We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with character”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #37 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with character”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We arrived for the weekend On the Friday evening the gentleman on reception was great and so helpful. The room was large double room king size bed. Two chairs and a table at the window. Lots of room and space to put things away. We went to the bar. The restaurant looked lovely and a nice menu. Not over priced. The staff in bar were very friendly. Breakfast was in the conservatory and it was a fantastic breakfast. Lots of choice

Very happy with hotel and on,y ten minute walk into the town. We were there to watch rugby and celebrate my husband to be birthday. It all went very well and would recommend

Room Tip: All seemed very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandajolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    406
    130
    36
    20
See reviews for
145
707
58
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RTW Trip
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Just outside the city (£7 taxi from the train station) in a pretty location. Very pretty lounge area and lovely knowledgeable staff. Comfy rooms and great breakfast. The rooms are a little dated but nothing worth complaining about. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me&Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Channings is a lovely place to stay if you are ever in Edinburgh. This was our first trip to the Scottish capital and were worried that we wouldn't be able to find a place within our budget. However we found the website for Channings, after a recommendation from a friend and took advantage of their online booking discount.
The hotel is a bit of a trek from the station - about 1.5 miles, but the walk is fairly straightforward and takes you over the magnificent Dean bridge, designed by Telford along the Queensferry road. There are plenty of buses into Edinburgh along the Queensferry road, and in the other direction is the spectacular Forth railway bridge at South Queensferry, about half an hour or so by bus.
Although set in a rather mundane row of Georgian terraced houses, Channings is much bigger than it appears from the outside as it spans a number of the properties. On entering, the reception area is smart, wood panelled, clean, and inviting, with a coal-effect gas fire flickering in a large and comfortably decorated lounge area. The staff at the reception desk are friendly and helpful.
Even though the room we booked was a standard double it was very large and nicely furnished. The bathroom was smallish, but clean and had a bath with shower which had a good, constant supply of hot water. The bed was comfortable and had a surfeit of pillars. A large modern flat screen TV provided all the usual channels.
At the time we visited, the hotel restaurant was offering a Valentine's special which we booked. The restaurant which is downstairs in the basement, just around from the bar is cosy and has a nice atmosphere. The food was freshly prepared and nicely presented, the sort of thing you would expect from the higher end eateries, and unusually was accompanied by amuse bouch and entremets which was a nice extra. There was also a fairly good selection of reasonably priced wine to accompany the meal.
Breakfast at Channings is quite comprehensive with the usual choice of continental or English, sorry, Scottish cooked breakfasts and a good selection of cereals and fruit. The service is table service not buffet like in some establishments. The breakfast room itself is impressive, being in the basement of the building but with large French windows looking out onto a patio and garden.
Everyone of the staff we met were friendly and helpful and reception was happy to send us up jugs of fresh milk for our tea.
All in all Channings is a great find and made our visit to Edinburgh even more special. As we didn't see everything we wanted to see in this wonderful city we will definitely be returning and definfitely using this smashing hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richAtemmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed in a superior room at the front of the hotel and agree with other reviewers that it is worth paying extra or ensuring you get a front facing room for the best views. Having read other reviews we were expecting great things and we were not disappointed. Very comfortable accommodation, superb staff and in the main excellent food. The hotel is some way from the centre of the city but only about a 15 minutes walk. Would we stay again? Absolutely. So why not 5 stars? In our case we had a battle with the toilet in our room ( no. 24) which was not resolved during our stay. Commendably the hotel has signed up to a green initiative limiting their use of water. However this means that the flush in the toilet uses so little water it simply doesn't work. Don't know if other rooms are the same, beware! Also our room had no central light so was pretty dark in the evenings. Restaurant meal was great ( but note that the restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday) but bar food and breakfast was variable. Some dishes were superb others very average. Despite these niggles we would stay at Channings again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north at the front of the hotel have the best views and you should insist on one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We recently spent the weekend at the Channings, Edinburgh. Although I had visited Edinburgh many times, I had never been to that area, or heard of the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised by both. The hotel is excellently run, the staff are friendly, the bedroom (Nimrod) spacious and the bathroom huge. A small criticism would be that the floor of the bathroom was too warm.
The bar was nice, reasonably priced (for Edinburgh) and populated by locals - which is always a good sign.
The buffet/cooked Scottish breakfast was excellent, and just the thing you need before exploring Edinburgh. Incidentally, the black pudding was THE best I've ever had!!
Just a word of warning!! If you take afternoon tea, don't book a table for dinner until much later as it it is excellently varied and filling.
The hotel is situated in a quiet and residential area and is only a ten minute walk from the the main Edinburgh tourist attractions. Unfortunately, there are few local pubs or eateries that are within less than five minutes walk. So unless the weather is fine, or you are particularly inclined to venture elsewhere, the hotel is your local refuge.
However, that should not detract from the hotel and what it provides. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: If possible, get a room facing over the gardens at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights with friends at the end of a golfing/sightseeing vacation. It is in a very nice, quiet part of Edinburgh but because of this, it was not within walking distance to anyplace we wanted to go. The rooms were stylish and very clean. The staff was helpful but not particularly friendly. In the middle of our second night the fire alarm went off twice. Both times we had to evacuate into the street in our pajamas, grabbing our passports and other important belongings. While it wasn't the fault of the hotel staff, it would have been nice to have received an apology the next morning. The little bar downstairs was very Edinburgh-like. It was one of our favorite parts of our stay. We would stay here again if the location was close to the tourist areas. We will be back in Edinburgh with our kids this summer and have chosen to stay closer to the old part of the city. If you don't care about being a little removed from the Royal Mile area, then I would definitely recommend this hotel with hopes of no fire alarm issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Went here as part of Christmas present,it was definitely Downton Abbeyesque - classy, clean and very comfortable. Staff were very nice. Dinner and breakfast were very good, a bit more choice for vegetarians might be an idea. Loved the homely lounge areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgelopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,319 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 148 in Edinburgh
795 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing