We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Channings Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$328
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$169
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,332)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveller rating
700
432
139
40
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
432
139
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrea quiet residential arearoll top bathlovely hotelminute walkprinces streetsuperior roomhuge bathroomstreet parkingfull scottish breakfastwest endtop floorbreakfast was deliciousfirst morningbreakfast roomlovely roomhaggis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,096 - 1,101 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2008

What a bargain...location, a ten minute [brisk] walk or a leisurely thirty minute walk through tree shaded streets, past midevil stone structures and parks, and, finally, boutique and shoppes on Princes Street in the heart of Edinburgh. Also, the hotel is located an easy (16 Pound) cab ride from the EDI airport.

The Channings has only 41 units; so the staff quickly picks up on what its guests prefer. They know you by name and anticipate your every need. There is no Concierge...in fact they all are Concierges; ask anyone, even the chambermaid, where somethng is, when something starts, how to get there...etc. and they will know the answer. The service is super and 24/7; we had a special request at 2 AM one day and the Night Porter came through like a champion.

The room (suite) we had this past trip was HUGE, with vaulted ceilings having hand carved crown moldings. The en suite bathroom had a great old fashion tub with rainshower head for good long, hot showers after a day of trapsing about Edinburgh. [Although one can walk to/from downtown, the 36 Line bus will drop you off within a block of the Channings if walking is not your thing. And a 6 Pound cab ride will get you from the hotel to the Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile where one can shop to you drop.]

The grub in the pub at Channings is hot, tasty, ample, and hearty. Like the rest of the hotel, they are amenible to filling special requests...if it's not on the menu, ask for it anyway...chances are they'll get it for you. Fish and chips, and lamb dishes are superb in the pub. And you must try the local McKewen draft beer...a dark beer with a nutty aftertaste. Unlike most dark beers, there is no bitterness in the McKewen brew.

I would not recommend the Channings for wheelchair bound guests. The hotel is about 200 years old and its hallways are both convoluted and narrow. And the one elevator is quite small; so navigating the hotel in a wheelchair would be problematic. Further, the rooms are without individual refrigerators; so if you are taking meds (like insulin) requiring refrigeration, the Channings would not be suitable.

If you've done your homework, you know the exchange rate is about $2 per Pound; so everything in Edinburgh costs about twice as much as a comparable item in the States would cost. At a bit over $200 per night stay at the Channings, including hearty Scotish breakfast, the rate is way below other highly rated hotels in Edinburgh. For the location, service, comfort, and food the Channings has to offer, this boutique hotel is a true bargain.

The Channings is highly recommended; we will certainly be staying there again when we go back to Edinburgh, Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank eyeonthescreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

It's a while since I stayed (2months ago during Easter) but I'm compelled to provide a review on this hotel to help others.

1. Bargain I had
I'm a seasoned traveller, but this hotel was something to really remember. It's not Ritz Carlton, but for what you pay, it's a definite 5*. The hotel's website offers various deals, I had this "Sunday Special" which included DINNER AND BREAKFAST for 99GBP on a Easter weekend. This is UK, where everything is expensive. 99GBP will probably get you a decent dinner in London, but here at Channings, I had a superb dinner AND a 5* room for this price. You can't beat that.

2. Location
It's not in the center of town. In fact, you would probably want to take a cab to center of town (8GBP I paid from Waverly Bridge, the main center). Yes you could walk in 15min. So if you are the type who fancy going in and out of the hotel room, this is not for you. But if you were like me, who spent the day in highland tour, and just coming back to the hotel in the evening, it's great. (Just catch a cab and you are there). It's located in a residential suburb. In fact, this hotel looks just like other Victorian style homes nearby.

3. Room
Picture says it all. But what i want to say, is that room has character. It is gorgeous - it's classy and boutique style room. No it's not Westin, so don't expect a boring typical 5* room, but it's got character, as you can see from the picture. It had a huge huge bathroom (bigger than my own bedroom in london) with a nice bathtub. I felt like an aristocrat staying here.

4. Food
The main dining, is absolute must. You may think restuarant at hotel is just an amenity, but this resturant, is something you definitely want to try even if you are not staying at the hotel. The french-british fusion cruisne was one of the best i had. My DINNER deal included 3-course menu for me and my wife. And I swear, for the quality of dinner and portion, I could have easily paid 80GBP if I had it at a restaurant. The bottomline is, food is excellent. Desert was excellend. it's better than some local restaurants I went.

Unfortunately, the dinner was so great that I had high expectation for breakfast. My hopes were shattered when I went for breakfast. Service was slow (possiblly because it's Easter Monday and short of staff), food buffet (continental selection) was poor and seldom replenished, and the dude next to us ordered some egg with smoked salmon, and he complained the egg was ice-cold and didn't eat a single bite!!!

5. Other Amenity
i didn't try the amenity of the hotel, but it has a very nice lounge area to relax.

6. Bottomline
If you want a quiet hide-out, this hotel is your top choice. Do yourself a favor, and eat at hotel restaurant. If you want to tour the city and back to room frequently, try elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TedinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

If you're looking for a hotel with warmth, class and great service, Channings Hotel is the place to book!

Staff: We stayed there for 5 nights, and the staff could not have been friendlier. Jennifer at reception is the type of individual all hotels should have! She has lots of recommendations for things to do and see in Edinburgh, and is very professionl and friendly. The bell boy (his name slips my mind - young Scot with dirty blondish hair) was just as friendly, helpful and informative.

I have to say there was another lady at reception (again, name slips my mind - but tall with brown hair) who wasn't as helpful or friendly, but I guess not everyone can be!

Cleanliness: First thing I look for in hotels is cleanliness, and this was not a problem at Channings.

Food: Continental/full Scottish breakfast is great. Fresh pastries, croissants, cheeses, fruit, meats, and juices! Great way to start the day. There is a French man that works in the dining area - really nice guy!

Location: Channings is about a 15-20 minute walk into the city centre (Princes Street, Edinburgh Castle, etc.). It's a nice walk, but we did hail a taxi a couple of times.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bitten_byTravelBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

This small hotel is nicely settled in a quiet neighborhood outside of all of the hub-bub, yet, within comfortable walking distance to Edinburgh center. The staff is supburb with their graciousness and hospitality. We enjoyed the restuarant downstairs and found the food world class gourmet. We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vermontquietman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

This is a quiet, historic hotel in a peaceful neighborhood in Edinburgh. The sights are just a 10-15 minute walk though and the stroll will take you through some formidable and imposing Victorian architecture, all meant to impress. The hotel itself is staid and hushed but the staff members are all warm, friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and accommodating: the bed was piled high with bed linens and the view out the window was of the lovely, luminous Edinburgh sunrise and of Fettes, where Tony Blair was schooled. Breakfast is downstairs and is included in their B&B rate. It features a buffet as well as Scottish traditions such as the Scotsman's day's cornerstone: porridge. But not the US type of porridge, rather the Scottish kind, namely, fantastic. Everything about Channing's is dedicated to providing you with a home away from home. It will be your home in Edinburgh. Those who want noise, lights, action? This isn't for you. Free coupons for breakfast? Probably not your kind of hotel. Busloads of tourists? Maybe over at the Sheraton. This is for those who want the quintessential UK experience and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PigsFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews