We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding for families”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The team were fantastic and really helpful. Took the time to show us around the apartment and explained how everything worked and how to enjoy Edinburgh. Location was slightly away from the general tourist strip but the pubs and restaurants close by were perfect...no one really wants to stay in the general tourist area anyway, and getting there by bus or walking was easy as.
Rooms were great, clean and quiet.
Highly recommend for families and non families alike.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat77k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    124
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
577
290
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lost count of the number of times we've stayed here and it's always a pleasure to arrive. The staff are wonderful, the apartments a home from home and the location a hop and a skip from the heart of the old town. Heading back again later in the year and I know that it'll be equally fab. Wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deadyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angaston, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

You can not beat the location and attention to detail at The Knights Residence. A supermarket down the street, the Grassmarkets, Victoria Street, Edinburgh castle, The Royal Mile and tour buses are but a whisper away! A friendly hello every morning and coming home to a freshly made bed and the end of the day adventuring was heaven sent. Keep it up guys we will recommend you to all our friends and family

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denielle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

As virtually all the previous reviews/comments already mention, this place is fantastic.
The service is impeccable, and you are made for feel right at home from your welcome/room tour.
There are some lovely 'extras' such as the breakfast gift pack, the children's complimentary teddies, and the bathroom 'bee-kind' products (shampoo/conditioner/body lotion etc etc).
The accommodation is spacious, and has all the amenities you could want. It is also contemporary, and exceptionally well looked after and clean!
The location is great too, being a short walk to 'Old town'.
I would not hesitate recommending this place to family and friends, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed four nights at the Knights Residence. We had a two room, two bath apartment. It was a very good place to stay in Edinburgh and fantastic for families. The bathrooms were nice and clean. The rooms were ample size. The kitchen was modest but clean and had all that we needed. The living area was comfortable as well.

The staff could not be more friendly. They escorted us to our apartment and gave us instructions for visiting Edinburgh. The hotel/apartment is in good area. While it is true that there are two adult establishments nearby, my two teenage daughters, my wife and I never felt unsafe. In fact the area was quiet and pleasant.

There is a market close by and is easily accessible. From the hotel you can walk to most of the major Edinburgh attractions.

We feel in love with Edinburgh and the easy, comfortable, relaxed stay at the apartment played a huge role in that. It is so much better than a cramped hotel room. Would definitely recommend and hope to return!


Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank psychtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I, my wife and kids aged 10 and 14 stayed in the apartment complex for 4 nights in a two bed room apartment. This place is a real gem. It's a very cosy home away from home kind of place. What sets it apart from the rest of the hotels or apartments is the people who work in this place.

Our special thanks to Charlie for extending support when we were really down due to certain issues with the airline. He went out of his way to comfort us and make us so much feel at home.

Will stay again definitely when we are in Edinburgh.

Anurag Vishnoi

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anurag V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Knights Residence in early June. It is a fabulous location and we walked almost everywhere. The apartment is clean and well-appointed, including its own washer and dryer! A dishwasher came in handy too. The staff were friendly and Magdalena came up with us to explain how every thing worked in the room. It was nice to have a full-fledged kitchen as we like to cook at least some of our meals. It helped that there is a store just two minutes away from The Kinghts Residence. I wish I knew the name of the gentlemen on duty on Monday morning, June 9, who helped carry our luggage to the taxi. I would definitely come back to The Knights Residence when I visit Edinburg next.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Property: The Knight Residence by Mansley
Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing