We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Channings Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$328
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$169
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,332)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveller rating
700
432
139
40
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
432
139
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrea quiet residential arearoll top bathlovely hotelminute walkprinces streetsuperior roomhuge bathroomstreet parkingfull scottish breakfastwest endtop floorbreakfast was deliciousfirst morningbreakfast roomlovely roomhaggis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
927 - 932 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

From the moment we arrived until our departure, nothing was too much trouble. The cooked-to-order breakfast was superb, making full use of locally sourced produce. The staff were well informed and helpful. We would go back again but aim to book a room on the top floor to experience the roll-top baths etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinnywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us. Our staff are always willing to help - and infact have even won awards in the past making us the 'Friendliest Hotel in Edinburgh'. If you do come back (which we hope you do) then we thoroughly recommend our rooms on the top floor with the roll top baths!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have stayed in Channings several times before the service is always good, the hotel comfortable & welcoming. This time we were on the 2nd floor double room facing Stockbridge the view was excellent. We had requested a view to the front & the hotel was full for the weekend so we were pleased that our request was fulfilled. The room was very comfortable although the bed, 2 twins put together as a double, had lost some of its spring. The fittings in the bathroom were all functional if past their best.
The location is very handy for the town centre particularly if you arrive by car as the parking is free at the weekend.
The food is good without being outstanding & service is always quick. We like the hotel, would stay again & recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in lower ground floor, close to the breakfast room but no view so we would avoid them.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthEastScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Great to hear that you are a regular visitor to Channings and that you had a room facing over the tranquil South Learmonth Gardens. We are currently in the process of upgrading several of the bedrooms and bathrooms, and all rooms have now been fitted with 32" flat screen TV's - so please come and visit again and you can see the improvements we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect from Channings, but found the hotel to be one of the nicest places I've stayed. It's traditional without being fusty, and modern without lacking character. The staff are extremely friendly (scarily so, to a Londoner!), and keen to welcome you or help you out with plans during your stay. Our room was upgraded - a lovely surprise when we got there - and was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a suite - room 60 - which came with a huge bathroom complete with large rolltop bath. The bathroom was a bit chilly when we got there, but soon warmed up and felt very luxurious with its White Company toiletries. The second morning we were there the hot water ran out as we filled the bath, but this was probably down to everyone trying to bath/shower at the same time! The bed was very comfortable and we both slept amazingly well.

We ordered room service breakfast on the first morning, and found this to be pretty average. It was expensive, and you don't get a lot for your money. Plus all room service is subject to a £4.50 charge, which seems unnecessary. We would have had drinks or food in our room on more than one occasion if this charge hadn't applied. On the second morning of our stay we went to have brunch in nearby Stockbridge, which was much nicer (and cheaper!), and made for a pleasant Sunday stroll too.

The hotel is a slightly hilly fifteen minute walk from the centre, but I would much rather be in the lovely residential roads of Learmonth Gardens than in the thick of Princes Street. Stockbridge is another short walk away, where you are spoilt for choice with regard to cafes, pubs and restaurants. I'd recommend Hamilton's for dinner if you don't mind dining in a fairly buzzy bar (although we did go on a Friday!), and Hector's was great for brunch. If you're arriving from the airport, you can get the Airlink 100 bus and get off at the West End. You then have an approximately twenty minute walk to the hotel. If your bags are heavy, I'd recommend jumping in a taxi!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpanishSneeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your recent review from your visit to Channings, and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with the exception of the tray charges. The Suites that you stayed in are themed to match the hotels historic connection to Sir Ernest Shackleton (who lived in part of the hotel from 1904 to 1910) and his Antarctic explorations - with all the rooms being named after his ships!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

A short and picturesque walk from the city centre. Staff really went the extra mile to help, including making reservations and finding menus for restaurants.
The hotel has a cosy and welcoming atmosphere, which was very nice for our stay in February. Our rooms were well-heated, with warm and comfortable beds and two large armchairs to sit in by the window. The bathroom was clean, with a bathtub and plenty of hot water. Shampoo and body wash was provided, but no conditioner.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was excellent. Service was friendly, and food was delicious and nicely served.
The breakfast (we had ours included in the room price) was dissappointing. There was an acceptable continental buffet selection (small pastries, yogurt, cereals, juice), but the cooked breakfast was poor. The scrambled eggs were a disturbing taupe colour, vegetarian saucsages were quite dry, and there was a very small potato scone serving. You can do better eating out. Service, however, was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed most of you stay with us. It is great to received particularly lovely comments regarding the service from the team.

I am disappointed regarding breakfast issues which is this is certainly not Channings standard and I do appreciate you bringing this to our attention. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

A bit of a distance from the centre but just within walking distance on a quiet road. The hotel has friendly helpful staff with nice clean rooms although slightly small but acceptable. Restaurant ok strange menu one expensive and limited the other cheaper and more extensive! Very good breakfast, overall well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyhairedyoungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for the review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

All our rooms are individual in style and size and I would be delighted to upgrade you on your next stay with us. If you can send your details through to reserve@channings.co.uk stating your trip advisor review I will ensure this is honoured.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews