We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Nearby Hotels
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$260
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$146
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$125
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveller rating
1,203
139
16
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,203
139
16
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome packbreakfast basketwasher dryerloaf of breadtwo bedroom apartmentroyal milefull kitchenedinburgh castlesecure parkinggrass marketthese apartmentshome from homegrassmarket areaexcellent accommodationwithin walking distanceon arrivaldvd player
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,168 - 1,173 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2007

The accommodations were fantastic. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The location was wonderful (we could look out our apartment window and see the Edinburgh Castle lit up each night). The breakfast basket was perfect and the goodies left on the bed for our son were unexpected. I would definitely stay at this establishment again!

Stayed: November 2007
5  Thank MILITARYTRAVELER37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2007

This was our second stay to enjoy the excellence of the Knight Residence. Better than a hotel as we have all the conveniences of home plus maid service. Very comfortable for the two of us as we had a living room with TV, DVD, CD players, a stock of CD's and DVD's with others available in the lobby, a dining area, plus a full kitchen. Also had a TV in the bedroom. The Knight Residence is located in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the " Royal Mile", the Castle and north-side shopping. Many high-quality restaurants are nearby. Would certainly recommend the Knight Residence whatever your reason for visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dnwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2007

We stay here every week for 2/3 days on business. Cannot fault it at all. The staff are ever so friendly. The rooms are spot on. Cable TV is a bonus after a long day at work. Close to Grassmarket restaurants and takeaways. Toiletries are lovely. Internet access on the landing is very useful as is the extensive DVD collection for rental. Continental breakfast is a nice touch.
5 mins to the Royal Mile. What more can you say!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CatNoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

We wish to echo the sentiments of the previous reviewers who have spoken so highly of the Knights Residence hotel. We cannot say enough good things about Colin Stone and the hotel's staff, accommodations, or location.

The kitchen window framed the castle. What more could you asked for in terms of view? In Edinburgh we were visiting our daughter who was studying at the University of St. Andrews and came to spend most of the week with us. We had a two bedroom apartment, complete with kitchen with dishwasher and washer/dryer, which we put to good use.

The apartment was quiet and the location was great, in terms of sightseeing and going out to dinner at night at the nearby pubs and restaurants in Grassmarket.

We did have some difficulty negotiating the streets and finding the parking lot behind the hotel. Once we got there we left the car in the free parking lot and either walked all over the city or took a sightseeing bus. The location is great for walking.

We are already trying to figure out a way to get back to Edinburgh and will definitely be staying at the Knights Residence hotel when we return.

JRM, Ocala, Fl

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank jrm128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

Based on the reviews at Trip Advisor we decided to give the Knight Residence a try. As a family of four, we were looking for space, a good location and a fair price - the Knight Residence delivered on all of these. We had a two bedroom apartment and were very pleased - there was a full living room and kitchen in addition to the bedrooms. After long days of walking around Edinburgh, we were able to relax and our boys were able to have their own beds and room. Everything was clean and in great shape - and we heard no noise from the street.

The room alone would be enough to come back, but the best part of the stay was probably the staff. Every single person we encountered was friendly and went out of their way to give great service. We actually felt as if they wanted us there and it was not an imposition to have them explain the room or arrange cabs.

The location had us a bit nervous when booking, but it proved to be no problem. Everything we wanted to see was within a 10 to 15 walk and when tired we had no problem catching a cab (we did not try buses until the last day - these would have been a great solution). Yes, there are several strip clubs nearby, but we never had a problem even while walking by them with our kids after 11 PM. We were in town the night Scotland lost to Italy - crowds were rowdier in other parts of the city, but there were no problems near the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank novars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews