We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was fine but did not match photos online plus other claims”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #43 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I love a deal, and when I get a deal plus a whole lot of great reviews for a hotel, I don't hesitate to book it. The Channings in Edingburgh gets wonderful reviews. My impression: the hotel was just ok.
The Channings is located in Edingburgh's West End. Only a short walk from the main attractions, but still in a quiet and nice neighborhood. We drove and the hotel has only street parking, which is paid during the day. So, if you are not there during the day to feed the meter you have to pay the hotel to issue you a permit. After making sure that this was settled, we had dinner at the restaurant. Excellent food, good prices, wonderful service. I think the hotel description called for nice views from the restaurant, but there are none. The restaurant is in the basement. The breakfast is also there. All the usual parts of an English breakfast, plus fruit, cereal, etc.
My biggest issue was when we asked the front desk for a room for a second night. They gave us a rate over double the price we had booked the original reservation for. Did not leave any room for negotiating, which I found odd since it would have been easier for them to leave us in the room we had than to get a new person in. Anyway, we left and moved to another hotel.
P.S. The bathroom toiletaries are not Molton Brown and the rooms, although vintage and large, are not anything like the photos online.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rony_bonbony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

984 - 990 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

Excellent in almost all respects. Breakfast room and bar, however, are a bit too primitive to match the traditional style of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vechrolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I booked with Channing's back in March or April with the intention of traveling to Edinburgh to propose to my girlfriend. Scott the concierge was extremely helpful with not only getting a good deal sorted for a room, rose petals, bouquet of flowers, champagne and chocolates plus breakfast but he also gave me recommendations for places to enjoy a meal, drinks and potential areas for proposing. All in all Scott's help was priceless and I credit him for helping me prepare things smoothly.

Just because I am singing Scott's praises does not take away from the rest of the Channing's team. They were more than happy to accommodate my every need and the room service was very quick. The location of the hotel was superb as well. Only a 15 minute walk from the town centre and based on a quiet side street so you're not affected by the noise of the city.

We will undoubtedly visit Edinburgh again and I will be making sure we book with Channing's again for an unforgettable experience. My partner and I will always remember our engagement weekend in Edinburgh and will forever have fond memories of the way we were treated at Channing's. Great customer service and a brilliant location!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zabier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Nice location, good service but the room was in a bad state - broken/ damaged furniture, shower was very weak and no aircon (not normally a problem in Edinburgh!). Having read the reviews I was expecting better... perhaps the other rooms are better? Our room was No 53.

I know some people on here like to moan about nothing, but Im not one that does. This place has the potential to be a great hotel if they invest some money in refurbishing some of their rooms. I was here on business but would have been dissappointed if I was paying the £130 out of my own pocket.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GezBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Spent 2 nights in The Channings hotel. The hotel was very easy to find, only a short bus journey from princes street and not too far from Murrayfield either.

The room was beautifully decorated, very spacious and clean. I enjoyed that the hotel did not go for a bland decor as many hotels do and instead felt very cosey and full of character.

The staff were very friendly and helpful! I will definitely be recommending this hotel to my friends and hope 2 stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icklesuz_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Good location on a quiet street facing a park. Short walk to bus stops and 20 minute walk to center of town and to Royal Botanical Garden (in opposite directions). Staff, very helpful, good restaurant on site. Hotel was former home of Arctic explorer, Shackelton so the rooms are decorated with photos of his expedition. Unusual but really interesting decor. Huge soaking tub in the bathrooms, very comfortable beds, excellent service.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed at Channings with friends and loved it! The staff were extra polite and very helpful. The rooms were beautiful, classic and very clean. Breakfasts were delicious! The bar was perfect and casual. Nice quiet neighborhood with access to buses and restaurants.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malibu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,378 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,291 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
889 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £72 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing