We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay our favourite in Edinburgh.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We have stayed at the Knight Residence each time we have visited Edinburgh over the last 10 years and would not consider staying anywhere else. A good location which some great restaurants in the area. We like Il Castillo and also The Jasmine Restaurant both just a short walk away. The accommodation is perfect and always a nice touch to have bread, butter,jams, milk, tea, coffee etc., in the kitchen.
The staff are second to none and could not be faulted as usual.
We have always like the fact there is secure parking at this establishment, but have to say we were disappointed this year to find that they are now charging £6.00 per night to park and feel this is an extra payment for people who live, or are touring in the U.K. We are sad that yet another great place to stay feels they have to extract the last penny from the motorist. This is the first year they have ever charged and we cannot understand why they feel the need to do this.

Room Tip: As for a room on 5th Floor, so no noise from the local clubs in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightResidence, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear Frances-Jane,

First may I thank you for your continued loyalty to The Knight Residence, it is a true compliment that you would not consider staying anywhere else.

I am sorry you feel our parking charges penalise the motorist and would like to explain our reasoning in introducing charges. There are costs associated with owning, lighting, securing and maintaining a car park and in October 2010 we decided it would be fairer if these costs were met by only those guests who use the car park. On-street parking around The Knight Residence costs £2 per hour and we feel our charge of £6 for 24 hours is very reasonable. This covers the costs of the car park and produces a surplus which is used to plant native trees in Scotland. Since charges began we have planted over 300 trees in Perthshire. At the same time, because the costs of running the car park are now being met directly by those that use it, apartment charges have not risen as they otherwise might have. We believe this is fairer all round.

We have also introduced a loyalty programme which rewards guests who book with The Knight Residence - these rewards are generous enough to mitigate the cost of car parking.

I am extremely grateful to you for sharing you feelings about parking charges with us and hope that my explanation helps you to understand our reasoning.

Thank you once more for your continued custom.

Warm regards,
Colin Stone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 1,001 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

We used The Knight Residence for a 1 N stopover after our Speyside Whisky festival Trip recently. We (my wife and 2 Kids) had driven down from Edinburgh and on our return (before onward journey to Paris) we had stayed here
There was everything that we possibly needed including a fully stacked Kitchen - didn't feel the need for going out to buy any breakfast raw material as everything from cereal boxes, milk for children, eggs, loaf of bread etc were all there!!!
We had taken a 2 Bedroom apartment and had a very comfortable Night's sleep
The walk to the nearby market area was a little bit of a climb here and there (Hill terrain) but all options for shopping and eating were close by
We did a quick trip through the market area to the Castle (which was unfortunately closed that day / Time due to some Royalty visit)
The Hotel staff were absolutely amazing and very friendly, made us comfortable and never got tired of answering all our questions
I have pledged to return to Edinburgh to stay longer next time - I think i shall definitely stay at The Knight residence
A word of caution for people like us driving down, Edinburgh Roads are an array of One-ways and to add to the confusion, there is some bit of construction work going on everywhere so a few roads are closed. Our journey after checking out from the Hotel to Airport was quite a challenge as we missed one Road turning and all hell broke loose!
People were helpful and finally we got back on track after wandering about for 1/2 an hour!
Overall a memorable stay and wish to come back!

Room Tip: The 2 Bedroom apartment was very comfortable and cozy, so if you are travelling with family go ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deepakmalik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I absolutley loved The Knight Residence! All staff are so nice, and took great care of me during my 3 month stay. I miss them all and do hope I'll see them in Sweden soon - or when I come back to visit!

//Stina

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom superior apartment this week. The apartment was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Daily serviced. The kitchen was well equipped. Excellent bedding. Our youngest son loved the TV and DVD-player in his bedroom. There were some CD's & video's available in the lounge. There was a nice selection of books available in the hallway from which I borrowed a travel guide to Edinburgh. Very friendly reception. There was always someone available which was different from the serviced apartments we have been to in the past. Bread, cereal, coffee, tea, milk, cookies, jam, marmalade & butter were available in the kitchen. The location of The Knight Residence is excellent. Don't worry about the clubs that are mentioned in previous reviews. Our 6-year old didn't even notice them. Turn the corner and there's the castle. 3-minute walk to Sainsbury's, 5-minutes to the Grass Market & Victoria Street where there are plenty of restaurants. We had dinner at Howie's on Victoria Street. Nice food, friendly staff, just a bit noisy when the restaurant is full. We also went to italian restaurant Gennaro on Grass Market. Not bad but nothing great. Maison Bleue on Victoria Street was excellent. Great food, nice decoration, friendly staff. If you wish to eat in a pub and you have children with you,you have to be there early. We were sent away a couple of times after 7 pm. No need for taxis or buses when you're staying in The Knight Residence. You can walk to the Royal Mile as well as to Princes Street etc.. Also with children. We felt very safe in Edinburgh - even at night. Overall, our first trip to Edinburgh couldn't have been better. We hope to be back and use The Knight Residence as our base to discover some more Scotland. With thanks to concierge Charlie for sending us the keys we forgot in the safe !

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Our family (two adults and three children) visited this week on Knightsride. The locatuon is excellent as well as the apartment, which is very cosy and equipped with all you need. There was even milk and juices in the refrigerator and bread and cereals, coffee, tea etc. The stuff was very friendly and if something missed what younwanted they delivered it immediately. We can honestly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1heiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The Knight Residence is an excellent apartment hotel for a family visit to Edinburgh. We had a 2br, 1 bathroom apartment that was serviced each day. I strongly recommend it.

Is the location good?
The location is brilliant. It is easy to walk to all things you want to go to (the castle, Royal Mile, Holyrood, New Town), or if you really must, a short and inexpensive taxi ride. The other bonus of the location is the Sainsburys supermarket across the road. The location is close to some pubs and lap-dance bars, but this in no-way impacts upon the location.

What are the rooms like?
Fairly fresh, well appointed, well thought out. It was a good size too - not too large, but plenty of space.

But are the beds comfortable?
Yes, really good. Great nights sleep.

Were the appliances ok?
They all were pretty new and in good order. The combined washer/dryer was annoying, but was functional.

Was there Wifi?
Yes.

Was it Quiet?
Yes - for a city, really good.

Anything special?
Yes, actually. The staff were all excellent and really helpful. They were able to accomodate an early check-in request. In addition, I ordered groceries to be delivered online, and these were put in the apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DadTravelOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Our group has stayed at many hotels all over Europe, but this was our first apartment. The experience was great. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom accommodation. The front desk was extremely helpful and courteous, offering suggestions, answering questions and walking us to our building and showing us around. The apartment was also pleasing, we havent stayed in many places with so much room. THe kitchen was nice and we were happy to go shopping like locals and stock up for breakfast. Coffee is made in a french press - no coffee pot - but we adapted. the living room had 2 sofas that pulled out as beds - which came in handy. The bathrooms were spacious, and the rooms cozy. The fridge was pre-stocked to get us started for breakfast. There was reliable WI-FI, and good television selection. We were walking distance to everything, the castle, grassmarket, shops. Of course there were a few night clubs down the street, but this posed no problems or disruptions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,719 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £94 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing