We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend away.”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #37 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away.”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I went to Edinburgh for a romantic weekend away with my other half and we stayed here, it was a great weekend. The hotel was beautiful, i loved the classic feel it had. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and king size, the bathroom was very spacious. The staff were friendly, especially the conceige who checked us in, he even pointed us in the right direction for dinner. I would go here again and again!
LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    406
    130
    36
    20
See reviews for
145
707
58
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
french/aussie in Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Second time around at Channings, this time in winter. Lit fireplace, warm clublike feel, and the same superlative service. We were upgraded to a grand room and enjoyed walking to the museums (only 10 minutes to Princes Street). The hotel area is genteel and has great view over Fettes College (very Harry Potterish). The basement offers conveniently, brasserie or fine dinning. We had a good and efficiently-served breakfast. Having tried a variety of hotels in Edinburgh, we feel Channings is conveniently located tucked away from the overly touristy areas and offers a great welwom

Room Tip: Room 1 has a 4 poster bed and is in the part of the hotel which used to be Ernest Shackleton's r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Came here again to celebrate my best friends 60TH it was my 2nd visit as previously came here 4yrs ago to celebrate a best friends 50th had a lovely room! Beds comfty and had a rolltop bath the bathroom had a shower too!! It was a big bathroom
The staff were so friendly and helpful espeically the conceige Scott who gave us a history lesson
on the hotel which was very interesting
It is a good 10mins walk to Princes st but u can get a 39 bus or a taxi for 4 people was 6pds
Had a lovely meal in the dome a must place especially at Xmas
Well if you go to Ediburgh stay here very reasonable priced!

Room Tip: each room is different in the hotel each time i stay once in the front on the first floor in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debpod55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We couldn't find this place at all. It was tucked away up one of the smaller streets. Our room was at the top, it was small but quaint and they had the doorman help us up with our bags.

The bathroom was beautiful, tiled floor and heated at this! Perfect for Cold & rainy Edinburgh. The bathroom was a lovely claw tub. I would give all 4 stars simply for the bathroom.

Beautiful view of the city to! my main negative was the window had gathered moisture inside the panes making it hard to see out at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We were pleased to be upgraded to The Endurance suite on check in which gave us plenty of space. The room was great, although the view to the back of the hotel is not great - a row of garages and other Edinburgh flats. We had a lounge area, desk, walk-in dressing area and a very spacious large bathroom with both a high quality shower stall and also a modern bathtub. The only gripe was the under floor heating in the bathroom which was very warm, bordering on hot at times which we never managed to turn down .... and nor did the hotel, even though we mentioned it twice. The room lives up to the 'boutique' label but some of the public areas, particularly the two lounges (which seemed surprisingly empty) look as if they need some attention - look a bit tired. The staff were very pleasant, wifi worked, breakfast was fine. The hotel is a good 15/20min walk into the town, but we already knew this as we stayed here some years ago.

Room Tip: Try and get a room to the front of the hotel which have better views of Edinburgh
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djm53london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This is the second stay here, and each time it's been perfect. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed, although I preferred the view out the front the first time rather than the back of the hotel. The stay on reception and at breakfast are helpful and friendly, and this time I eat in the restuarant. The food was better than the usual hotel standard by a long way and very reasonably priced. My only complaint was that the shower in the bathroom was a bit feeble.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Normally we like to stay close to all the attractions, but chose this one because of the great reviews. It met all our expectations. This hotel was away from the downtown area about a 10 to 15 minute walk. It was in a quiet neighborhood and the walk downtown was refreshing. The hotel was quaint with many common area rooms decorated with antique furniture for relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a breakfast included which made it great for starting your day. They also have free access to a computer for the guests. If you don't want to venture out at night for dinner, there is a restaurant and bar in the hotel which was quite good. I would definitely stay at the Channings again if I'm back in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street (front of hotel) have a nice view of Edinburgh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice1234058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,318 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#19 of 148 in Edinburgh
792 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing