We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diffinetly a must stay”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #42 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2008

My husband and I booked our short (3 day) stay at this lovely hotel. Being American the room size was a little on the small size (Room 25) but we weren't in it much.

The room was wonderfully decorated and was very clean. I really enjoyed to size of the tub.

I was worried when I read some of the previous reviews, but found none of the troubles that others might have experience. Scotty was one of the most helpful staff. He came to our calls when ever we needed the help.

We enjoy the pub downstairs and had very friendly service. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was typical European breakfast.

I loved being away from the noise of the city, but at the same time we weren't too far away that we couldn't catch a quick cab. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families. But for everyone else, YES. This is a place to love.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank debbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2008

My wife and I stayed at Channings for a long weekend in March. We had a deluxe room on the first floor at the front. The best part of the room was sitting in the bay window looking out over the rooftops towards Fife. The staff are as friendly and helpful as all of the other reviews say.

The only real downside is the restaurant is only really OK. Breakfast was fine but nothing special and we had dinner in the restaurant on the first night. We'd also booked for our third night but changed our mind. The meal was fine but really nothing special. Considering the price it was a bit disappointing. We ate at Howies on he second night which was better food and quite a bit cheaper.

The public rooms are also just OK. The "lounge" is also the reception so not as cosy as it might be. They didn't really seem to be used much by the residents.

The location is great; on the edge of the New Town just 10 mins from the West end of Princes Street/ Charlotte Sq etc.

So, in summary, I would definitely recommend staying there but there are better places to eat during your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RohanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We found Channings to be really relaxing, Our room (52) had a lovely skyline view to the front of the hotel and it was really comfortable and nicely decorated although the bathroom was a bit dated. We had room service which was excellent value and we enjoyed using the jukebox on the tv whilst getting ready for our night out. The hotel isn't central but a nice walk in nonetheless and there's always th e option of a short taxi ride home if you can't be bothered walking. The cooked breakfast in the morning was really nice and a generous portion. Finally the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank GlasgowMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2008

I can't believe that we stayed in the same Channings Hotel which has had so many fantastic reviews.

Based solely on the trip advisor reviews we stayed there last night. Room 34 - supposedly a superior double. Scruffy, terribly dated - like sleeping in grannys front room!- they turned down the beds but didn't clear away the dirty glasses, threw the soap wrappers which we had left by the basin into the loo but didn't flush it. The showers thermostat didn't work and I was scalded.

The hotel was half empty but when we booked (2 days before we went) we were made to feel as if we were terribly lucky that we could be squeezed in. I felt that the room was our punishment for being given a reduced rate.

On a positive the staff were very friendly. How sad that that is the only positive I can give this "Boutique" hotel. Oh yes it is quiet and the bed was comfortable but they had hollow fibre pillows - 4 Star I don't think so.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lillie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

Channings appears in many hotel reviews and almost always receives a high grading. Based on a recent 3 night stay I can understand why this should be so. The staff , the lounges and the bedrooms are all excellent. The place 'gleams' & decor is top-class. A very , very restful place to be although perhaps a little bit too far out of the City centre for regular walking - say 15/20 minutes stroll to the near end of Princess St. Breakfasts were superb but dinner - although very tasty and well presented- was poor value,with a substantial excess being levied on one particular starter.... It included 3 very small Queen Scallops- the excess would have been excessive even for King Scallops !! We tried room-service one evening and it was excellent - and good value too.
All in all - a great place to stay but not necessarily one to dine in - not to worry , Edinburgh has many good eating-places.
Highest marks to the young staff .... without exception they were courteous,efficient and , above all , friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank travellerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Have just returned from spending a weekend at Channings hotel in Edinburgh. My overall experience at the hotel was perfect and i would definately recommend it to those wanting a bit of luxury while staying in Edinburgh.
It is in the lovely area of Stocksbridge, which is quiet and residential, a 10minute walk from the centre, or just a hop on a bus. It was ideal as i don't like staying too central in cities where it can be noisy or unsafe when you return late at night.
The hotel offers a very personal service, the concierge and reception staff were professional and pleasant, going out of their way to make us feel comfortable. One kind member of staff even brought a complementary pot of mint tea to my room when i returned on an evening feeling unwell, making me feel much better! It made the difference between staying in an ordinary hotel and one where you feel really pampered.
The decor is what you would expect in an expensive Scottish hotel- traditional and tasteful, without being shabby or run down like other reviewers have mentioned. Unfortunately we didn't have time to experience the restaurant or explore downstairs too much, but what i saw was absolutely gorgeous.
The bedroom too was impressive- large, spacious and decorated with style which made it very homely. The bathroom was clean and modern with an enormous mirror and molton brown toiletries.
I often find it hard to relax when staying in hotels, but at Channings i felt very at home and looked after. It's personal service would tempt me to return for a special occasion- this time to spend more time in the hotel to fully enjoy it!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sunnygirl_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

We stayed here for a long weekend. Those complaining about the location must be very lazy!! It is 10 minutes brisk walk from the top of Princes Street and we were happy to walk there and back twice a day if necessary. Exercise is good for you - and it means the hotel is very quiet.

The reception, bar and dining room are very attractive. Our room was fine but had a musty smell on entering - but then you didn't notice
it!! Very clean and perfectly adequate. The staff are extremely helpful although the service at breakfast could do with sharpening up.

I think this hotel is competively priced and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pandora957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#48 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
671 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#22 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,172 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £62 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing