We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and homely hotel in great location”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #41 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and homely hotel in great location”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

On arrival we were warmly greeted by reception and told we were upgraded to a superior room (not sure why but didn't complain) he was very helpful giving us a map of Edinburgh and booking taxis for us; Channings is approx 10mins/£6 from the centre.

The superior room was lovely - we only had a couple of niggles which we felt stopped the hotel from being a 5*; the double bed was two beds pushed together as we could feel a ridge in the middle and the cold tap in the bathroom didn't get cold.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and we thought good value, it was well organised and included fresh fruit, cereals and cooked.

We would definitely stay here again, the hotel is in a great location - a real homely Scottish boutique.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    418
    135
    37
    20
See reviews for
150
717
60
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This well located moderately sized Hotel within walking distance from Princes Street and the botanical gardens is situated on a typical New Town terrace with wonderful vista of the eastern side of the city dominated by the iconic Fettes School building.The decor in the bedrooms is showing it's age with the odd patches on the wall paper but the public rooms retain a lot of charm with inviting leather sofas, tartan cushions and open fires.Our room was satisfactory with all the amenities one expects, the breakfast was generous and more than adequate.The most endearing aspect of the Hotel is the excellent standards of service from a most helpful friendly staff.It is reasonably priced and good value compared to more pretentious establishments like the Caledonian that are not necessarily providing good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osiris26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We were left with a very good impression of this hotel even though we were only able to stay a few nights. Our room was spacious with a large en-suite bathroom. My only complaint with the room was the lack of hot water coming out of the sink; we never had this issue with the shower however so it wasn't horrible. Room service was quick and the food was delicious, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall we had a very comfortable, if brief, stay at Channings and if we ever find ourselves back in Edinburgh we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katietrav687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had four nights in this characterful hotel and really enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly and helpful, and our room was very comfortable. An added bonus was the bar food menu, which had several choices for vegetarians - amazing! The only downsides were difficulty in getting reliable wireless connection and some tired looking decoration and furnishing in the bar.
We hoped that its position near Stockbridge would mean not too much walking, but there weren't many bars and restaurants nearby, so we did use the hotel bar more than we'd planned.

Room Tip: We listened to previous reviews and declined a room off reception or in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I have just stayed at Channings for 3 nights. We arrived with our friends about 4pm. Both having booked standard double. Our friends were upgraded to Superior but not us. Maybe it was because our friends name was McDonald. I had room 51. It was shabby & extremely small. Just enough room to walk around the bed. The breakfast & staff were good. Would have enjoyed our stay better if in a better room. We were not advised about upgrade for our friends. We found out when they were leaving, we still had another night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baialara186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Lovely setting in the old town and great views from room 55 but this hotel is looking a bit tired and battered in places. Our room was comfortable but nothing special and the hot water took ages to reach the shower head. The breakfast was good though, and most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Hampshire69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at Channings hotel for 4 nights . The hotel was in a quiet residential area comprising of impressive Georgian houses, approx 15 minutes pretty walk from the top end of Princes street. Add on extra 10 minutes if walking from the other end. The staff were friendly and helpful, the cooked to order breakfasts were fantastic, we had meals from the bar menu each evening which were also good, both in choice and value for money. One evening we couldn't help but overhear a disgruntled customer being informed the dinner menu would not be available until after 8.30 pm due to a function being held at the hotel. We (rather smugly) ordered beforehand with no problem, but felt a paying guest staying in the hotel should have been given priority. Our room was clean and comfortable and well decorated. However the bathroom was in need of renovation, and did not reflect the standards of decor found elsewhere in the hotel. The bathroom fittings were dated, there were several broken tiles around the toilet, there was mould in the grouting, there was NO extraction in the bathroom and the mirror wobbled precariously when trying to wipe condensation away. This aside I would recommend a stay in this charming hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,262 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,360 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 149 in Edinburgh
845 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#50 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing