We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Excellent apartments , great location, very well equipped, fabulous staff, concierge could not be more helpful and car parking would definitely recommend and return :-) deserves 5 stars , hoping to book again for later this year !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    120
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
566
286
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mysen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were four people and spent five nights in Edinburgh. The accommodations are ideal if you want privacy and it felt just like being at home in your own appartment. Comfortable beds, two nice bathrooms (small but OK), TVs whereever you turned and all amenities. Showers took some minutes getting used to, and we missed a fourth chair in the kitchen, but that's the only thing on the negative side. The staff was very helpful and the location was ideal. I can't imagine a better place to stay if you want to spend a few days in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Our appartment had the address High Riggs (second floor) and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OleJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We visited the Knight Residence for an overnight stay in Edinburgh and loved it. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was clean, comfortable and really quiet. It was a short walk away from the Royal Mile and next door to a small Sainsbury local. Although the apartment was already stocked with bread, cereal, milk, fruit juice, butter, jam, biscuits and tea/coffee so no need to buy much.
There was also an activity pack and a small teddy bear for our daughter which was a lovely touch and really delighted our daughter.
The apartment has everything you could need including tv and DVD player and a wide selection of DVDs you can borrow. They also have a very useful folder of local attractions and activities. Oh and there's free wifi included.
Top it all off with some really friendly and helpful staff and hence 5 stars from me!
Absolutely loved this apartment and if we go back for another break in Edinburgh would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Our apartment faced over the car park so not much of a view but it was blissfully silent even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family and I spent four nights in a 2-bedroom unit. We were immediately impressed by the exceptionally friendly greeting the staff provided us upon check-in. They took the time to give us a detailed guided of our apartment. The kitchen was already stocked with food staples (cereal, milk, juices, bread) and they had teddy bears and coloring books ready and waiting for our kids. The rooms were spacious, clean and sound-proof. We were on the first floor right on the street level and yet did not hear any street noise whatsoever. The location was excellent, right in the heart of beautiful Edinburgh.

All told, we had a fantastic vacation in Edinburgh but all agreed that our stay at the Knight Residence made it a special one. I HIGHLY recommend this place. And will gladly stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay here as we were so impressed last time we stayed. The apartment was ideal for our family, great facilities, comfortable and clean.
Very close to the Grassmarket and the old town, which we love.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fantastic experience in every way. We were cordially welcomed upon arrival, had help with our luggage, and a very thorough walk through of our apartment. Our family includes two young children and there were welcome presents waiting for them on their beds - which completely made all of our day! A high chair was provided and response to all our enquiries was very prompt. I HIGHLY recommend this residence to any traveller, but especially to families with young children, it is rare to find a hotel so welcoming and accommodating. The apartment was clean, quiet, safe, and comfortable, and was nicely located for an easy walk to all the main attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveOutofSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The accommodations were modern, neat and clean. Location was ideal, in the old town and 10 min walk from the castle. Grassmarket and royal mile were 5 minute walking distance as well. Convenient grocery store nearby. We had a two year old with us and there was a small teddy bear and a coloring pack waiting for us when we arrived. Chris and Kevin who manage the property are very friendly and informative. They helped us with some valuable suggestions on sightseeing. Wi-Fi was reliable, all the other amenities were in working order. We were in a once bedroom apt in the fifth floor.
I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shekhar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Property: The Knight Residence by Mansley
Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing