We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 6 March 2008

From the moment we walked in through the front door we knew we were going to be looked after! Christopher the Concierge was more than happy to show us around our apartment. Which was upgraded for free, a lovely suprise! He explained everything to us and then left us to settle in.

Within 10 minutes we had kicked off our shoes and I had climbed into the fluffy dressing gown provided. Ordering food could not be simpler.....choose one of the many menus provided, we picked Indian from the Ghandi (Yummy!!) ring your order in.... chill the booze... and hey presto! a knock at the door heralds the arrival !

The complimentary breakfast basket, milk and bread was great, we didn't need to rush out and buy anything. We chose not to take advantage of the cleaning service as we were only there for 3 nights, but has a paper everyday.

I would not hesitate to recommend this amazing place to anyone and when we return to Edinburgh we will be staying here again!

  • Liked — The space and privacy
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DuckyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    121
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
571
288
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2008

I stayed at the Knight Residence for a week while on a business trip to Edinburgh. After reading a lot of online reviews of various hotels in Edinburgh, the KR seemed to be the best deal in terms of the value/price ratio. I had considered the Grand Sheraton (which is a 5-min walk from the KR) but that was almost double the price. The concierge was very friendly, walked me to the apartment and explained how everything worked. The apartment itself was quite large - a roomy kitchen, living room with tv/dvd/vcr/internet, bathroom and bedroom. They have a small dvd/video library that you can borrow movies from - if you get jetlag and stay up all night, it is a good facility! The videos are free and DVDs are 1 UKP each. I was in one of the apartments on the top floor with a view of the Edinburgh castle from the windows. KR has a very high value for money and is an excellent choice if you are visiting with family or friends and want to rent a large, self sufficient apartment. There are grocery/department stores very close by (on Lothian Rd) and the apartments have full kitchens - toaster oven, dishwasher, refrigerator, and even a washer/dryer. The location of the apartment building is OK but there are one or two 'seedy' clubs nearby. If you are looking for a location in the heart of the shopping areas, consider something north of Princes St. I doubt you will find this great a value for money in that area though.

  • Liked — Facilities, value for money, helpful concierge
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank indisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We knew as soon as Charlie the concierge appeared as if by magic by our car with a luggage trolley that we were staying somewhere special.
We stayed for a five-day break in the school half-term holidays. Everything was perfect, including the unseasonably warm February weather! Having two bedrooms and a kitchen in a city-centre apartment is great for families - cheaper and less stressful than eating out in hotel restaurants but with the option of going out if we wanted to. Our children were very happy with the selection of DVDs to hire, and having their own television to watch them on. They also loved being able to listen to a CD or the radio in the bath (as did their Mum!)
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The welcome breakfast pack was sufficient for the whole stay, and the appearance of a chocolate heart on Valentine's day a lovely touch.
We had no complaints at all, the apartment was warm, very clean and very well equipped. The residence is central for Edinburgh's main attractions and although there are some late night bars close by we experienced no noise or concern about these.

  • Liked — The combination of self-catering facilities with the services of a hotel
  • Disliked — There was nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank winniefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2008

I must say i was a little aprehensive when my husband told me we were staying in apartments instead of a hotel even though i had read all the great reviews here.

We arrived at 9 in the morning and were shown straight to our room and a welcome basket was there also. I was well impressed with the size, cleanliness and everthing that was in the apartment.

Staff were most helpful and the location was perfect, our room looked straight out to the castle and although there were 3 lap dancing clubs right beside us we heard no street noise and didn't find the area sleazy at all.

Startbucks was close by so i was happy out however do some research into restaurants as we were not very happy, Mussels and Steak is supposed to be fab however it was full on the night we wanted to go.

We went to Finnegans, Beehive & Espionage which was great craic.

The one thing i didn't warm to was the pink sauce?!?! what is that about? it was yuck yuck yuck :)

Would highly recommend The Knight Residance

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2008

We chose this place based on all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. And it didn't let us down.
We were in Edinburgh to celebrate the New Year with family who live in Scotland. The Knight Residence provided a comfortable base for myself, my husband, my son and daugther in law.
We knew it was something special when we got a call the day before we were due to arrive, Chris inquired about our arrival time and gave us instructions for checking in.
The appartment was very well furnished, it was spotlessly clean and provided us with lots of amenities. The kitchen was modern and well stocked with utensils and appliances, not that we did much cooking. We were able to make a cuppa as soon as we arrived as basic supplies such as tea, coffee, biscuits and milk were provided.
On arrival Chris took us through the appartment explaining how everything worked. There were tvs in both bedrooms, a dvd player and strereo in the living room plus a wireless internet connectioin which was very usefull. The only thing missing with all this high tech equipment was that I couldn't find radio 4. Don't they listen to the Archers in Scotland?
Some reviews were a little down on the location. It didn't seem too bad to us. In spite of the rain and drizzle we mananged to get around. There were even umbrellas provided for our use! They really do think of everything. Most attractions were within easy walking distance. Sure there was a massage parlour just down the street, but there were also some nice boutiques and a Starbucks just round the corner. It all added to the local colour.
The one thing that was a bit tricky was finding our way to the parking area. If you go make sure you print out the directions before you leave home. We hired a car at the airport and got lost in the maze of one way streets in that part of the city. We somehow managed to find the appartments by luck more than anything. We weren't so fortunate the second day. We drove out of the city but on our return we were confused with the one way systems, we missed a turning and got stuck in a huge traffic jam heading down to Princes Street.
We would certainly recomend the Knight Residence and will stay there on our next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Liked — It had all the comforts of home. Much better than being in a hotel room
  • Disliked — driving to the car park.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucyinthesky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Up North
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

As we have 3 children, its difficult to find somewhere to stay that is child tolerant, not too expensive and gives the parents a bit of space as well. We found all of this at Knights Residence! We managed to get a last minute deal in May for 2 nights and had a 2 bedroom apartment. We put the children in the double room - they loved having their own bathroom! The hospitality tray was enough to feed all of us for several days (we did our best in the 2 days we were there) and the added bonus of dishwasher & washing machine made the stay luxurious! There was so much space in the apartment - having a lounge, kitchen, large hallway, 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms, plus lots of cupbaoards for coats & junk! The children enjoyed choosing a DVD from the lobby and bringing it back to watch. The staff were helpful, friendly & had excellent knowledge of the area. There had been a building collapse just before we arrived and we were telephoned to ensure we knew this and were OK with it and to give specific directions to get there. We could walk into the city centre - the secure parking is priceless! And the toiletries are gorgeous! Cant fault it - have tried but can't. The children all received a surprise gift which they still treasure.
We will DEFINITELY be back and would confidently recommend this place to anyone with more than 2.2 children who get fed up of overpriced hotel rooms & interconnecting doors! The freedom of having the lounge & kitchen (and not being forced to eat out if you don't want to) are definitely worth the extra you may pay on a motel.

  • Liked — Convenient, family friendly & had everything we needed
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5happycampersUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,390 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

We had stayed in Edinburgh the year before in an over-priced city centre hotel. For the same price as 2 hotel rooms we booked the Knight Residence and what an absolute joy. The amenities are great, the staff are extremely welcoming and the place itself is both well equipped and spotless. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and recommend The Knight Residence to everyone.

  • Liked — Facilities, service
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank KMR139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Property: The Knight Residence by Mansley
Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing