We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our second stay at The Knight Residence although this time we were not in the main block. The comfort apartment was next door and very easy to access. The apartment was a good size and the breakfast pack was excellent and would have lasted the week if we had stayed that long. Supermarkets are very local and have late opening hours. The apartments are well located for walking to the centre of Edinburgh. There are a couple of "clubs" nearby but we did not experience any difficulties with these even when we arrived back at 11.00pm. The staff were very friendly although everything is so well set out that we did not need them. The only problem that we had was that the shower was so powerful (excellent) that the shower blind was not large enough to prevent a large quantity of water finding its way onto the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    125
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
582
292
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife and teenage sons. Great location for seeing the Castle, Grassmarket and Royal Mile. The apartment was clean, modern and well appointed. The kitchen was great to stock up on snacks, etc. and there was a market less than a block away. The staff was very helpful, delivering to my door a few documents that I asked them to print. The daily cleaning service was top-notch. Would definitely recommend and stay again. It is not cheap, but I believe worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The apartment was the perfect size for my family and we enjoyed the amenities. We were able to walk to all the attractions we wanted to visit and found some good restaurants nearby. The breakfast pack and the proximity of groceries was very handy and saved us some trouble and some money as we were able to eat a couple of meals in. The only problem is that there are a couple of 'clubs' nearby. It made me a little wary when walking around, and did cause some noise at night. This was tempered somewhat by our being on the top floor, but my husband still had to sleep with earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ETM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have stayed at The Knight Residence periodically for business now for over a year. All the apartments are exceptionally clean, with modern decor and a lovely complimentary breakfast basket.
The hotel is based in the centre of Edinburgh, it has parking when I need it and for anyone visiting Edinburgh it is a few minutes’ walk away from the Grassmarket and many of Edinburgh’s other attractions.
All the staff at The Knight Residence are extremely helpful and friendly, one of the reasons I continue to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our recent trip to Edinburgh was made all the better by our stay at the Knight Residence. When we first arrived, we were greeted by Charlie, who took very good care of us and showed us to our suite. Because these are apartment style rooms that include kitchens, the staff was so kind to have included a welcome package for us, which included the basic staples for the next morning of bread, milk and other delights.

It was great exploring Edinburgh and being able to come back to not just a hotel room, but a home away from home and every time we did come back, we were greeted by the very friendly and helpful staff.

We would definitely recommend this accommodation and make sure you say hi to Charlie for us, it really made our trip to Edinburgh one of the best parts of our entire trip to the UK and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed 4 days at the Knight Residence and our stay was perfect. The location is great, we loved the nearby parc ( Meadow Park). The staff is diligent, friendly, and full of nice attentions, I.e stocking the kitchen with breakfast stuff.
Highly recommended for families.

Some of the Wifi restrictions should be reviewed to make it more practical.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bribribel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We chose the Knight residence as an expedia+ hotel. We were upgraded to a two bed apartment. There were welcome goodys for me and the kids. There was so much space for myself and two kids! Everyone was wishing we were staying longer than a night, and I think for a longer trip it would provide an ideal family residence. There was Wifi, the kitchen had supplies, there is a supermarket two minutes away, the location is fantastic for anything you could want to do in Edinburgh. There is parking if required, but it is easily accessible by public transport (we got the bus to the residence, and walked back to Waverley Station). Staff very friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manfa1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
931 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Property: The Knight Residence by Mansley
Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing