We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convenient”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #38 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and convenient”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

After a prompt reception, the concierge took my heaviest bag up to very nice room (32) facing the park. Very nice historic room with a super bath. Some walk to Princess street, as I wanted. Full Scottish breakfast was filling and good. Was directed to an excellent seafood restaurant in nearby Stockbridge called Cafe Fish. Turndown service was appreciated and the street was very quiet all night. Also, had a meal in the bar which was good. They had the fire going which was cozy. Getting a taxi was easy and quick.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    409
    132
    36
    20
See reviews for
147
710
60
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

There is absolutely no doubt at all that I would certainly choose to stay here again. This is a charming hotel with a very homely feel to it and, as other reviews so rightly point out, the staff are incredibly courteous towards their guests. The service is outstanding and nothing seems to be too much trouble. My wife forgot to pack her phone charger, but a quick enquiry at reception soon solved that problem. We had fantastic accommodation with a wonderful view and we enjoyed a very relaxing two night stay. We were also made to feel very welcome. The hotel is ideally situated in a very quiet and pleasant area of the city about fifteen minutes steady walking distance from Princes Street. It has a very nice restaurant with an excellent choice menu and there is also a very pleasant bar area with ample seating. Prices are also very reasonable and food is served until quite late into the evening. A delicious breakfast can be enjoyed in the conservatory and a vegetarian choice is also included. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking to spend a relaxing few days in Edinburgh in what can only be described as a very stylish and elegant hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micklefielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were excited about staying in a boutique hotel that was not in the center of town but unfortunately we left wanting for more.

Reviews were favorable but, overall, we were quite disappointed. We arrived after midnight and weren't offered assistance with our bags (golf clubs and heavy luggage) until we asked. We wanted to upgrade our room and had to wait until the manager could come to the front desk to see if this was possible as the night desk attendant was unable to do so. Parking is on the street. Luckily we were able to find a space in the front of the hotel but it could have been quite exasperating if there wasn't as it was quite late, we'd been traveling all day and the street was quite full. The hotel is in a very quiet residential neighborhood that is an easy twenty minute walk to the center of town. Make sure you take a map with you because if you take a taxi back to the hotel the taxi drivers did not know where the hotel was located without seeing a map.

The first step on the flight of steps into the main entrance of the hotel was broken and covered with a carpet. I almost fell when I stepped on the step and the tile broke free taking out half the step. I had to lift the carpet and remove the tile so others wouldn't have the same experience. I noticed the next day that the broken tile was just placed back under the carpet and not fixed.

The common areas are very worn and need a good cleaning. The funiture is old and has seen a great deal use. Lighting is quite dim.

We upgraded from a standard room to a junior suite because the standard rooms were quite small. Our room was not very clean. The desk in the sitting room had a very healthy layer of dust on it and when I dropped something on the floor it was obvious that the room hadn't had a good cleaning in quite awhile.

I was pleased when I saw that we had a separate sitting room from the bedroom but it was not one where you could comfortably settle in. Chairs in the sitting room were very worn and not quite comfortable. Lighting was limited to one floor lamp and a lamp on the desk area. This was not quite enough light during the evening. Walls and trim are well overdue for a good painting. The bed was quite hard and did not have a flat sheet underneath the duvet cover. There was just a fitted sheet and duvet cover. Sheets were not changed daily and used towels were not removed during evening turndown service. No robes or slippers. We did ask for additional hangars and they did respond to that request quite quickly. The bathroom was clean and the facilities were quite modern. The sink top, however, was sloped towards the sink bowl and you couldn't put anything on it without having it end up in the sink bowl. The bathtub was of a size that you could have a nice luxurious comfortable soak and there was a bidet in addition to a toilet.

The breakfast room was well worn and also needed a good cleaning. Food was quite good and the hot breakfast portions were generous. Service was responsive but not particularly friendly. Bar staff was very friendly and bar food was quite good. We were unable to eat in the main restaurant because it was closed on Sunday and Monday nights. The menu looked lovely and we were told that the food is quite good and the restaurant is a destination in itself.

We would not stay here again if we were to return to Edinburgh but we would try the restaurant.

Room Tip: The rooms are very small. For an additional BPS you can upgrade to a junior suite. Ours was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocochest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Warm, well appointed lounges, comfortable rooms, good bar and restaurant. Breakfast was also of a good standard. My only gripe: a foreign guest was a little late for breakfast and refused anything cooked. Couldn't they have been a little more flexible? I would have given 5 stars if they had. Otherwise all was excellent.

NB You need to pay for on street parking and move your car after 4 hours 0830 - 1730. Availability of parking doesn't appear to be an issue.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJM0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were very impressed by the friendliness and the service of the hotel. Scott the concierge was extremly helpful and knowledgable about buses and the surrounding area. The rooms we had were spotlessly clean, beds extremley comfortable, beautifully appointed bathroom with toiletries. Breakfasts were great (tried both buffet and cooked). We didn't want to leave! Will book this hotel next year when we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed in a beautifully appointed single room with a comfortable bed and a bath. I was really happy and comfortable and slept like a log. I had a lovely view from my window. The concierge made me feel really welcome and was friendly and informative and was interested in what I had to say. Breakfast was great. It's a good walk into town but can take a bus or a taxi is about 6 pounds. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramses4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were impressed with the standards of service in this lovely boutique hotel, which was formerly the home of explorer Ernest Shackleton. Ok, so we were lucky enough to get an upgrade, but from what I could gather, all the rooms were well appointed. Had dinner in the hotel on the first night and it was first class. Breakfast was also very good with a great relaxed feel to the whole experience. Don't forget to have a wander down to Stockbridge which is only a stone's throw away and is full of wee individual shops and cafes away fro the tourist hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wangdangdelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,936 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,335 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 149 in Edinburgh
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing