We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - shame about the bar”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is a good hotel, with the potential to be a great hotel. Excellent friendly staff who seem to go out of their way to help visitors, especially those from abroad, which is a credit to the hotel and the city. Rooms very clean and spacious; 'common areas' on the ground-floor well-appointed and relaxing. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. The bar is a disaster: worn and uncomfortable chairs; sticky tables; only bitter beers on offer are fizzy and flavourless; almost £2 for a small bowl of crisps; and bar-food poor value for money (too salty and too expensive). The poor bar food is particularly surprising as the food in the restaurant is good, well-cooked and presented.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Using Trip Advisor, we chose Channings for our two days in Edinburgh before hiking in the Isle of Skye. Upon arrival from the airport, we found ourselves in a residential area close to the center of the city and were welcomed as if we were family. Scott took our bags up to the third floor where he introduced us to the James Caird room, named after the small boat Ernest Shackleton used for his incredible journey in Antarctica a hundred years ago. Being Shackleton aficionados, we were surprised and delighted to find Channings was composed of five row houses including Shackleton's residence when he was in the Scottish Geographical Society. We had effectively three rooms, a bedroom, a sitting room and a large bathroom, all decorated with magnificent photos by Frank Hurley from Shackleton's Antarctic exploration. After we had settled in, Scott gave us a quick review of the city and what we might wish to do. On our one full day there, the weather was beautiful and we walked to the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh (see our review). Breakfast and dinner were served in the hotel's basement eating area (we used the Bar) where we had delightful experiences (see our review!). The room was clean, quiet and with the openable dormer windows, we were able to keep it cool even with the heat outside. When I needed to print and scan a document, Jamie could do that easily and happily. We were encouraged to peruse Shackleton's library there and borrow a book for the night. When we left, we felt that this was a wonderful welcome to Edinburgh, given the quality and quiet of the room, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and the enjoyable experience in the hotel's delightful Bar eating area.

Room Tip: The named rooms on the third floor seemed to be generously large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeandlindaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I was looking forward to my stay in Edinburgh, but i found Channings a little disappointing. The room was clean and the bathroom adaquate but just lacked that little something.
I found the bed very hard and our double had two single duvets.
Breakfast in the conservatory was good, and the staff were polite and helpful.
There is on street parking, its free between 5:30pm and 8:00am.
I found Channings to be adaquate, but as I have said it lacks that something special

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigTEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Channings for the last three days of our Scotland vacation, and it turned out to be a great choice. The staff was so welcoming there, and it was the perfect place to relax after busy days of sightseeing. Scott K. in particular was very helpful and friendly, and I am so grateful for all his assistance.
We stayed in a Junior Suite and found it to be spacious and comfortable. The bath was large with nice tile, with a shower in the large bathtub. The separate sitting room had a large bay window with a nice view. There were tea supplies in the sitting room that were promptly replenished every time we used them.
Two minor criticisms about the room: The showerhead in the bathtub was finicky and not up to the standard of the rest of the room. Also, it would have been nice to have had an inside lock on the room door. We had a maid enter our room one morning before breakfast when we forgot to leave the "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door.
As for the food, the breakfast was always good, and the evening meals we had there were also quite tasty. Service was sometimes slow, but we've found this to be the case all over Scotland. I suspect there is just a different standard, but it can be a little frustrating if you're trying to meet a schedule.
I liked the quiet location. It was nice to be out of the craziness of Princes Street, especially with the current noisy road construction going on in that area. When we needed to get to the city centre, we either walked (15 minutes with some uphill sections) or hopped the #41 or #36 bus at the nearby stop on Queensferry Road.
Overall a wonderful place to stay, and a great value also. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 40 is a Junior Suite and was spacious and very comfortable. However, it is up two flights of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChattaChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Not our honey moon but it was great to be allocated room 1. It was beautifully appointed with a bath worthy of a 5 star suite. Very quiet although we were up early for the Edinburgh Half Marathon. The staff were so helpful with nothing too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel for individuals and couples. It is a good ten minute walk into the city centre but not a problem.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Duffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Breakfast was included and was good. It's quite a walk to the castle and the Royal Mile. We ended up taking a bus once and a taxi once (when it was raining) to get back and forth. You can only park for free in front of the hotel from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 a.m. Scott at the front desk was super sweet and helpful! Room was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Although not in the main tourist area, so one needs to take taxis to go sightseeing, this hotel was very quiet with personalized service. Rooms were small but had everything we needed, and hotel was clean with a substantial breakfast buffet included in the rate. The hotel has a bar/restaurant, but it seemed the restaurant was an afterthought. Food was good but service was agonizingly slow.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suelhallmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#47 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,388 reviews
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#78 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,312 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing