We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Fabulous apartments ! Great check-in ! Every thing spotless and and breakfast basket filled with everything was a great touch . Staff very helpful with check-in & check-out and car parking facility and 5 mins walk into Edinburgh ....would recommend and will defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightResidence, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Shaphire, I'm really grateful for your review and thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of the apartments. Our housekeeping team work incredibly hard and I agree they do an amazing job. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Colin Stone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    124
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
577
290
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our apartment (2 bed, 2 bath) was conveniently located and an easy walk to all the important sights of Edinburgh and groceries were steps away. Although the complementary breakfast basket with cereals, bread, milk, juice, coffee, tea, jams and the like keep us from needed groceries upon arrival. Especially nice after a long international journey! The staff, especially Christopher, couldn't have been more helpful by providing us with details about the flat and the surrounding area. The apartment was very spacious, bigger than expected really for a flat anywhere in the UK, and exceptionally outfitted for a week-long stay with our family. Comfortable beds, modern baths and very clean and kept that way by daily maid service. Private and quiet. A great value, great stay in Edinburgh. We'll be back and stay again at the Knight Residences!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment in High Riggs. Lovely building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightResidence, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Nancieo, I love your review. You managed to sum up everything we try to be - convenient, private, quiet, clean, spacious with bonus of the ability to self-cater. We look forward to your return. Kind regards, Colin Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed for 3 day's .great alternative to a hotel.very comfortable 4# quality bed and bath!as well as sitting room and kitchen?easy walk to old town and lots of restaurants.Supermarket and takeaways also within easy reach.a few sleazy nightclubs nearby ,but not a bother during day and evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBJDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightResidence, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review of The Knight Residence. We strive to please our customers and really appreciate your "excellent" rating. I'm pleased the local hostelries did not disturb and you found the location convenient. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Colin Stone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had only planned to stay 3 nights and ended up extending this by a extra 5 nights, the staff were very friendly especially Charlie full of information and nothing wasa bother, fully furnished apartments with a dishwasher and washing machine, fresh brad and milk, cereal tea code, biscuits all placed in the kitchen on arrival, this was walking distance to everything and certainly worth your while, we were in both a two and one bedroom apartment for our stay, great team of staff and made you very welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the one bedroom and two bed room apartment which sleeps 3 adults very well, we als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Railsmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightResidence, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi Railsmacca, Extremely grateful for your review, the title say's it all and is truly appreciated. Charlie is approaching his 15th year with us and is a true asset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Lovely apartments with everything you could need and more.
Breakfast basket with bread and milk was a great touch.
The staff from arrival to depature couldn't do enough for you.
Great location - a ten to fifteen minute stroll to Princes Street or a 5 min cab ride.
Would highly recommend and would definately stay again if in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayFanLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightResidence, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you HolidayFan, your review is much appreciated. Great to hear you would stay with us again - we look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Forget about Hotel Chains! Nice location, near the city attractions in a walking distance. The staff Chris, David, all them are really warm and helpful. The apartment is wide and cozy (ask for suite #3): Two bedrooms, a living room, a kitchen + laundry and bath. The hotel also offers for free a wide catalog of dvds for your night. During your stay, you'll have your name at the intercom... so that you feel local for a while. A different experience that you only find there with the Knights of Hospitality in Scotland.

Esqueça os hotéis de rede! Bem localizado, pertinho das atrações da cidade, dá para ir a pé! A equipe é super simpática e prestativa, com dicas sinceras sobre os programas da cidade. O apartamento 3 vale a pena, 2 quartos, sala, cozinha com máquina de lavar roupa, banheiro. Tem vasto catálogo (grátis) de DVD para assistir a vontade. O seu nome fica no interfone na entrada do hotel... assim, você se sente morador, enquanto ficar em Edimburgo. Uma experiência diferente, que não encontra em hotéis de rede, exclusividade dos "Cavaleiros (Knight) da hospitalidade"... como indica o nome do hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed at # 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Lidia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightResidence, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review, it is truly appreciated. I am please you enjoyed your stay in apartment 3 - it is a two bedroom City Apartment and all two bedroom city apartments are identical in floor plan and facilities. "Knights of Hospitality" - I like that! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

As we were traveling on a package, I do not know the price, but this place was definitely a great way to unwind at the end of our visit. Instead of heading to different hotel rooms or b&b rooms, we were able to visit, plan and unwind together in the parlor. The kitchen had all the bases covered. The location is not the best as far as surroundings, but the security is spot on! I really appreciated the robes as I was limited in packing and we were together during wind down and getting up time. It was nice to have a washer/dryer, too. The Knight Residence is easy walking distance to restaurants, pubs, shops, grocery, and sights. The beds were comfortable. It is old, but well kept. Chris was the manager on duty. He was most helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnightResidence, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hi Suzanne, I am pleased you appreciated the space to spread out and relax. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Property: The Knight Residence by Mansley
Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing