We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only this guy wasn't working here...”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

What a lovely stay, from checking in to checking out, I've enjoyed this warm and lovely Scottish sense of hospitality.
Some negative points.

2 single duvets( quite annoying)
You can sometimes hear your neighbour's TV

Least but not last... This grey hair mean manager or acting such at breakfast.... No a please, no a thank you very rude and snobby. I also work in a customer service based environment and I would not in million years give such a service. Rudeness and being bother to serve you should make you think twice about the job you wan to do

However on a other note, all girls at breakfast were kind and happy to help.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

The room that we had was 68 and it was just fab, food very good the whole experience was good.
The conservatory where we had breakfast was a bit chilly could have done with some. Heating. Reception was lovely with log fires,

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOUISE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Had a really lovely long weekend at Channings. Perfect stay. The restaurant was superb and the bar meal we had on the last night was excellent also. Staff all helpful and friendly.
The location is very good - took us just over 10 minutes to walk to the end of Princes Street. Yes the location of the hotal is nice and quiet. It's also a short walk north to the Botanical Gardens.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve67GTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I booked Channings for a weekend away with my wife for our anniversary.

I had organised a nice meal out followed by tickets to see Phantom of the Opera at the playhouse and was looking for somewhere to stay to round off the night.

I came across Channings via a friend who had recommended it, and after having a look over the website was very intrigued and booked.

We stayed in one of the Junior suites on the top floor and everything was just perfect. As soon as we got there we were warmly welcomed by the staff who after checking us in then showed us to the room.

The hotel on arrival from the outside looks quite small when inside was very impressed with its size, it is I believe set across 4 or 5 townhouses in the old west end of town. The reception is welcoming and spacious so you have a kind of sense of home from home, which is nice so many hotels just feel like you are just another guest but at Channings it felt like you were going to stay with friends by the nice lounge as you walk in and a quaint reception area.

The room itself as mentioned was on the top floor and was very nice (I believe we were in the Discovery Suite). The room was very spacious and very well decorated, also a lovely temperature as we went in, too many other hotels that I have stayed in seem very cold when you walked in but this was perfect. The bathroom was a full length wet room with a gorgeous self standing bath at one end and a shower area at the other. Both of which we tried out and both of which were lovely.

After going out to the show and on coming back we were again welcomed by the night staff, saw ourselves to bed and retired for the evening. Wanting a lazy Sunday morning we decided to opt for Breakfast in bed. We were not disappointed, it was out of this world!! Having stayed in many hotels I was not expecting much just a standard breakfast but I was very pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was just amazing, ( we had not had our dinner at Channings the previous night but on reflection of breakfast will certainly be dining there the next time we stay) We both had the full scottish and I opted for Smoked Salmon with Scrambled Eggs it was out of this world, as was the Black Pudding which I would HIGHLY recommend.

Overall nothing I can fault about the hotel felt very comfortable here, a real home from home and a staff to be very proud of. 11/10 for sure and will be looking forward to staying again in the hopefully not too distant future!!

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are gorgeous if available!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithMorrellPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for your extensive review which was much appreciated. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay with us and the team looked after so well. I can assure you they are all delighted with the 11/10 score!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

A little out of the way for most but ideal for my short stay. 10 minute walk from the West End of Edinburgh or trendy Stockbridge, but in a very quiet part of the city. Room was fairly small but with lovely views over the gardens and towards the Forth and Fettes College, which made for a very good nights sleep. Public areas were filled with lots of leather sofas and wood panelled walls, giving a very cosy feel.

Breakfast was downstairs in a conservatory extension out the back. The full scottish breakfast was excellent, the staff friendly,and regular top-ups of coffee were offered. Reception staff were also friendly and helpful with a free morning newspaper offered. It was a pleasant stay and would happily return.

Room Tip: North facing with lovely views over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearair52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and also had the time to enjoy the surrounding area; Stockbridge is definitely a pleasant place to visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Hotel is nice although don't expect all the rooms to be like the photos on here with lovely freestanding baths. Our room was 42 at the top of the stairs and was pretty small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Its pretty easy to get a bus to New/Old town. Taxi back late at night cost us £6.40 so reasonable. Parking is about a ten minute walk away in residential street but seemed pretty safe. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonmackam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

We appreciate your review and enjoyed your time with us.

All Channings bedrooms are individually designed and do vary in size. Room 42 is one of our small double rooms.

We do hope to welcome you back and we would be happy to honour a complimentary upgrade on your next stay if available at the time of booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We found the Channings on line and had no real expectations as it was quite a bit cheaper than hotels in central Edinburgh. What a suprise. The on street parking was free all weekend and when we arrived early on Saturday morning they took our baggage and kept it until we returned in the evening when it was ready and waiting for us in our upgraded room. We had a beautiful view across Edinburgh. The room was comfortable and spacious and they even came to turn down our bed and draw our curtains in the evening.The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect. The bar and Bistro was perfect in the evening with a cosy fire, locals adding to the atmosphere and a very reaosnable and tasty menu which meant we didn't even walk back into Edinburgh. We would definitely stay at Channings again and we have already recommended it to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire_Stanaway, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always good know that our bar surroundings and menu were a 'hit' especially with all the competition in town!

It is so rewarding for the team to read such positive comments which I can assure you is also much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,379 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,292 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
890 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £74 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing