We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, Friendly, and Warm Atmosphere”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed at Channings with friends and loved it! The staff were extra polite and very helpful. The rooms were beautiful, classic and very clean. Breakfasts were delicious! The bar was perfect and casual. Nice quiet neighborhood with access to buses and restaurants.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malibu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

I was vacationing in Scotland with a group of six women, and the Channings Hotel was our first stop after a long day of travel. Scott Keenan, the concierge, and the entire staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. In the three days we were in Edinburgh, they met all of our needs and helped us in every way possible. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast was delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel. I would point out, however, that it is not particularly close to the Royal Mile if that makes any difference to you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaandtom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Channings has an aura of calm - comfortable rooms nicely decorated without being stuffy and the service is the same. Staff couldn't do enough for us, were friendly but entirely professional. It is refreshing to find mostly young staff who have obviously been very well trained and deliver service of a high standard.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane_fenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I stayed at Channings as a bit of a treat for myself having been made redundant. I paid about £100 per night through Hotels Direct. I was amazed to walk into a beautifully presented room with 4 poster bed, plenty of space and the biggest bath / shower combination i have seen. The staff were very helpful and always polite- especially when i lost my keys and the maintenance man had to break into my case!

I didn't have the full scottish breakfast but that was my choice, it looked nice if you like cooked breakfasts. I didn't eat in the restaurent as i had stuff to do on the evenings but the menu looked good and i did have a very decent sandwich from room service.
From what i could see, the rest of the hotel looked well cared for and clean.

Channings is particuarly well positioned if you want to visit the Dean Gallery and the Museum of Modern Art (both highly recommended. There is also a nice walk from the latter along the waters of Leith with Antony Gormley scupltures within the river. It takes about 10 minutes to walk into the west end of town. i also recommend the production of Dunsinane at the Lyceum which was excellent. It is a very quiet area, there is a Waitrose 10 minutes away. I had a ground floor, front facing room and had no issues with noise at all.
I stayed at the Glasshouse last time which was not as friendly, more expensive, very noisy (room at the front), and a bit of style over substance- much preferred Channings.

I am hoping to go back again for another treat soon now that i have been offered another job!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaphod2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Great hotel, only a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of town. What really sets this hotel apart is the staff. From the receptionist to the waiters to the concierge – they all made us feel so welcome. The concierge personally showed us to our room and when he found out we were running the marathon the next day recommended a great Italian restaurant to load up on carbs and offered to book this for us. One of the other members of staff even tracked down a marker pen for me and offered to help me write my name on my running vest!

Our room was pretty small but had everything we needed. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the shower powerful. The day we ran the marathon we had to leave the hotel very early so were going to miss breakfast. We asked at reception and they said we could just let them know what we wanted and what time we needed it and they would deliver it to our room. They arrived with everything we asked at exactly the right time the next morning.

After our second night we got to sample their full Scottish breakfast which was served in the dining room. This was great, and again service impeccable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My sister and I spent a delightful week at the Channings Hotel and found it to be safe, comfortable, welcoming and relaxing. It's away from the hustle and bustle of the city of Edinburgh but an easy walk or cab ride away. It's a quiet place with a welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. Scott Keenan is a concierge extraordinaire! He answered many questions ahead of our visit and was invaluable in helping us "see" the city and have a most rewarding and fun vacation. I would go back and stay at the Channings in a heartbeat!

Stayed: April 2011
2  Thank Anglotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager12, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am delighted to hear the team look after you so well and help to make your stay a special one.

We hope to be able to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Ngaire Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

In Edinburgh for just a few days, Channings is tucked down a delightful cobbled road quiet yet close enough to get into town, a 10 min walk at the most.

Channings is a delightful boutique hotel in a wonderful old building. Service is excellent in all areas of the hotel, housekeeping, reception, concierge, bar and breakfast room. Quality of food at breakfast was superb, a wide range of items for continental and the full cooked offered everything you could want. The only evening we ate in the hotel was at the bar and I have to say the fish pie was very tasty.

We stayed in room number 25 which is right by the entrance door to the floor from the stairwell but I did not hear any noise during the night, just the occasional soft foot fall along the landing, so just like being at home. This room is at the back of the house so overlooks the garden which is small with a patio area.

The bedroom had a lovely large bed, huge window and the bedding was brilliant, a double bed but with single duvets so no more cold spots for anyone :0) duvet and pillows were goosedown and very warm, bed very comfy. The bathroom was huge and had a nice shower.

Have to comment the toilets in the bar area has Molten Brown handcreme and soap and in the rooms it was White Label products, all very nice.

All in all a very pleasant stay and would love to come and stay here again, would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KikiBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager12, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your experience. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the team helped to make it a memorable one.

I hope we may be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Ngaire Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,379 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,293 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
890 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £74 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing