We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accommodating and welcoming”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #39 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“accommodating and welcoming”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

my son had just finished his exams so as a treat we took a last minute trip to Edinburgh as he'd never been. We arrived very early, well before check-in, however the staff were very happy to store our bags as we went into the city, yes it's a 15-20 min walk but it's a beautiful walk to take! Our room size was adequate, but then we weren't in it too long and the bathroom was wonderful with a roll top bath and separate shower. We had breakfast in our room and what I had (my son stole most) was lovely with the best scrambled eggs ever. Again on check out the staff were happy for us to leave our bags as we made the most of our last hours in the city with advice from the young guy on reception as to where to visit. I very much enjoyed my stay & would recommend Channings Hotel and hope to return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceecee332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
A super review - many, many thanks!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager - The Edinburgh Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    408
    132
    36
    20
See reviews for
147
709
60
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Perfectly located for walking to shops, the botanical gardens and museums!
The room was quaint and the view was delightful! The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The big hooray goes to the night doorman who was up and very gracious when all of 8 of us arrived at 3am after a 9 hour car trip from Heathrow!
If you are flying BA and plan on bringing your clubs with you. Don't! 4 sets of clubs didn't catch up with the group until day 6 into the trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inlovewithTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
What a nice review - much appreciated!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager - The Edinburgh Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

booked a room for one night at the last minute for an overnight saturday visit to edinburgh. the hotel was busy so we booked one of their small doubles. I knew we would not be spending much time in the room so I wasn't too bothered about the size. Room was small but perfectly adequate for our needs. What was a pleasant surprise was that there was a bath in the bathroom. I had assumed a small double room would just have a small shower in the bathroom but the bath was a bonus. Our room overlooked gardens at the back and was extremely quiet. It was a warm evening and we left the windows open which was nice to get fresh air and silence at the same time. Free, and easily obtainable, parking on the front street.

Our room rate included breakfast. The buffet selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, fruit juice and cereal looked plentiful. We both chose a cooked breakfast. My husband enjoyed his but I was a little disappointed. The bacon, sausage and black pudding was furnace hot - I almost felt as if the taste had been singed out of everything. However, a very minor point and probably just a one off blip.

On this occasion, this hotel fitted our needs perfectly and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We've just come back from a 2 night stay at the Channings. Lovely setting: very peaceful. It's a bit of a walk into the city centre however we did so several times, resorting to the bus on the last day!

Our room didn't look anything like the ones in the photos on here which was a bit disappointing. Beautifully spacious, but a little jaded. Lovely view of the gardens. The room was unbelievably hot! Turned the radiator off altogether and had all the windows open but it remained uncomfortably warm. Fabulous big bed, very comfortable sheets, pillows and duvet and nice fluffy towels in the bathroom. Bathroom needed a little bit of TLC. Pop up plug had broken and been fitted with a plug and chain I assume as a temporary fix and the shower was rather tempermental, swinging from hot to cold.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. Answered lots of questions for us and generally keen to make our stay a pleasant one.

Public areas are very smart. Conservatory, bar and reception all very nice.

Breakfast was ok. Not the best we've had, but not the worst either. Breakfast was included in our room rate, however my husband commented that he was glad we hadn't paid extra as he didn't feel it justified the charge that was advertised. The best bit was the black pudding and potato cakes. TBH we've had better quality bacon and sausages from our local Co-op.

All in all a nice stay.

Room Tip: Probably best to speak with the hotel and advise them what you'd like so they can advise to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Channings for several nights in late May, and we absolutely loved it! We wanted to stay in a smaller-scale boutique hotel, and we were quite pleased with the Channings Hotel. We enjoyed being in a real neighborhood away from the tourists and were pleased with the peace and quiet. The staff was very attentive - from the housekeepers to the concierges to waitresses and the barman downstairs. The breakfast was perfect, and they even allowed us to downscale the enormous Scottish breakfast a bit. We had a nice first-night dinner at the hotel bar and drinks on the terrace behind the hotel. The room was very comfortable and the renovated bathroom was heavenly. We stayed in a junior suite on the top floor, which gave us charming views of the city roof-tops from one side and views of the little neighborhood gardens on the other. We travel a lot for business and we have stayed in every kind of big chain hotel, so this was a very nice alternative and a lot more personal. Also, it was just about a 15 minute walk to tourist things and even fewer minutes to a fun little neighborhood that had nice shops and restaurants. I would wholeheartedly recommend the Channings Hotel, and would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for the Discovery Room, or a junior suite on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truitt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
A wonderful review!
Many thanks to this guest for taking the time to share their experiences in a most comprehensive manner and i am delighted to read how memorable this stay was- I look forward to welcoming this guest again in the near future.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager - The Edinburgh Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here for one night as I was going to a party in Stockbridge. It was a perfectly nice hotel, but nothing to write home about. Comfy bed, clean bathroom. Breakfast was OK. I had room service dinner which was tasty. Took a while to check out. I suppose the old fashioned aspect is part of it's charm.
Good wifi coverage in my room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire_10_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We chose this hotel because we were looking for a boutique hotel with some local flavor. Our group was 4 couples travelling together for golf and sightseeing. Channings had the Shackleton thing going and the rooms looked great on line. I have to say, we were a bit disappointed when we got there and saw that some of the common areas and rooms were a bit "tired". It is an old building and you could hear people walking, talking, etc. and the showers were a bit quirky. BUT, after spending some time there, we LOVED it!! The staff were friendly and super helpful, especially Scott. They helped with dinner reservations, cabs and tee times. Everything we needed was provided. When we had to leave early for golf or travel, they had coffee waiting in the lobby because breakfast wasn't being served yet. All in all, we felt very much at home and well taken care of. Would definitely go back and would just ask for an updated room! If you prefer cookie cutter, don't stay here! If you like the experience of something different and a little old fashioned, it's perfect.

Room Tip: ask for Shackleton rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeGeorgeGriswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,933 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 149 in Edinburgh
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing