We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Two friends & I stayed at this hotel for our weekend trip to Edinburgh and were pleasantly impressed with the accomidations. We had a two bedroom apartment 'room' that was clean, comfortable and very spacious. Plenty of room for all of us to hangout in the living room together or for each to go about doing our own thing. Our kitchen had a lovely view of the castle. It also a view of the construction site below, but that wasn't any bother to our stay at all. A lovely stuffed basket of cereals, a loaf of bread, cartons of juice, and a carton of milk were provided in the kitchen for use during the stay. But the hotel is also convient to a Sainsburys (grocery store) right up the road for if you wanted to acquire more items cook your own meal. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and very nicely held our bags for us on our last day of stay until our train left in the evening. The location is excellent, right up the road from the Grassmarket, and very convient to the Castle, Royal Mile and other Old Town attractions. Would definitely stay here again on a future trip!

  • Liked — Convience to everything and spaciousness in the room
  • Disliked — the doors don't auto-lock when you shut
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aheinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    126
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
585
292
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We've stayed here on at least 6 occasions since it was recommended to us by a Scottish exile who uses it when in Edinburgh on business . We have stayed in two other aparthotels when the Knight Residence has been full. This is the best in terms of friendliness/helpfulness of the reception staff, warmth and "location". Although located close to the "titty bars" of the North West End in a "mixed" area of the city it is very conveniently placed and has good, secure (gated and locked) parking. On our most recent visit we were put into one of the apartments they have been buying up in the flats that share their parking space. The location is the same and the apartment was "warm" but less spacious and less well finished than those we have had in the main building. Would recommend strongly but suggest that you ask for accomodation in the main building.

  • Liked — Convenient situation, helpful front-of-house
  • Disliked — Slighltly seedy outside the main building
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cancerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PathheadGuy, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this review, 7 October 2008
For the sake of clarity, all "Comfort Apartments" are in annexe buildings. All "Superior Apartments" are in the main building. One the whole, the same furnishings and fittings are used in both although the superior apartments have one or two extra features as listed on our website. In terms of size, both are similar although comfort two bedroom apartments are in fact larger than superior two bedroom apartments. Comfort apartments offer excellent value for money and many of the positive reviews that follow were posted by guests who stayed in comfort apartments. Guests wishing to stay in the main building should only book superior apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We just got back from staying 5 nights. After reading the reviews prior, I knew to expect the lap dance bars so I was prepared. I must say the neighborhood doesn't make a great first impression, but we did not have any problems walking along the streets at night. We didn't stay in the main building rather a building next to it...I believe they are called the comfort apartments. These are not as nice as the apartments in the main building but they were well worth the price. The apartment had everything we needed including a refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and washer/dryer. We didn't have a very good view (other buildings and the car park), but we didn't mind as we were not there to gaze out the window. They gave us a welcome basket in the kitchen containing milk, oj, apple juice, tea, coffee, bread, butter, cereal..and offered us more if we needed it. The front desk was extremely helpful and we were very happy we stayed there! It was a quick walk to the Edinburough Castle and the Royal Mile. They have free internet in the main building which really helped with reservations for dinner (go to McKirdys!). I would stay there again although I would spend a little extra and stay in the newer apartments in the main building (although right now there is construction going on next door during the day hours). They were also kind enough to store our bags for us on the day of check out because we had a night flight and wanted to do some more sightseeing without carrying our bags all over. Tips: save money by shopping for groceries at Tesco and use the kitchen to cook meals, see Edinbourgh castle and listen to a Runrig CD (great Scottish band).

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lov2travel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

The customer service here really can't be faulted....they are sooo friendly and helpful! It was a delight! The rooms are clean with a great complimentry breakfast basket and the location is great. The building site and bars at the end of the road really DONT detract from what is a super find.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone from my grannie to me best friend..a real find!

  • Liked — the location and amazing customer service
  • Disliked — nothing at all!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rachael1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

I have just got back from a 3 day stay at the Knights Residence after taking my parents away for a short break to see the Tattoo. I chose to stay there after reading all the good reviews on trip advisor. I would like to say that nothing disappointed. Read the other reviews to find out its good points and believe the hype!!! If you go there and don’t enjoy your stay you must be very hard to please. Would defiantly go back again

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DJC2008WindsorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

After reading so many glowing reviews, I was qutie disappointed with our 2 night stay at the Knight Residence in July 2008.

First, the obvious good points. The location is quite central and the Royal Mile easily walkable. The apartment was reasonably spacious and well stocked with most things a visitor could conceivably require. The concierge was very helpful and a good resource.

The gripes:

1. Please make sure they put you in Knight Residence themselves and not in the adjoining buildings which was the case with us. We were put there; the building common areas, lifts, etc are of a much lower standard than the KR themselves and a letdown. Also, access is a bit of a pain and one has to go up / down and via the carpark.

2. The view is poor made especially so by the current buidling work just outside KR. Our window opened up into a pretty run down street - hardly the kind of view one craves for whilst in Edinburgh.

3. The immediate location itself - though very convenient - is a bit of a let-down with tatty streets etc.

Overall, our stay was comfortable but could have been much better had the location been different.

  • Liked — Convenience, amenities
  • Disliked — Views, locality
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ans1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2008

I have just returned from a long weekend in Edinburgh having had the pleasure of staying in The Knight Residence. I know Edinburgh relatively well and the location is ideal. A very short walk to the Royal Mile, very close to Prince's St and Gdns and no distance to Rose or George Street. The bars and restaurants of thr Grassmarket are minutes away.

There are lap dancing clubs in the local area BUT this is hardly something the Knight Residence has any control over and, we experienced no problems whatsover.

The amenities in the apartment are first class. The decor is very contemporary and the whole place is very comfortable.

I will go back to the Knight Residence and will recommend the place to friends and family without any hesitation.

  • Liked — Location, staff, facilities, comfort, I could go on........
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank essexlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
941 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,775 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,803 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Property: The Knight Residence by Mansley
Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing