We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Old World Charm Channings”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2011

In Edinburgh for just a few days, Channings is tucked down a delightful cobbled road quiet yet close enough to get into town, a 10 min walk at the most.

Channings is a delightful boutique hotel in a wonderful old building. Service is excellent in all areas of the hotel, housekeeping, reception, concierge, bar and breakfast room. Quality of food at breakfast was superb, a wide range of items for continental and the full cooked offered everything you could want. The only evening we ate in the hotel was at the bar and I have to say the fish pie was very tasty.

We stayed in room number 25 which is right by the entrance door to the floor from the stairwell but I did not hear any noise during the night, just the occasional soft foot fall along the landing, so just like being at home. This room is at the back of the house so overlooks the garden which is small with a patio area.

The bedroom had a lovely large bed, huge window and the bedding was brilliant, a double bed but with single duvets so no more cold spots for anyone :0) duvet and pillows were goosedown and very warm, bed very comfy. The bathroom was huge and had a nice shower.

Have to comment the toilets in the bar area has Molten Brown handcreme and soap and in the rooms it was White Label products, all very nice.

All in all a very pleasant stay and would love to come and stay here again, would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KikiBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager12, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your experience. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the team helped to make it a memorable one.

I hope we may be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Ngaire Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel from the 30th April - 2nd May this was our first visit to edingburgh and we were not disappointed its a beautiful city. Our room was on the ground fioor rm 3 it was a nice room bit we would have preferred a room with a view as we were looking out onto a flat roof. The staff were very nice as was the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolly020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager12, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

I would like to thank you for the time to give feedback on your experience. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that your room did not supply the best views of Edinburgh however I am pleased this did not deter from your enjoyment that Edinburgh can offer. Channings rooms are all individual, infact no two rooms the same, which can be challenging in itself. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. If you are are planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,
Ngaire Stanaway


Your sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying in Channings before, on this occasion I, and a few friends, had lunch. Although our booking was last-minute, as usual we were treated as important guests, with the young and friendly staff tending to our every needs with care and discretion. The food was lovely and beautifully served in a room full of character.
It is worth going to Edinburgh just to visit Channings.
Top marks to management.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TyroneTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager12, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your time to give feedback of your experience at Channings. We value all our feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your visit so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Ngaire Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed at the Channings during our stay at Edinburgh, and found the hotel to be excellent, and exceeding our expectations. We had one of the newly renovated Shackleton Rooms, which was spacious, with an equally large bathroom. Everything seemed fresh and new. The staff at the hotel were very understanding, knowledgable, and went beyond their duties to help us. The only minor disadvantage is the not so central location, but still in a nice upmarket neighbourhoof, just a 15min walk from the core of the New Town.

Room Tip: Reserva a newly renovated Shackleton room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greece4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager12, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for you feedback which is very important to us. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience and the team helped to make it an memorable one.

Yours sincerely

Ngaire Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Boutique hotel? Channings looks great from the outside and the lobby area is very attractive. The staff on reception are very helpful but, when going up the stairs to the rooms, it is obvious that a refurb is due and things are a little shabby round the edges. That doesn't really matter but, after having found homes for all my belongings, I tried to run a bath only to find that the water was lukewarm. The staff tried to fix it but we had to change rooms in the end and I was, in fact, given a better room. So far, so good.

What let Channings down was the breakfast experience. Having found the dining room through luck, I found a table as no-one was available to greet. I got myself a watery fruit juice and took a look at the almost empty and pretty unappetising bits of fruit left out and decided not to bother. After a 10 minute wait, I was eventually offered a coffee (which was never topped up). Another 10 minutes passed before my breakfast order was taken, then the toast arrived - but there was no butter on the table. 3 couples who arrived after me were served before me, despite me mentioning that I had to leave at a particular time. The staff are well meaning but understaffed and not well trained. It was difficult to get eye contact with them as they were rushing around so much.

The next morning was a little better but I decided after that to eat breakfast at a local cafe - it was much better!

This was not what I call a boutique hotel experience!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweedledumdedum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager12, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your experience. I am very disappointment with the issues your experience, particularily during breakfast.

I do prefer not respond with excuses as our guest expect a certain level of service with clearly did not happen in certain areas. The breakfast experience is certainly not our usual standard and I would like to extend my sincere apologies.

With regards to the bedrooms I can agree they are at different stages with regards to refurbishment and a refurbishment plan is in place to rectified certain aspects, which does remain ongoing.

I do hope we may be able to welcome you back to be able to give you the 'true Channings experience'. If so, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely
Ngaire Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I was travelling with my husband and 80 year old father for a short visit to Edinburgh and was initially delighted when we checked in. A beautiful reception area, lovely fire and helpful staff. A tiny lift (only large enough for three) took us up to the rooms but we discovered there was no lift to the basement where the restaurant/bar was located. My father has serious mobility problems and had great difficulty negotiating the very steep staircase. Downstairs the bar area was like a bad day in the roughest boozer in town. Cheap wooden chairs; tears in the bar stools and children running about screaming made the experience unpleasant but the price of drink at £5 for a whisky made us move elsewhere. The rooms were small (even though we upgraded to superior) but the views were lovely. No bottled water in the room and the bathroom could have done with a good clean. A large pubic hair adorned the bath and the tiles at the side hadn't been cleaned lately.. Each duvet had a dirty mark in the underside but as it will well after midnight before we staggered back we couldn't be bothered to ask for a change. Breakfast was good but a pot of coffee rather than a large camping style flask would have been more acceptable. Not a bad hotel, but not the best either.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karynArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This was my second time in Edinburgh having previously stayed at The Howard and I have tried not to compare with my experience there as this was a (I think) a different star rating. First impressions of Channings are excellent the greeting at Reception is lovely and all the public areas are well furnished and in keeping with the overall atmosphere of the hotel. Our room was perfectly adequate in size for our one night stay and was very clean. There were just a few minor issues which I think had we have been staying longer would have needed to be addressed - pillows were very uncomfortable, there was no bottled water in the room at all (there was tea and coffee making) and any room service attracted a £4.50 tray charge which would have appeared to make a call for water relatively expensive, shower was over bath rather than separate cubicle. Also I would have to say that other reviewers that could walk to Princes Street in 10 minutes must have been jogging ! The walk is mainly uphill and a more realistic time is probably nearer 20 to 25 mins. As I said we only stayed for one night and in terms of the rate we payed for the room this was good value - however if this had been a luxury or special break I don't think Channings would have fitted the bill.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StourbridgeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,400 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,379 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,298 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
898 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £74 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing