We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and helpful staff”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #37 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice and helpful staff”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Nice hotel, close to city center by taxi (not too expensive), very calm, pricing OK. Helpful staff. Decent size, , not too many rooms. Very clean, good restaurant, good breakfast. Wake-up call always 5 minutes later than requested :-), warm water needs 5 minutes before it becomes warm out of tap or shower, time to go to bed and wait until it is warm... room rather "cold" at night but heating OK during day time... I had room N°2 at ground floor and needed to cross conference room to get there. When there is a confernce you need to get upstairs, cross 1st floo corridor and get down again to reception and further down to restaurant and breakfast room. I do recommend this hotel, even if I'm not sure I would return again.

Room Tip: Avoid room N° 2 ground floor as you cannot cross conference room to go to reception / outside if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairway_First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your review and your postive feedback. It is great to received lovely comments about the team.

Channings is does have two rooms that are accessed through our events rooms and we do try and managed this as best as possible. We also have the added challenge of being a Town House Hotel our lift does only go to ground level and not to lower ground where the restaurant and bar are situated. However if there are guests do have mobility issues we are happy to serve breakfast, lunch, dinner in our lounge area next to reception.

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back and please do make contact directly to ensure your stay is not interupted by an event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    405
    129
    36
    20
See reviews for
145
706
58
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I have stayed here many years back when I worked close by, again my wife and I stayed around 5 years back en route to Arran. This time it was my fiftieth birthday weekend and the hotel didn't fail to impress.
Ok, there were some big cob webs in the room and some chips and scratches on some furniture but you can ignore this when balanced with the fantastic service, great restaurent recommendations, excellent bar food (maybe a sharper service would have been good) and even free parking over the weekend right outside.
I can't recommend channings enough and I hope to return sooner than last time.
His hotel makes the big 5* chains look pretty poor in terms of price, service and every other area and staying away over 120 nights a year gives me some experience to match.

Room Tip: Room 40 but most important is ask for 2nd floor at front, he view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your review and your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and it is very important for us to received as much feedback as possible from our guests.

We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service while you were with us however there is disappointment with regards to the housekeeping issue, which is certainly not our usual standard.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and please do let us know when you are returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed for a night with my daughter to celebrate the end of her exams and as she was house hunting.Reception team were excellent. Mario and Scott very pleasant and professional team. Keen to help in any way with maps etc. Our room didnt have much of a view and had slightly dated furnishings , but a very nice bathroom. Everything was clean and lovely fluffy towels.
We ate at the hotel and the food was fine.It would have been nice to have a biscuit with tea in the bar in the afternoon. Breakfast in the conservatory was paticularly good. The dining room was very quiet, but service ok. The hotel is in a lovely location, in a leafy part of Edinburgh. Its about 15 minutes walk into Princes street. Plenty of metered parking outside.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noddie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. It is so rewarding for the team to received such positive feedback regarding their service and it is certainly not taken lightly.

Although there is metered parking outside this does ensure spaces are available more often than not, as well as, being free of charge at weekends!

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Service was good and very friendly but we felt that the room was a bit dated/shabby. Breakfast was just ok - good enough selection but the rolls were very stale and therefore not eaten!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments.

We are contining with our refurbishment programme to upgrade our rooms and I am sure you will like the results so please do let us know if you are returning.

With regards to your breakfast experience this is certainly not Channings standard and your comments have been passed to the food and bevaerage team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Channings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Booked this hotel last minute, but had been looking at it for a while.
Went with my boyfriend for 3 days during the week towards the end of April. Upon arrival, hotel seemed far out of the centre but once acclimatized, it is only a 10-15 minute walk from the centre which is really handy.
The hotel is lovely and the decor was traditional and homely, it had a very welcoming environment. The staff throughout the stay were polite and willing to help with anything you may have wanted. Our bags were even carried from the car to our room.
The room was a standard double and it was clean and very comfortable. Again lovely decor and the bathroom was of a great size. Great view out of the window too! (stayed in room 55)
We booked with otel.com and it came with full scottish breakfast which was very good, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The only downside to the hotel is the parking situation. Parking is free from 5.30-8.30 the next morning, however depending on when you leave for the day, you MUST move the car every 4 hours, you can't pay for the whole day and leave the car without moving it. Plus wardens patrol without fail!!!!!
Parking is free on weekends, but we ended up parking in the castle terrace car park (which is extremely expensive £26 for 24hours, 9 hours being the only other option after 6, 4, and 2 hours all priced high) just because we didn't want to return after 4 hours.
Another downside was the water from the hot tap was hardly warm and the shower was sometimes too cold.
Overall a great stay and woukd definitely book again, but get the train!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrim122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and it is always nice for the team to received such lovely comments.

With regards to the water temperature this will be looked into further however this may of occurred if there was high volume of use at a particular time. Thank you for drawing this to our attention.

The parking situation at Channings can be frustrating and we are delighted that it would not hender for you staying with again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st joseph
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

reasonable rate, friendly staff, and very nice clean room in a charming setting. we would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends. only minor complaint is that our bed mattress felt like it was as old as the hotel and wifi was spotty.

Room Tip: lower floors get better wifi connection.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jakenorsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have been recommended to stay at the Channings Hotel a few times as it is near my office (but I have another local fave). Finally gave in and glad I did... what a lovely little gem. I say that especially because we only paid £75 a night and that included wifi (tho I never managed to get on it). This is half of what I normally pay at the other hotel I stay at in Edinburgh.

The location is a bit out from the main drag, but a £5 taxi or 15 minute walk covers it. The hotel is small and non-descript with a quaint, but very friendly check-in. The lift is tiny as well and you're better served walking up.

There's a restaurant and bar - which we utilised both and were pleased (nothing over the top, but again good for the price).

My room was one of the larger rooms with a pretty bay window overlooking the view. There is White Company shampoo/gel in the showers (ACE!) and the bathroom was clean and tidy. The beds were very comfortable and I had a full-range of television channels to chose from.

The décor is not very modern - dual faucets, antique-type dressing table, floor lamps, etc. But it was very charming and the hotel staff helpful and considerate.

There are no gym facilities onsite but they offered a nearby fitness centre to guests to use for £7 or there's a nearby park with a great run.

I will definitely come back here for my next business trip to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Had the "standard" basic room 52 and it was larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soshbfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,913 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#19 of 148 in Edinburgh
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 148 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing