Great location right next to the train staion. Rooms tiny -No wardrobe only a clothes rail!!
Tired but clean.
Very very average.

Breakfast ok - buffet style.

All foreign staff no scottish people to serve or we never came across them - We paid £240 for 2 nights and weve had better at a Premier Inn - fresher rooms and better facilites.
Personally i would not stay again as you can get better for a fraction of the price - its just getting booked in these popular bidget hotels - they are basic but good!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lgateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,756 - 1,762 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

This hotel is excellent value for money, even based solely on location. It is literally across the road from the train station and has views of the castle and the Old Town. The rooms were quite large for the UK, and the bathrooms seemed newly renovated. The service was prompt at the front desk, and there was an elevator (lift) to the upper floors for those who needed it, especially with large amounts of luggage. We didn't partake of the attached restaurant, but there are many other options for food nearby. Also nearby is the main Tourist Information Centre and several major bus stops, for travel away from the city centre and for bus tours of the town. My only warning is to make sure you are clear with what you book, we booked a double room and were given one with three singles. We were also required to leave our room key at the desk when we left, I'm not sure if that's a usual process but it was a little hassle to have to ask the front desk staff for our room key each time.

In conclusion: I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Edinburgh, especially those arriving by train or plane (the airport shuttle stops right outside) and those wanting easy access to shopping and attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcmrbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Old Waverley was fantastic. We could not have chosen a better location or hotel. It was spotlessly clean and food was superb. One member of our party has dietary problems and the Polish barman, Luckaz saw to it that her needs were met. . He was very friendly and extremely helpful.An asset to any hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terryCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

This hotel is very convenient for the railway station, and the airport bus.

When I stayed the tram works did cause some noise, but the work was almost complete so things should be back to normal now.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This hotel is ideally placed its a stones throw away from the train station. It has a great view of the castle. The staff were very pleasant and the hotel is very clean and tidy and it smells clean as soon as you walk in the front door.
The rooms are very nice with a spacious bed and a large widescreen television on the wall. The bathroom was also very nice with a good shower and heated towel rails.
I had a great night out in Edinburgh its a great place with lots of great pubs. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoobydooDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We stayed at the Old Waverley as returning guests travelling by rail to Waverley Station, (rail travel always booked in advance at very cheap rates) the hotel is simply a 2 minute walk up the slight hill towards Princes Street and crossing the road. The hotel is situated above a Lush soap shop and the smell of the Lush products does permutate throughout the hotel. We paid extra for a front room overlooking Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle, having had, on our three previous trips there, a similar room. It is an ideal location, the airport bus terminates at the railway station, and, being on Princes Street it is located on the main street and a short walk away from any of the shops, or, 'Old Town' and the Castle. Despite having a room at the front with 100's of buses 24/7 outside it is remarkably quiet inside. We were on a B & B deal, breakfast is, as a norm nowadays, on a self service basis where you can help yourself to as much, or a little, as you wish. If you wish your eggs to be anything different to scrambled you simply have to as and they will be done individually. The rooms have individual heat settings, a bonus in freezing January! The public areas of the hotel, are, in our view, looking a little tired, having said that, we will return, despite, on arrival at 2 pm (check in at 3 pm) to be told, without any checking to see if the room was ready that we could not book in until 3pm but could leave our luggage there (which we did and returned after 3 pm).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himself2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The room was adequate albeit a junior small interior one. As we were only staying one night it was fine. The breakfast service however was appalling, the food unappetising, the waiting staff dour, mouldy bread, green scramble eggs, dried up sausages and beans. Kitchen staff were wearing soiled clothes and some were not wearing protective clothing. Duty manager was not surprised at my complaints. Never again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowanHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldwaverley, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2010

Apologies to this guest for any perceived lack of standards but I feel it neccessary to point out some basic facts. All our bread is purchased fesh daily and all food used is fresh. We have a rigorous foodhandling procedure recognised by the local authority. All staff wear protective clothing when neccessary and are trained throuoghly in food handling regulations. No Duty Manager is can recall such a complaint but I am happy to addresss should the guest contact me directly.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#59 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,737 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing